Model A and Wifi - Raspbian won't install.


5 posts
by EdwinJ85 » Sun Feb 10, 2013 6:58 pm
Hi guys,

I've swapped out my model B for a model A on my home media server so I can use the B for other things. I thought the USB wifi stick would work fine as it never caused problems in my model B, but when I try to boot it for the first install it seems to connect to the wifi fine, gets to about 11 per cent and then spams these errors:

Image

Any ideas? My first guess is that there isn't enough power and I don't really know how to boost it without a powered USB hub which I was trying to avoid. The wifi dongle is a Ralink RT5370 from here:

http://www.7dayshop.com/7dayshop-mini-w ... ElMkMxMA==

Thanks for the help guys, sorry about this!
Getting doom to run is my "Hello World".
Posts: 208
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 4:44 pm
by drgeoff » Sun Feb 10, 2013 7:14 pm
The model A ought to be more tolerant to weedy power supplies as it doesn't have the USB/LAN chip. The A is said to take only about one third of the current of a B.
Posts: 2045
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 6:39 pm
by EdwinJ85 » Sun Feb 10, 2013 8:00 pm
I've got it on the same PSU, a HTC mobile phone charger at 1 amp - the model B should take more power and it powered that fine! I'm a bit worried as to why it doesn't work now.
Getting doom to run is my "Hello World".
Posts: 208
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 4:44 pm
by EdwinJ85 » Mon Feb 11, 2013 9:39 am
Does anybody have any ideas here at all? I'll try reformatting the card tonight but I have a feeling that it won't help. :(
Getting doom to run is my "Hello World".
Posts: 208
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 4:44 pm
by EdwinJ85 » Sat Feb 16, 2013 5:13 pm
UPDATE - A powered usb hub appears to the be the only way to resolve this issue - I put one in this evening and it appears to work. I didn't know that the Model B puts more power through the USB than the model A, but this appears to be the case. I hope this helps somebody else out in future.
Getting doom to run is my "Hello World".
Posts: 208
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 4:44 pm