My raspberry hangs too often to be usable


22 posts
by effemmeffe » Tue Jan 22, 2013 10:32 am
I'm using the Xbian distro on my Raspberry.
XBMC plays 1080p movies without any problem, but often the Raspberry hangs at the end of the movie.
I control XBMC via Yatse on my Android phone using wifi connection.
When it freeze I try to connect via ssh and nothing happen. The only way to recover is to abruptly remove power. Yesterday night I tryied to let it rest for all the night and this morning it was still freezed.

I measured the voltage on TP1 and TP2 and it's oscillating between 4.80 and 4.90 volts.
The movies are on an external powered HD, the fixed network is disconnected and the wifi is provided by a zd1211rw compatible dongle.

What can I check to solve the problem?
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 1:25 pm
by jamesh » Tue Jan 22, 2013 10:43 am
Have you tried with a fixed network? Or with the WiFi disconnected?
Soon to be unemployed software engineer currently specialising in camera drivers and frameworks, but can put mind to most embedded tasks. Got a job in N.Cambridge or surroundings? I'm interested!
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 11660
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 7:41 pm
by effemmeffe » Tue Jan 22, 2013 10:52 am
I don't have fixed network near my TV screen and if I disconnect the wifi how do I control XBMC?
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 1:25 pm
by MAA1612 » Tue Jan 22, 2013 12:00 pm
effemmeffe wrote:if I disconnect the wifi how do I control XBMC?


If your TV supports CEC, you should be able to control XBMC via your TV remote control. Doesn't that work?
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2013 11:00 am
by effemmeffe » Tue Jan 22, 2013 12:30 pm
MAA1612 wrote:
effemmeffe wrote:if I disconnect the wifi how do I control XBMC?


If your TV supports CEC, you should be able to control XBMC via your TV remote control. Doesn't that work?


My TV is a Samsung LED series 5, but I don't know what CEC is. I'll search on the forum.
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 1:25 pm
by jamesh » Tue Jan 22, 2013 12:53 pm
effemmeffe wrote:I don't have fixed network near my TV screen and if I disconnect the wifi how do I control XBMC?


Well, we are trying to diagnose the problem, which may require trying out stuff outside the normal. Can you move the Raspi closer to your hub for testing purposes?
Soon to be unemployed software engineer currently specialising in camera drivers and frameworks, but can put mind to most embedded tasks. Got a job in N.Cambridge or surroundings? I'm interested!
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 11660
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 7:41 pm
by obcd » Tue Jan 22, 2013 12:55 pm
CEC is a protocol on the hdmi standard. It makes it possible to control some devices with the remote from others. Your Samsung should have it, but maybe not on all it's hdmi connectors. I am also not sure if every hdmi cable has the wires connected that make CEC possible.
Posts: 890
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2012 9:06 pm
by effemmeffe » Tue Jan 22, 2013 1:00 pm
jamesh wrote:
effemmeffe wrote:I don't have fixed network near my TV screen and if I disconnect the wifi how do I control XBMC?


Well, we are trying to diagnose the problem, which may require trying out stuff outside the normal. Can you move the Raspi closer to your hub for testing purposes?


Yes, I can. And I did it before to configure teh wifi dongle or some other stuff.
But then how do I know what XBMC is doing?

Anyway, once I have my RPi on the fixed network what test do you suggest?
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 1:25 pm
by effemmeffe » Tue Jan 22, 2013 1:05 pm
obcd wrote:CEC is a protocol on the hdmi standard. It makes it possible to control some devices with the remote from others. Your Samsung should have it, but maybe not on all it's hdmi connectors. I am also not sure if every hdmi cable has the wires connected that make CEC possible.


I did a quick search on the forum and find this amazing feature, thanks.
I'll try as soon as possible, hoping that my HDMI cable supports CEC. It's an AmazonBasics High-Speed cable, this is the cable on the Italian store: http://goo.gl/cRG56
I suppose it's this one on the UK store: http://goo.gl/7L8hx
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 1:25 pm
by jamesh » Tue Jan 22, 2013 1:50 pm
effemmeffe wrote:
jamesh wrote:
effemmeffe wrote:I don't have fixed network near my TV screen and if I disconnect the wifi how do I control XBMC?


Well, we are trying to diagnose the problem, which may require trying out stuff outside the normal. Can you move the Raspi closer to your hub for testing purposes?


Yes, I can. And I did it before to configure teh wifi dongle or some other stuff.
But then how do I know what XBMC is doing?

Anyway, once I have my RPi on the fixed network what test do you suggest?


Leaving it running for longer than the usual hang time - you can SSH in to it from another device to see if it's still working.
Soon to be unemployed software engineer currently specialising in camera drivers and frameworks, but can put mind to most embedded tasks. Got a job in N.Cambridge or surroundings? I'm interested!
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 11660
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 7:41 pm
by effemmeffe » Tue Jan 22, 2013 1:58 pm
jamesh wrote:
effemmeffe wrote:Anyway, once I have my RPi on the fixed network what test do you suggest?


Leaving it running for longer than the usual hang time - you can SSH in to it from another device to see if it's still working.


I already tried that: if I leave the raspberry run without doing anything it runs for a long time with no problem. I had it running for a day and a night and connected via ssh I can check its status.
The hangs happens while running XBMC or transferring data via samba from my macbook to the external powered USB disk connected to the Raspberry while it's on the wireless network.
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 1:25 pm
by redhawk » Tue Jan 22, 2013 2:03 pm
Coming from experience I find XBMC does have a tendency to hang sometimes so I don't think this has anything to do with your Pi.
Many XBMC distros come with overclocking settings enabled you could try removing these values and see if it improves stability.

Richard S.
User avatar
Posts: 3455
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2012 2:13 pm
Location: ::1
by effemmeffe » Tue Jan 22, 2013 2:07 pm
redhawk wrote:Coming from experience I find XBMC does have a tendency to hang sometimes so I don't think this has anything to do with your Pi.
Many XBMC distros come with overclocking settings enabled you could try removing these values and see if it improves stability.

Richard S.


My Pi is not overclocked.
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 1:25 pm
by MAA1612 » Tue Jan 22, 2013 8:39 pm
effemmeffe wrote:I did a quick search on the forum and find this amazing feature, thanks.
I'll try as soon as possible, hoping that my HDMI cable supports CEC.


It worked out of the box with my Sony TV and the current raspbmc image. No need to configure anything. I am using the HDMI cable offered by RS components for use with the RPi.
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2013 11:00 am
by effemmeffe » Tue Jan 22, 2013 8:46 pm
Can't figure out if my samsung supports cec or not. no sign of that on the specs on the website and on the net I found some specs indicating cec not supported and some indicating cec supported.
I have cec enabled on xbmc, but if I press the arrow on my samsung remote nothing happen on xbmc...
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 1:25 pm
by bspi » Tue Jan 22, 2013 10:26 pm
effemmeffe wrote:Can't figure out if my samsung supports cec or not. no sign of that on the specs on the website and on the net I found some specs indicating cec not supported and some indicating cec supported.
I have cec enabled on xbmc, but if I press the arrow on my samsung remote nothing happen on xbmc...


What distro are you using (Openelec, raspbmc..)?
If your HDTV was made in 2007 and onwards, it probably supports hdmi-cec. When your raspberry pi is powered on and connected through hdmi to your tv, press the "Source" key in your remote. Now you should be able to see all connected devices, including the pi.
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2012 1:27 pm
by RobHenry » Tue Jan 22, 2013 11:34 pm
effemmeffe wrote:Can't figure out if my samsung supports cec or not. no sign of that on the specs on the website and on the net I found some specs indicating cec not supported and some indicating cec supported.
I have cec enabled on xbmc, but if I press the arrow on my samsung remote nothing happen on xbmc...


CEC is called Anynet+ on my Samsung TV - does yours mention that?
Posts: 241
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 9:04 pm
Location: Edinburgh
by effemmeffe » Wed Jan 23, 2013 7:56 am
bspi wrote:What distro are you using (Openelec, raspbmc..)?
If your HDTV was made in 2007 and onwards, it probably supports hdmi-cec. When your raspberry pi is powered on and connected through hdmi to your tv, press the "Source" key in your remote. Now you should be able to see all connected devices, including the pi.


I'm using xbian.
And I can see xbmc or the console con my tv via hdmi.
I just can't control it via CEC.
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 1:25 pm
by effemmeffe » Wed Jan 23, 2013 7:57 am
RobHenry wrote:
effemmeffe wrote:Can't figure out if my samsung supports cec or not. no sign of that on the specs on the website and on the net I found some specs indicating cec not supported and some indicating cec supported.
I have cec enabled on xbmc, but if I press the arrow on my samsung remote nothing happen on xbmc...


CEC is called Anynet+ on my Samsung TV - does yours mention that?


Yep, I saw on the web.
But I can't see any reference to Anynet+ on my remote.
Which Samsung do you have? How do you enable CEC on it?
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 1:25 pm
by RaTTuS » Wed Jan 23, 2013 8:03 am
what model is you samsung?
1QC43qbL5FySu2Pi51vGqKqxy3UiJgukSX - Prosliver FTW
"That's not right, the badgers have moved the goalposts."
User avatar
Posts: 5003
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 11:12 am
Location: North West UK
by RobHenry » Wed Jan 23, 2013 8:13 am
effemmeffe wrote:
RobHenry wrote:
effemmeffe wrote:Can't figure out if my samsung supports cec or not. no sign of that on the specs on the website and on the net I found some specs indicating cec not supported and some indicating cec supported.
I have cec enabled on xbmc, but if I press the arrow on my samsung remote nothing happen on xbmc...


CEC is called Anynet+ on my Samsung TV - does yours mention that?


Yep, I saw on the web.
But I can't see any reference to Anynet+ on my remote.
Which Samsung do you have? How do you enable CEC on it?


Don't know the model off the top of my head, but it's a few years old and should be a standard feature I would have thought. It can be activated by pressing the tools button and then selecting Anynet+ device list. Not sure if I had to activate it anywhere in the settings first I'm afraid.
Posts: 241
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 9:04 pm
Location: Edinburgh
by Nr90 » Wed Jan 23, 2013 10:30 am
CEC works out of the box with my samsung TV. No configuration necessary.
Posts: 213
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 12:39 pm