car DVD player TFT Screen For the raspberry


33 posts   Page 1 of 2   1, 2
by shoxcorp » Wed Jan 16, 2013 10:44 pm
Hey All!

I got a TFT screen 7" from a friend. Its one of those which come in a car DVD player package (2 screens + dvd player). The input on it is a 9-pin mini DIN. Unfortunately my friend didnt have the cables anymore.

I opened up the case to see the connector which proved to be nice and explanatory.

Has anyone tried to use these before? Which inputs would you use? any help is appreciated =)
Attachments
photo11.jpg
photo11.jpg (53.19 KiB) Viewed 2566 times
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 2:21 pm
by shox » Thu Jan 17, 2013 10:15 am
Self update: Found this info of a dutch site:

FINAL pinout minidin9 for Lenco mes 219:
789
3456
12

1=video
6,7= +12 volt
8= audio 1
9= audio 2

the pins are on the printplate:
74589
3126
xx

xx= ground
So here is again 7 and 6 =+ 12 volt
1= video
8 en 9= audio

The min 12 volt has to be connected to the ground as well.
You have to connect 6 and 7 in order to get it to work.


If i find more info ill post it here.
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 12:45 pm
by andrum99 » Thu Jan 17, 2013 1:14 pm
For video, it appears that you have 3 pins - CVBS_IN which is for composite video input, surrounded by 2 pins labelled VGND which presumably means "video ground". I would connect CVBS_IN to the centre of the composite connector on the Pi, and the outside of the composite connector to the VGND pins on the display.

I would also check the voltage required by each of the power connections, since there is reference to both VDC and ADC, which could mean one is 5V and one is 12V.

It would be very useful if you could find the original cables for the screen so you could confirm the power requirements, both in terms of voltage and current.

Cheers

Andrew.
My blog, with lots of Raspberry Pi goodness: andrum99.blogspot.co.uk
Posts: 215
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 2:41 pm
by Jkurl » Fri Jan 18, 2013 2:23 am
Can you post a pic of the case where the power could hook into the screen or post the model number of the DVD system or display. You should be able to find a spec sheet on that system that way.
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 2:05 am
by shoxcorp » Sun Jan 20, 2013 4:10 pm
Thanks for the replies guys.

I managed to get the IR light to stay up (hooked up the power to the ground and ADC-IN).

I havent gotten it to power up tho. Seems like i have to connect two pins in order to "wake it up".

I was hoping to wake it up first, and if that worked then connect the CVBS_IN and try further.

photo-1.jpg
photo-1.jpg (31.77 KiB) Viewed 2343 times

photo-2.jpg
photo-2.jpg (37.05 KiB) Viewed 2342 times
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 2:21 pm
by Jkurl » Sun Jan 20, 2013 4:32 pm
I would hook up to the VDC and GND. I looks like it would need 12V to power it. That dual DVD system it is part of can use either 120VAC or 12VDC for the car adapter.

Edit: I found the manual and the monitors do use 12VDC to power them. I would hook my wires to VDC not ADC.
Last edited by Jkurl on Sun Jan 20, 2013 4:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 2:05 am
by shoxcorp » Sun Jan 20, 2013 4:37 pm
Yeah the DVD set is the model "Lenco MES-219"

ps. Im currently powering it up with a multi adapter set at 12V 1000mA
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 2:21 pm
by shoxcorp » Sun Jan 20, 2013 5:09 pm
Jkurl wrote:I found the manual and the monitors do use 12VDC to power them. I would hook my wires to VDC not ADC.


Ok so to sum up:
- Power 12V to VDC
- Power ground to GND ?

and how can i "trick" it to "wake up" ?

thanks so far!!
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 2:21 pm
by Jkurl » Sun Jan 20, 2013 5:32 pm
shoxcorp wrote:
Ok so to sum up:
- Power 12V to VDC
- Power ground to GND ?

and how can i "trick" it to "wake up" ?

thanks so far!!


Yes you need to have power to ground as well. The red wire to VDC in and black wire to GND. You may need to go ahead and hook the video up. It may need the video signal to wake up. I had a tv that would do that and if no signal was present it would power off.
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 2:05 am
by shoxcorp » Sun Jan 20, 2013 6:32 pm
Jkurl wrote:Yes you need to have power to ground as well. The red wire to VDC in and black wire to GND. You may need to go ahead and hook the video up. It may need the video signal to wake up. I had a tv that would do that and if no signal was present it would power off.


Thanks! I will give it a shot!
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 2:21 pm
by shoxcorp » Sun Jan 20, 2013 6:59 pm
Jkurl wrote:Yes you need to have power to ground as well. The red wire to VDC in and black wire to GND. You may need to go ahead and hook the video up. It may need the video signal to wake up. I had a tv that would do that and if no signal was present it would power off.


Oh my it works! it works!! U were right! it needed the video in set to work!
Thank you so much Jkurl !

Image
Image
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 2:21 pm
by Jkurl » Sun Jan 20, 2013 7:02 pm
Awesome. Glad I was able to help you out. I am still waiting for my 2.5 screen from adafruit. Kind of small but it can be powered by the Gpio so no extra power requirements.
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 2:05 am
by shoxcorp » Sun Jan 20, 2013 7:06 pm
Thats pretty sweet! do u have a link to the product?

Still cant find the "perfect" use for the pi tho... Thought of a mobile terminal but still.. not convinced ! :P
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 2:21 pm
by Jkurl » Sun Jan 20, 2013 7:19 pm
Here is a link to adafruit raspberrypi stuff. http://www.adafruit.com/category/105

They have several screens. I am going to use mine as a pool controller so I can control if from a mobile device.
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 2:05 am
by shoxcorp » Sun Jan 20, 2013 7:21 pm
Jkurl wrote:Here is a link to adafruit raspberrypi stuff. http://www.adafruit.com/category/105

They have several screens. I am going to use mine as a pool controller so I can control if from a mobile device.


Haha cool! Good luck in that case! and thanks for all the help!
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 2:21 pm
by splite07 » Tue Jan 22, 2013 3:47 pm
Hello,

I was very happy to find this post as I also bought a Lenco MES-219 !
I fellowed the steps and I have done this :

I connected :
VDC-IN : 12v
GND : Ground
CVBS : To the center of the RCA cable
VGND : To the external of the RCA cable

When I connected the RCA to the PI and VDC-IN to the 12v, 1.5 A nothing happened...Did I forget something ?

The PI works well when I connect it to a TV...

Thank for your help !
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2013 3:39 pm
by Jkurl » Tue Jan 22, 2013 5:22 pm
splite07 wrote:Hello,

I was very happy to find this post as I also bought a Lenco MES-219 !
I fellowed the steps and I have done this :

I connected :
VDC-IN : 12v
GND : Ground
CVBS : To the center of the RCA cable
VGND : To the external of the RCA cable

When I connected the RCA to the PI and VDC-IN to the 12v, 1.5 A nothing happened...Did I forget something ?

The PI works well when I connect it to a TV...

Thank for your help !


Everything looks good to me. Did u hook the video ground to the display circuit board?
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 2:05 am
by shoxcorp » Tue Jan 22, 2013 5:30 pm
splite07 wrote:Hello,

I was very happy to find this post as I also bought a Lenco MES-219 !
I fellowed the steps and I have done this :

I connected :
VDC-IN : 12v
GND : Ground
CVBS : To the center of the RCA cable
VGND : To the external of the RCA cable

When I connected the RCA to the PI and VDC-IN to the 12v, 1.5 A nothing happened...Did I forget something ?

The PI works well when I connect it to a TV...

Thank for your help !


Heya! Im happy this post helped someone! You also have to attach the ADC-IN (2cond pin from the top) to the 12v . See: http://www.flickr.com/photos/shoxcorp/8399562816/
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 2:21 pm
by splite07 » Tue Jan 22, 2013 11:00 pm
Hey !

Thank you, I forgot to hook up the ADC-IN to the 12v.
Works fine now ! It's great, thanks for the job!

I don't know what you think of the screen quality, but I find it pretty poor quality, especially when showing text...Pictures and movies are OK.
Well I knew it was not the best stuff, but...
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2013 3:39 pm
by shox » Wed Jan 23, 2013 7:26 am
splite07 wrote:I don't know what you think of the screen quality, but I find it pretty poor quality, especially when showing text...Pictures and movies are OK.


Had the exact same thoughts. Text is impossible to read without damaging your eyes haha.

If you find a way to improve that let us know =)
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 12:45 pm
by shox » Wed Jan 23, 2013 11:03 am
Came across this post today :
http://www.skpang.co.uk/blog/archives/541

Im wondering if it would be possible to do the 12V -> 5V trick on this monitor as well....
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 12:45 pm
by kini923 » Thu Feb 07, 2013 4:18 pm
Hi! I've the same screen, works with Wii but not with raspberry pi :cry:
The signal is very weak, when I pressing the buttons of the screen, the interface is more difficult to see
How do I make the raspberry service 12V video signal?
User avatar
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 9:39 pm
by shoxcorp » Thu Feb 07, 2013 9:10 pm
kini923 wrote:Hi! I've the same screen, works with Wii but not with raspberry pi :cry:
The signal is very weak, when I pressing the buttons of the screen, the interface is more difficult to see
How do I make the raspberry service 12V video signal?


Heya, did you power it from the raspberry?! from where, GPIO?

Im using an external 12V power supply :/
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 2:21 pm
by kini923 » Thu Feb 07, 2013 9:40 pm
shoxcorp wrote:
kini923 wrote:Hi! I've the same screen, works with Wii but not with raspberry pi :cry:
The signal is very weak, when I pressing the buttons of the screen, the interface is more difficult to see
How do I make the raspberry service 12V video signal?


Heya, did you power it from the raspberry?! from where, GPIO?

Im using an external 12V power supply :/


I mean if you had to configure something in the raspberry
User avatar
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 9:39 pm
by shoxcorp » Thu Feb 07, 2013 9:42 pm
kini923 wrote:I mean if you had to configure something in the raspberry


Nop, no special setting in the Pi...

Maybe your power supply is not supplying enough mA?
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 2:21 pm