a very rookie question


12 posts
by jorsantander » Wed Jan 09, 2013 10:55 pm
What am supposed to do after I enter user root and pasword root? i want to acces into and frendly grafic ambiace
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 7:34 pm
by pepedog » Wed Jan 09, 2013 11:02 pm
Update first
Code: Select all
pacman -Syu
sync
reboot

To install say lxde (the gui) and midori (web browser)
Code: Select all
pacman -S xf86-video-fbdev lxde xorg-xinit midori

and to start
Code: Select all
xinit /usr/bin/lxsession

The start menu has midori there
If you want to boot into that everytime, without passwords, I will tell you how
Posts: 986
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2011 9:55 am
by flyinghappy » Wed Jan 09, 2013 11:04 pm
You will need to set up a user, install all the xorg stuff and whatever gui you want be it a desktop environment like Gnome/XFCE/KDE/LXDE or a window manager like OpenBox/DWM/etc. The beginners guide at wiki.archlinux.org has some good useful information for doing some of that kind of stuff.
Pi with ArchLinux running a minidlna/samba home server
Posts: 112
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 5:31 pm
by cyrano » Wed Jan 09, 2013 11:13 pm
Type startx and hit enter...
User avatar
Posts: 512
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 11:48 pm
Location: Belgium
by jorsantander » Wed Jan 09, 2013 11:37 pm
My friend I did all of that, everything was going on well, except fpr this at the end; xinit /usr/bin/lxsession it saiys: xinit command no found
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 7:34 pm
by jorsantander » Wed Jan 09, 2013 11:43 pm
startx command not found
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 7:34 pm
by Cloudcentric » Thu Jan 10, 2013 12:09 am
I know everything about nothing"
Posts: 982
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 9:13 am
by cyrano » Thu Jan 10, 2013 1:38 am
jorsantander wrote:startx command not found


Sorry, my goof. Hadn't seen it was Arch.
User avatar
Posts: 512
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 11:48 pm
Location: Belgium
by computerchemist » Fri Jan 18, 2013 8:29 pm
thanks a lot pepedog for the advice on this.
I am also a newbie to arch.
I would like to know how to program the pi to auto-start to menu, without # xinit /usr/bin/lxsession ,
and dare I say it, how to un-program it, so can get to the black/white screen again.
Many thanks in advance.

pepedog wrote:Update first
Code: Select all
pacman -Syu
sync
reboot

To install say lxde (the gui) and midori (web browser)
Code: Select all
pacman -S xf86-video-fbdev lxde xorg-xinit midori

and to start
Code: Select all
xinit /usr/bin/lxsession

The start menu has midori there
If you want to boot into that everytime, without passwords, I will tell you how
once upon a time, we all used to be a little baby :-D
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 7:44 pm
by pepedog » Fri Jan 18, 2013 10:48 pm
It's all here https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/LXDM#Autologin
Easy way, make sure lxdm is installed if it wasn't installed earlier, or install it also (lxdm is a gui unername/password thang)
Code: Select all
pacman -Sy lxdm

Create a new user if root is the only user (I put archuser below but you can use your own imagination), all enters except for password
Code: Select all
adduser archuser

Now we edit a file
Code: Select all
nano /etc/lxdm/lxdm.conf

look for this line
#autologin=username
change it too
autologin=archuser
You should be able to easily work out ctrl-O saves, ctrl-X quits
Now we get lxdm to start on boot
Code: Select all
systemctl enable lxdm


You can always get back to a nornal text login with ctrl-alt-F1
Experiment with ctrl-alt and F1 to F7
Posts: 986
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2011 9:55 am
by computerchemist » Sat Jan 19, 2013 10:47 am
awesome pepedog :P
many thanks for your expertise.

also found this link to help me out to play around with the login screen if required
http://wiki.manjaro.org/index.php/LXDM_Configuration
once upon a time, we all used to be a little baby :-D
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 7:44 pm
by LJH08 » Wed Jan 23, 2013 12:00 am
Thanks for the info everyone!

New to Raspberry Pi myself and trying out different OS's. (Wish the Android port was done!!! )

Played around with Linux on pc , but thats usually with a GUI, a small amount of terminal commands on my mac is about as close to command line code as I get haha! Yal's info and the link helps a lot!

Thanks again.
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2013 11:50 pm