SqueezePlug Version 6 available


542 posts   Page 8 of 22   1 ... 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 ... 22
by AndyBeevers » Mon Jan 14, 2013 8:28 pm
Can ver 6 be upgraded from ver 5.05 or is a fresh install the option. I ran the upgrade command in squeezeplug and it said it was up to date. The update_last.txt file says 505 hence the lack of auto upgrade to ver 6.

If I upgrade will I be able to uses aac internet radio services - would like to use radio paradise 128k AAC rather than the mp3 version.

Or do I need to download an AAC library.

And finally am I allowed 2 questions in one thread?
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 10:47 pm
by castalla » Mon Jan 14, 2013 8:46 pm
You need a new v6 image - then update to latest.

AAC is built-in.
Posts: 525
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 3:46 pm
by tom-pi » Tue Jan 15, 2013 4:29 pm
Regarding the problem that I have that squeezelite is not being recognized by LMS until I restart it, I have circumvented the problem by adding the following lines to /etc/rc.local

sleep 60
echo "squeezelite stop"
/etc/init.d/squeezelite stop
sleep 10
echo "squeezelite start"
/etc/init.d/squeezelite start

And now all is well!

Tom
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 10:03 am
by pocster » Tue Jan 15, 2013 4:46 pm
Hey all,

My pie hasn't arrived yet but I have some questions regarding squeeze plug.
Are there software hooks so I can (for example) detect if a tune has started or ended (say in pyton, java or whatever)?
Is it possible for squeezeplug to interrogate the squeeze server (assuming it's a slave) to get a list of artists, or albumn names, tracks etc.??

Hope I'm not asking too much :oops:

Cheers
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 12:11 pm
by cdalessio » Thu Jan 17, 2013 1:53 am
pocster wrote:Hey all,

My pie hasn't arrived yet but I have some questions regarding squeeze plug.
Are there software hooks so I can (for example) detect if a tune has started or ended (say in pyton, java or whatever)?
Is it possible for squeezeplug to interrogate the squeeze server (assuming it's a slave) to get a list of artists, or albumn names, tracks etc.??

Hope I'm not asking too much :oops:

Cheers


That's not a factor of SqueezePlug, but of the server/player software distribution you use.
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 1:36 am
by raspimusic » Thu Jan 17, 2013 11:27 am
I'm having trouble getting the server to recognize my music files on the sd-card (is it even possible?).

I set the media-library to internal and also tried to set the server to the top folder ("/") via the browser-menu.

Also tried the "media" folder on the sd card, as well as the "mnt" one, but i only get image files, no music, even though i copied loads of it there :/

reading music from usb-stick worked.

any ideas? =) thanks for your help
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2013 11:20 am
by antislash78 » Thu Jan 17, 2013 9:54 pm
truehl wrote:@ All with non working Edimax Wifi

Could you plaese ty this:

Code: Select all
root@squeezeplug:~# cp /etc/network/interfaces /etc/network/interfaces.org

Code: Select all
nano /etc/network/interfaces

delete the complete contense and replace it with:
Code: Select all
# This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
# and how to activate them.
#
# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback
#
auto wlan0
iface wlan0 inet dhcp
wpa-ssid "your SSID"
wpa-psk "your Password"
#
# The LAN network interface
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcp


Please use the SqueezePlug version 6.01 for this check. Wifi with Edmimax should work then. Please report back the results here.

Thanks,
Thomas


I had this problem and it worked for me :)

Thank you.
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2013 9:47 pm
by castalla » Fri Jan 18, 2013 1:46 am
I have an unprotected network (yes, I know!).

The following works -

# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback
#
# The LAN network interface
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcp
#
# The WLAN network interface

allow-hotplug wlan0
iface wlan0 inet dhcp

wireless-mode managed
wireless-essid NAMEOFNETWORK
wireless-power off

May help somebody.
Posts: 525
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 3:46 pm
by Daddyfix » Fri Jan 18, 2013 2:20 am
The USB Image tool worked for me too. The SqeeezePlug 6.0 image wouldn't fit on my 4gb SD Card with Windows Image Writer but works with USB Image
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2012 2:13 pm
Location: Sudbury, Ontario
by truehl » Sat Jan 19, 2013 10:25 pm
Hi folks,
an other week of hard work is done and I'm happy to present the second and mayor update for SqueezePlug version 6. SqueezePlug V.6.02 fixes some mayor bugs and offers a very exiting new feature.

The main fixed issues are:
- Remaining Wifi issues should be fixed now
- Access Point feature should work now
- Remaining Problems with SqueezeSlave and SqueezeLite are fixed
- Different other small bugs are fixed

New features are:
- Added Genie9 support, a Time machine Clone now comes with a 10 € discount voucher for SqueezePlug users
- New SqueezeLite version

Please take a look in the patch history for more details (Attachment):

You will get this patch directly with SqueezePlug. Run "setup" choose <Basic Configuration> <Update_SP>.

The next days I'll inform you about more details!

Have fun,
Thomas

Feel free to donate my SqueezePlug project:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?c ... M49ARYWK6C
thanks a lot!
Attachments
patch_history_602.PNG
patch_history_602.PNG (43.21 KiB) Viewed 2580 times
truehl
http://www.squeezeplug.de
User avatar
Posts: 619
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2012 6:47 pm
by misterpi » Sun Jan 20, 2013 1:17 pm
Hi,
I am using Raspberry Pi with Squeezeplug. It's what I was looking for years. Brilliant work Thomas.
I struggle with one problem that might be trivial. So far I used Squeezeplug only by ethernet connection and it worked perfectly. By now I want to advance to get Squeezeplug running via WiFi. Bought a Zyxel NWD 2105 adapter and followed Squeezeplug 6.02 instruction to establish WiFi network connection (by using DHCP automatic configuration, activating LAN_andWLAN option) but I don't get a WiFi connection.

Here are some facts about my configuration/syntax messages:

a) driver of the adapter is up to date
b) lsusb gives the following message

Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 0424:9512 Standard Microsystems Corp.
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 0424:ec00 Standard Microsystems Corp.
Bus 001 Device 004: ID 0586:341e ZyXEL Communications Corp. NWD2105 802.11bgn Wireless Adapter [Ralink RT3070]

c) ifconfig gives the following message

lo no wireless extensions.
wlan0 IEEE 802.11bgn ESSID:off/any
Mode:Managed Access Point: Not-Associated Tx-Power=20 dBm
Retry long limit:7 RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Encryption key:off
Power Management:on
eth0 no wireless extensions.

d) ifconfig gives the following message

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr b8:27:eb:5f:7c:e5
inet addr:192.168.178.26 Bcast:192.168.178.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:1251 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:2030 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:345167 (337.0 KiB) TX bytes:358353 (349.9 KiB)

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:737 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:737 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:59568 (58.1 KiB) TX bytes:59568 (58.1 KiB)

wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr b0:b2:dc:60:3b:89
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

Two more points to mention: I am not a linux expert and I am not directly connected to the pi by monitor and keyboard (using Putty instead). So any easy and explicit solution would be highly appreciated.
Would be very pleased if somebody could help me. Thanks
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 12:52 pm
by castalla » Sun Jan 20, 2013 1:39 pm
So, does your network have encryption or not?
Posts: 525
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 3:46 pm
by misterpi » Sun Jan 20, 2013 1:46 pm
castalla wrote:So, does your network have encryption or not?


Yes, it does
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 12:52 pm
by castalla » Sun Jan 20, 2013 1:49 pm
Sorry - my possible fix was for unencrypted networks.

Are you sure that Zyxel is a confirmed working dongle?
Posts: 525
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 3:46 pm
by misterpi » Sun Jan 20, 2013 1:55 pm
castalla wrote:Sorry - my possible fix was for unencrypted networks.

Are you sure that Zyxel is a confirmed working dongle?


Yes the Zyxel is supported, see: http://elinux.org/RPi_VerifiedPeriphera ... i_Adapters
My network is WPA.
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 12:52 pm
by truehl » Sun Jan 20, 2013 2:00 pm
misterpi wrote:
castalla wrote:Sorry - my possible fix was for unencrypted networks.

Are you sure that Zyxel is a confirmed working dongle?


Yes the Zyxel is supported, see: http://elinux.org/RPi_VerifiedPeriphera ... i_Adapters
My network is WPA.

Ah, that can be the reason. I've hardcoded WPA2.

Please try to startx and then use the wpa_gui tool!
truehl
http://www.squeezeplug.de
User avatar
Posts: 619
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2012 6:47 pm
by JF002 » Sun Jan 20, 2013 2:00 pm
Hi!
I've just installed SqueezePlug 6 and... Wow! I didn't know such a thing existed in linux!

It nearly fits my needs (play audio files from local, network, streams,...).

Only one thing is missing : a local GUI! I would like to install the Raspberry with a touchscreen in my kitchen, and be able to control it using the touchscreen. I found the web application, mobile softwares (android, ios, windows phone), but no software I could install on the Raspberry.... Appart from SharePlay, which is said to be highly experimental (and doesn't work very well, from what I saw.).

Did I missed some thing or this software doesn't exists (yet)?

Thanks!
My blog [FR] : http://blog.slashome.fr.cr
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 8:49 am
by misterpi » Sun Jan 20, 2013 2:18 pm
truehl wrote:
misterpi wrote:
castalla wrote:Sorry - my possible fix was for unencrypted networks.

Are you sure that Zyxel is a confirmed working dongle?


Yes the Zyxel is supported, see: http://elinux.org/RPi_VerifiedPeriphera ... i_Adapters
My network is WPA.

Ah, that can be the reason. I've hardcoded WPA2.

Please try to startx and then use the wpa_gui tool!

Entering:
sudo /etc/init.d/networking restart

I get the following message:
Listening on LPF/wlan0/b0:b2:dc:60:3b:89
Sending on LPF/wlan0/b0:b2:dc:60:3b:89
Sending on Socket/fallback
DHCPDISCOVER on wlan0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 3
receive_packet failed on wlan0: Network is down
DHCPDISCOVER on wlan0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 5
send_packet: Network is down
receive_packet failed on wlan0: Network is down
DHCPDISCOVER on wlan0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 13
DHCPDISCOVER on wlan0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 20
DHCPDISCOVER on wlan0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 18
DHCPDISCOVER on wlan0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 2
No DHCPOFFERS received.
Unable to obtain a lease on first try. Exiting.
Failed to bring up wlan0.
done.

What does that error message imply ?


Sorry, I was wrong it's WPA2. Are the WiFi drivers included in the squeezeplug package or do they have to be installed manually. I thought my driver is installed and uptodate but now I doubt. How can I check that ? Sorry for bothering you.
Last edited by misterpi on Sun Jan 20, 2013 2:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 12:52 pm
by truehl » Sun Jan 20, 2013 2:39 pm
misterpi wrote: I thought my driver is installed and uptodate but now I doubt. How can I check that ?

I use all drivers included in the official Raspbian image. No changes here.
truehl
http://www.squeezeplug.de
User avatar
Posts: 619
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2012 6:47 pm
by TechLife127 » Sun Jan 20, 2013 3:57 pm
I have a DAC coming, but in the meantime, I have been playing with this through the HDMI out. My music library and Pandora are working fine. The issue I am having is that I have no audio from Spotify. I have a premium account and can browse the music and select what I want just fine, but there's no output.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated, I'd really like to get this working.
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 6:42 pm
by SoundSunPleasure » Sun Jan 20, 2013 4:05 pm
TechLife127 wrote:I have a DAC coming, but in the meantime, I have been playing with this through the HDMI out. My music library and Pandora are working fine.


Do you have any 24-bit/96kHz FLAC files, and are they playing fine? Just curious if that's working for people.
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 6:40 pm
by truehl » Sun Jan 20, 2013 4:05 pm
TechLife127 wrote:I have a DAC coming, but in the meantime, I have been playing with this through the HDMI out. My music library and Pandora are working fine. The issue I am having is that I have no audio from Spotify. I have a premium account and can browse the music and select what I want just fine, but there's no output.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated, I'd really like to get this working.

You are using the SF version, right?
truehl
http://www.squeezeplug.de
User avatar
Posts: 619
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2012 6:47 pm
by hestbank » Sun Jan 20, 2013 4:13 pm
phil001 wrote:edit - seen you can get VERY cheap usb soundcards on ebay, anything from £1.50 upwards. Would these provide any improvement at all (if they work at all!) over the Pi's 3.5mm output?


Yes. I've just had success with this Newlink cheap and cheerful DAC:
http://cpc.farnell.com/newlink/usb021ka ... +usb+audio

The 3.5mm output is stuttery and useless but the USB DAC worked straight out of the box with no additional tweaks of Squeezeplug version 6.01.

Huge thanks to the 2 Ts, Thomas and Triode.
I now have a Pi running LMS serving a Squeezebox Touch in another room and the Squeezelite installation on the Pi. So far it has played anything I throw at it including Spotify. Squeezebox Touch and Squeezelite perfectly in sync.

As a confidence boost for newbies like me everything was set up using Thomas's scripts (just make sure you search this thread for Thomas's settings for USB Image Tool to overcome the Image being slightly larger than the 4GB SD card net size).

Fantastic.

A little token of my appreciation wending its way to you!

Thanks,

David
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 10:48 pm
by castalla » Sun Jan 20, 2013 4:32 pm
I don't know why, but the output from my 3.5mm analog has always been stutter free & reasonable sound quality ... I can't imagine whether a cheap dac would be an improvement or not.
Posts: 525
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 3:46 pm
by vaugi » Sun Jan 20, 2013 5:44 pm
misterpi wrote:Entering:
sudo /etc/init.d/networking restart

I get the following message:
Listening on LPF/wlan0/b0:b2:dc:60:3b:89
Sending on LPF/wlan0/b0:b2:dc:60:3b:89
Sending on Socket/fallback
DHCPDISCOVER on wlan0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 3
receive_packet failed on wlan0: Network is down
DHCPDISCOVER on wlan0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 5
send_packet: Network is down
receive_packet failed on wlan0: Network is down
DHCPDISCOVER on wlan0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 13
DHCPDISCOVER on wlan0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 20
DHCPDISCOVER on wlan0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 18
DHCPDISCOVER on wlan0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 2
No DHCPOFFERS received.
Unable to obtain a lease on first try. Exiting.
Failed to bring up wlan0.
done.

What does that error message imply ?


Hi Misterpi, I'm pretty new to this too, and I'm getting the same message on bootup using a RALINK 5370 USB wifi dongle.

I found editing the /etc/network/interfaces to look like the following worked for me:

Code: Select all
# This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
# and how to activate them.
#
# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback
#
# The WLAN network interface
auto wlan0
iface wlan0 inet static
        address 192.168.1.100
        network 192.168.1.0
        netmask 255.255.255.0
        broadcast 192.168.1.255
        gateway 192.168.1.1
        wpa-ssid YourSSID
        wpa-psk YourPassword


Leaving the WPA_supplicant line in still caused it to throw up errors, so I just deleted it and the above worked. I'm fairly inexperienced at Linux so no idea what the actual problem is, maybe there still is a problem with Squeezeplug or our setups (at least we know it's not the usb chipset seeing as they are both different).
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 5:19 pm