AdvanceMAME and Frontend fully configured OS Image inside


33 posts   Page 1 of 2   1, 2
by SSilver2k2 » Sat Dec 15, 2012 3:44 am
Hey All,

Long time no see here in the forum! With winter break in full swing I have had some breathing room to work on things again.

I spent some time setting up a Raspbian Image that is fully setup, has AdvanceMAME and AdvanceMENU, and auto logins and runs the MENU frontend at bootup.

It also has SSH enabled and all that good stuff.

The link is here: http://blog.sheasilverman.com/pimame-ra ... -download/

The name is subject to change, I'm not attached to it. I hope everyone enjoys. If you have any questions, comments, or suggestions, please feel free to get in touch with me!
My blog of various geeky things - http://blog.sheasilverman.com
DeskCade.com - Mini Raspberry Pi Arcade Cabinet
PiMAME - http://pimame.org
Posts: 177
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 1:51 am
Location: United States
by malakai » Sat Dec 15, 2012 4:03 am
Sweet can't wait for updates on the DeskCade you should write something up for The MagPi along with the pics of Wreck it Ralph how did that all come about.
http://www.raspians.com - always looking for content feel free to ask to have it posted. Or sign up and message me to become a contributor to the site. Raspians is not affiliated with the Raspberry Pi Foundation. (RPi's + You = Raspians)
User avatar
Posts: 1383
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 10:35 am
by SSilver2k2 » Sat Dec 15, 2012 4:36 am
malakai wrote:Sweet can't wait for updates on the DeskCade you should write something up for The MagPi along with the pics of Wreck it Ralph how did that all come about.


That's not a bad idea :)

To keep it short though, If it wasn't for the Rich Moore AMA on Reddit, it never would have happened.
My blog of various geeky things - http://blog.sheasilverman.com
DeskCade.com - Mini Raspberry Pi Arcade Cabinet
PiMAME - http://pimame.org
Posts: 177
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 1:51 am
Location: United States
by malakai » Sat Dec 15, 2012 5:51 am
CTRL + C will exit the program
startx will work and takes you to the full desktop go there to setup wireless if needed
I installed gftp sudo apt-get install gftp this is a gui ftp if needed
Keys are:

3 Keys
In the game play you can use the following keys:
ESC Exit.
F1 Help.
TAB Main Menu.
F2 Test/Service Switch.
F3 Reset the game.
F7 Load a game state.
SHIFT + F7 Save a gam state.
F8 Decrease the frame skip value.
F9 Increase the frame skip value.
F10 Speed throttle.
F11 Display the frame per second.
F12 Save a snapshot.
P Pause.
PAD * Turbo mode until pressed.
PAD / Cocktail mode (flip the screen vertically).
PAD - Mark the current time as the startup time of the game.
CTRL + ENTER Start the sound and video recording.
ENTER Stop the sound and video recording.
, Previous video mode.
. Next video mode.
TILDE Volume Menu.

for player 1 you can use the keys:
1 Play.
5 Insert coin.
ARROW Move.
CTRL First button.
ALT Second button.
SPACE Third button.

for player 2 you can use the keys:
2 Play.
6 Insert coin.
R, F, D, G Move.
A First button.
S Second button.
Q Third button.

website for info http://advancemame.sourceforge.net/doc-advmame.html
http://www.raspians.com - always looking for content feel free to ask to have it posted. Or sign up and message me to become a contributor to the site. Raspians is not affiliated with the Raspberry Pi Foundation. (RPi's + You = Raspians)
User avatar
Posts: 1383
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 10:35 am
by scep » Sat Dec 15, 2012 11:57 am
SSilver2k2 wrote:Hey All,

Long time no see here in the forum! With winter break in full swing I have had some breathing room to work on things again.
Excellent stuff -- just what I need to finish off my portable mame machine. Thanks! :D
User avatar
Posts: 1063
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2011 8:53 am
by SSilver2k2 » Thu Dec 20, 2012 3:49 am
Small update:
http://blog.sheasilverman.com

There's a config change to get rid of that annoying sound on the AdvanceMENU frontend.

The next version I'm working on will have a custom bootface (already working), gpiokeys and joystick drivers installed, and a feature I may need help on, but i like the idea:

The roms/ directory will be on a FAT32 partition rather than an ext3 partition so you can just pop the SD card into any PC or Mac and just drop the roms onto it. Easy :)

-Shea
My blog of various geeky things - http://blog.sheasilverman.com
DeskCade.com - Mini Raspberry Pi Arcade Cabinet
PiMAME - http://pimame.org
Posts: 177
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 1:51 am
Location: United States
by evilpaul » Thu Dec 20, 2012 11:15 pm
The FAT32 partition sounds very convenient as trying out different roms can be time consuming. I installed usbmount which speeds things up a fair bit. Manually mounting USB sticks in linux is no fun.
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 11:31 am
by xevil » Fri Dec 21, 2012 2:23 am
you will add drivers for xbox 360 wireless pad?this os can be launched from openelec xbmc addons?thx and good 4 the optimus work
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2012 5:06 pm
by SSilver2k2 » Fri Dec 21, 2012 3:07 am
So I consider myself a pretty competent IT person, but I am definitely more DevOps than SysAdmin. I inquired about the FAT32 partitions with someone who has many more years of experience than I, and its not easily doable.

The problem is that Windows is unable to view multiple partitions on SD Cards . It will only mount the first partition. This is a show stopper.

But here is my other idea. I will enable an FTP server, as well as a web frontend where you can upload your games straight from the web browser. Even easier :) I can have AdvanceMENU display the IP address of the Raspberry Pi as well.
My blog of various geeky things - http://blog.sheasilverman.com
DeskCade.com - Mini Raspberry Pi Arcade Cabinet
PiMAME - http://pimame.org
Posts: 177
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 1:51 am
Location: United States
by evilpaul » Fri Dec 21, 2012 11:51 am
SSilver2k2 wrote:But here is my other idea. I will enable an FTP server, as well as a web frontend where you can upload your games straight from the web browser. Even easier :) I can have AdvanceMENU display the IP address of the Raspberry Pi as well.


That sounds like a good option too. Quite a few iOS apps have a built in webserver for importing files to make it easier than using iTunes/enable wireless transfer and it works really well.
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 11:31 am
by rbtucker09 » Sun Dec 23, 2012 12:44 am
I have the AdvanceMAME flashed to an sd card and have it running on my pi. The rom included, Gridlee, works fine except for sound which I have seen posts about sound fixes. My question is, I have a Street Fighter rom that I have obtained that I have extracted into a folder in the pi/home/roms directory where the Gridlee rom is located. However, upon reboot, Street Fighter does not show up in my list of games. Any ideas? Thanks by the way for all the work that has went into this so far!
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2012 4:08 am
by trazer » Mon Dec 24, 2012 6:19 pm
Looks very cool, now if I could make it work with a MaKey MaKey that would be a fun project for my daughter and I. 8-)
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2012 2:32 pm
by SSilver2k2 » Tue Dec 25, 2012 3:06 am
The new version has been release, PiMAME 0.3

Features:

AdvMENU theme with IP address in the background
Web Front-End which enables uploading of ROMs from your computer to the Raspberry Pi
Sound Fixes

http://blog.sheasilverman.com/2012/12/happy-holidays-pimame-0-3-released/

Enjoy! Happy Holidays!
My blog of various geeky things - http://blog.sheasilverman.com
DeskCade.com - Mini Raspberry Pi Arcade Cabinet
PiMAME - http://pimame.org
Posts: 177
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 1:51 am
Location: United States
by deltalimablahblah² » Thu Dec 27, 2012 10:06 pm
Hi,

pimame works on my Pi. Question: how can we fill up the whole screen with the game? In Horizontal mode, say display_rotate=0 in /boot/config.txt, games are too thin.

If I set display_rotate=1 in /boot/config.txt, good for arcade shoot-em-ups, the games are too thin and too short.

Howto set the screen to fullscrreen if display_rotate=1?
User avatar
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2012 5:33 pm
by anthemsley » Fri Dec 28, 2012 11:53 am
Hello all,
Got a few games working and it's great! Just wondering which build of mame this is based on though so that I can find more compatible roms. I've got the latest rom set for use on my pc and a lot of these are working on piMame.

Thanks
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2012 5:51 pm
by mmoller2k » Fri Dec 28, 2012 3:07 pm
I've been playing with PiMAME 0.3 today and I must say great job Mr Silverman.
DLXX: When you rotate the display by setting display_rotate=1 in config.txt, you have to also edit /home/pi/.advance/advmame.rc and swap the values for display_aspectx and display_aspecty. While you're at it you might want to change the default 4:3 setting to 16:9 (or 9:16 for vertical displays) unless you have a really old monitor.
That said, I would suggest that you leave display_rotate=0 in config.txt and rather set display_rol or display_ror to 'yes' in advmame.rc. I got much better resolution on a composite PAL screen this way round.
I got about a dozen games working, and any info on how to increase that number would be welcome.
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 2:52 pm
by kevkaos » Fri Dec 28, 2012 5:25 pm
going to load this up tomorow, anyone tried any games yet? what has worked? hoping to get the likes of robocop and wonderboy working
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2012 7:00 am
by kevkaos » Mon Dec 31, 2012 4:07 pm
working but no sound at all for me, have i done anything wrong or do i need to do anything??
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2012 7:00 am
by PeterPan1964 » Tue Jan 01, 2013 10:55 am
Here are my results
The following games are working:
- Asteroid
- Bomb Jack
- Bosconian
- Christal Castle
- Ghost & Goblins
- Hypersports
- Pang
- Moon Patrol
- Pooyan
- Xevious

Following games I testet didn't run correctly:
- Phoenix (Too slow, wrong audio)
- Viewpoint (Too slow, wrong audio)
- BattleZone
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2013 10:36 am
by fa001 » Wed Jan 02, 2013 8:30 pm
I have this working. Thanks for the fine efforts.
However I do have one issue with sound. If I use composite video I do get sound out the 3.5mm sound port. If however I use HDMI video (through a HDMI to VGA cable) I do not get sound out the 3.5mm sound port.
Is there a setting somewhere that I am missing?
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 8:25 pm
by Jessie » Thu Jan 03, 2013 9:28 pm
I need to download this and give it a go. I have a nice collection of roms I will report back with.
User avatar
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1169
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 7:40 pm
by kevkaos » Fri Jan 04, 2013 11:03 am
wonderboy= full speed
teenage mutant ninja turtles=full speed popping sound
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2012 7:00 am
by Jessie » Sat Jan 05, 2013 2:22 am
I played:
Donkey Kong (96%)
Final Fight (65%)
Black Tiger (120%)

Percentage indicate how well they run. I am getting no audio. Also I can't get larger roms to upload through the web interface. I'm guessing that there is a script timing out somewhere. Also where are the config files for advmame?

Anyway, good work its better than I could have done.
User avatar
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1169
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 7:40 pm
by kevkaos » Sat Jan 05, 2013 10:41 am
a quick config edit got sound going for me open up config.txt
adding this line solved it
hdmi_drive=2
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2012 7:00 am
by Jessie » Sat Jan 05, 2013 6:51 pm
kevkaos wrote:a quick config edit got sound going for me open up config.txt
adding this line solved it
hdmi_drive=2

Thanks I will try that.
User avatar
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1169
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 7:40 pm