Emulators and the R-pi


75 posts   Page 2 of 3   1, 2, 3
by Toad King » Thu May 24, 2012 6:03 pm
Posted this in another thread, but I'm working on a port of RetroArch, an emulator frontend. So far I got accelerated video going and controls and audio are coming soon: https://github.com/ToadKing/RetroArch-Rpi

So far there's a handful of cores ported to it, but once I get the Pi version complete, I think it can be used as a good stepping stone for other emulators, since the person porting them doesn't have to worry about hardware acceleration themselves.
User avatar
Posts: 156
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2011 8:03 pm
by isdixon » Thu May 24, 2012 8:50 pm
Just wanted to say I got Spectrum Emulator Fuse working and have the sound working as well, it actually works pretty well.
I tried to get beebm working but couldn't get it going
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 8:22 pm
by abishur » Fri May 25, 2012 12:10 am
isdixon wrote:Just wanted to say I got Spectrum Emulator Fuse working and have the sound working as well, it actually works pretty well.
I tried to get beebm working but couldn't get it going


Care to post what you did to get it working :-P
Dear forum: Play nice ;-)
User avatar
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4221
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 4:10 am
Location: USA
by iandixon » Fri May 25, 2012 2:45 pm
Sorry yes I should, I basically followed another thread


by dom » 19 Apr 2012 10:12
You also need updated start.elf from github (https://github.com/raspberrypi/firmware ... aster/boot).

Something like:

sudo apt-get install alsa-utils

sudo depmod

sudo modprobe snd-bcm2835
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 8:59 am
by iandixon » Fri May 25, 2012 2:59 pm
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 8:59 am
by AndrewS » Fri Jun 01, 2012 10:54 am
Another emulator: viewtopic.php?f=63&t=7154
User avatar
Posts: 2193
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 4:50 pm
Location: Cambridge, UK
by yoodoo2 » Sat Jun 02, 2012 11:20 am
Just been trying out uae - old version of the Amiga emulator, a long way behind current versions of WinUAE. Loads, starts to load adfs, but couldn't get beyond loading stages of the half dozen games I tried.

There are other, more up-to-date versions of the emulator: e-uae, fsuae and p-uae. The first is oldish but has a good SDL version (not much use on the Pi, I imagine). fsusae needs OpenGL, I believe. Puae is aimed towards portable gadgets (like the Pandora) and would be probably be the best version to have a go at.

There is also AROS, which is an open-source re-implementation of AmigaOS 3.1 (the version that came with the A1200). This runs a Workbench like-environment. There are a number of apps for AROS which will be available once they have been recompiled for ARM (AROS also runs on x86, x64, PPC and 68k).
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 9:57 am
by viceroy » Sat Jun 02, 2012 7:45 pm
there is a video here for amiga (puae) and raspberry pi
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_A35MhabP_8
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 7:43 pm
by yoodoo2 » Sat Jun 02, 2012 8:35 pm
Well spotted. Couldn't track down a binary or package for puae, so it looks like I'll have to set up the cross compilers.

A bit more experimentation with a "vanilla" uae resulted in a little bit of success - managed to have a reasonably playable session with Zeewolf 2.
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 9:57 am
by fugutastic » Fri Jun 08, 2012 11:04 am
I've been trying to get PUAE to compile on my Pi for the last few days and I've had no luck whatsoever. I'm using the hexxeh raspbian image with the correct dependencies installed. I can botch my way through code and with some creating commenting out of bits here and there I almost got it to compile but not quite :-) Obviously it can be done as the youtube video shows. Anyone else tried and succeeded (or failed)?
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2012 11:00 am
by stecklars » Fri Jun 08, 2012 8:06 pm
Is there a working emulator to play Neo Geo games yet?
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2012 5:42 pm
by Toad King » Fri Jun 08, 2012 9:15 pm
stecklars wrote:Is there a working emulator to play Neo Geo games yet?

If you feel like compiling things yourself, I have an emulator frontend with a core than can run some Neo-Geo games. All the stuff you need should be here: viewtopic.php?f=35&t=6750

Make sure you compile imame4all-libretro with ARM support otherwise you'll get horribly slow speeds.
User avatar
Posts: 156
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2011 8:03 pm
by BenJ » Tue Jun 12, 2012 4:04 pm
I didn't see this thread before I made mine and it was locked, so I'll post the contents of it here...

So far, I've tried two emulators to run Super Mario Brothers 3 on my Raspberry Pi. I've overclocked the CPU to 900 MHz and the RAM to 500 MHz.

mednafan was pretty slow, though better than FCE Ultra. I wasn't able to test any gameplay since I wasn't able to move at the map screen. Here's a short video:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wvOkOwVqKMY

FCE Ultra was laughably slow, it took about 3-4 minutes for the curtain to come up. I didn't record this since my camera battery went flat.
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2011 3:18 pm
by Toad King » Tue Jun 12, 2012 4:11 pm
Almost every emulator you try will get those results. The lack of X acceleration kills any speed you might get from them. They also might use OpenGL for rendering, so the Raspberry Pi falls back on MesaGL software rasterer, which would be even slower. So far, the only two emulators that avoid this are AdvanceMAME (which renders directly to the framebuffer) and RetroArch-Rpi (which uses EGL/OpenVG).

You could try RetroArch-Rpi with the FCEU core and see if that works.
User avatar
Posts: 156
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2011 8:03 pm
by Crook » Tue Jun 12, 2012 4:34 pm
Is someone putting up a comprehensive how-to on installing emulators? I'd like to follow some instructions to get a speccy emulator working with sound.
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2012 5:57 pm
by MegaGumbo » Tue Jun 12, 2012 6:18 pm
mkopack wrote:Ok, I got the C64 emulator up and working last night - Vice.. No sound support, but otherwise it seemed to work (albeit with LOTS of pauses, the CPU meter was pegged the whole time...), and I couldn't figure out how to get it to let me type into the console, but I was able to load up some games and play a bit:

http://elinux.org/RPi_VICE_C64_Emulator


I read your post and got curious. Indeed, without some overclocking and a few tweaks to the VICE configuration parameters as well as the desktop it's not that cool.
But I got it running using some overclocking, fluxbox instead of lxde and was able to play 'night racer' with sound as long as you didn't try to polish your desk with the mouse (avoided massive mouse movement). But I don't have fullscreen mode available yet. You can find my configuration settings for VICE and the CPU/GPU below. Maybe they work for you as well. Depends on wether or not you are willing to overclock (not overvoltage!) your Pi. I'm looking forward to your feedback.

Here's the settings I tweaked in my .vicerc

Code: Select all
SoundDeviceName="sdl"
SoundSampleRate=22050
SoundFragmentSize=0
SoundBufferSize=150
SoundSuspendTime=0
SoundSpeedAdjustment=0


My /boot/config.txt contains the following settings (use at your own risk!):

Code: Select all
arm_freq=900
gpu_freq=300
init_emmc_clock=250000000
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 4:45 pm
by Singularity9 » Tue Jun 12, 2012 11:21 pm
Toad King wrote:Posted this in another thread, but I'm working on a port of RetroArch, an emulator frontend. So far I got accelerated video going and controls and audio are coming soon: https://github.com/ToadKing/RetroArch-Rpi

So far there's a handful of cores ported to it, but once I get the Pi version complete, I think it can be used as a good stepping stone for other emulators, since the person porting them doesn't have to worry about hardware acceleration themselves.


This is a great idea. I am looking over your github code now, if you need a hand with anything in specific (coding wise) please let me know!
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2012 6:20 am
by Toad King » Wed Jun 13, 2012 7:27 am
Singularity9 wrote:
Toad King wrote:Posted this in another thread, but I'm working on a port of RetroArch, an emulator frontend. So far I got accelerated video going and controls and audio are coming soon: https://github.com/ToadKing/RetroArch-Rpi

So far there's a handful of cores ported to it, but once I get the Pi version complete, I think it can be used as a good stepping stone for other emulators, since the person porting them doesn't have to worry about hardware acceleration themselves.


This is a great idea. I am looking over your github code now, if you need a hand with anything in specific (coding wise) please let me know!

If you feel like it, you can take a crack at making an OpenMAX IL audio core. I took one look at the sample hello_audio code included in the Raspberry Pi firmware and just threw up my hands and walked away. :P

Also, either optimizing existing cores or finding new ones that run at fullspeed on the Raspberry Pi would be great. That's where a lot of my work is now, and it's involving a lot of hunting around.
User avatar
Posts: 156
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2011 8:03 pm
by Alan Thew » Thu Jun 14, 2012 4:27 pm
Casalor wrote:When I get the chance (what with a million or things to do that magically get in the way) I am going to have a go at finding a suitable Amstrad CPC emulator (such as Arnold) and compiling that.

If anybody has already managed it can they give any pointers or pitfalls on the libraries involved?


I compiled arnold yesterday from the most recent sources I could find (2009-03-17) by following the links through from cpcwiki.eu. Compilation was easy, just the usual untar, configure, make procedure. It took about 20 minutes. You'll need to install the GTK+ and SDL libraries (including the dev packages) from the Debian repositories. You will also need to change the TARGET_FMT from elf32-i386 to elf32-littlearm in Makefile.in, otherwise it'll compile but not link. Can't think of anything else but let me know if you get stuck because I may have encountered it and now forgotten...

It seems to run, including sound, in X, but at about a half speed, or maybe worse. I didn't have time to play around much but Burnin' Rubber seems to start OK, and I made up a few little BASIC programs. Didn't try loading any disks or snapshots. I think as others have said it's going to be of little use until X gets accelerated; it won't run from a console.

There's another lovely CPC emulator called Roland (not to be confused with the Javascript CPC emulator) but I've not compiled that yet. I would expect performance to be similar though.
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2012 1:46 pm
by quark » Thu Jun 14, 2012 11:04 pm
stornnation wrote:
abishur wrote:At this point in time one of the big deals for me is the ability to run it straight off framebuffer. I had an NES one working without sound, but I re-imaged and now I can't remember which one it was or how I had to working :oops: running it through LXDE just isn't working at the moment.


I have a NES emulator working without sound, using the Debian image, will only work running through console no LXDE

sudo apt-get install fceu

cd /usr/games

./fceu -input1 gamepad -inputcfg gamepad1 /home/pi/mario_bros.zip

Command above will map gamepad buttons to your keyboard, and load game image path you specify. Appears to work fine apart from no sound, I've had a few levels on Mario Bros.

Not tried with a joypad, I have a wireless xbox360 joypad that is discovered as a usb device, but have not had chance to try to get it working yet. It doesn't work by default


I finally got fceu working with sound.
Therefore you have to know that fceu tries to use OSS as default sound driver.
If you use squeeze with ALSA you have to install alsa-oss to get sound working with fceu.

Here a short summary:
1. Load Kernel driver
Code: Select all
sudo modprobe snd_bcm2835

2. install alsa, alsa-oss
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install alsa alsa-oss

3. start fceu with aoss
Code: Select all
sudo aoss fceu ROM.nes
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2012 10:53 pm
by BakaOsaka » Fri Jun 15, 2012 9:58 am
Can someone offer some advice? Whenever I try to load FCEU I get a framebuffer error. Specifically:
Code: Select all
Could not initialize sdl: DirectFBCreate: Initialization error!

How do I init the framebuffer?
User avatar
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 11:30 am
by abishur » Fri Jun 15, 2012 3:14 pm
BakaOsaka wrote:Can someone offer some advice? Whenever I try to load FCEU I get a framebuffer error. Specifically:
Code: Select all
Could not initialize sdl: DirectFBCreate: Initialization error!

How do I init the framebuffer?


Which distro, and what did you do to run it :-)
Dear forum: Play nice ;-)
User avatar
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4221
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 4:10 am
Location: USA
by BakaOsaka » Fri Jun 15, 2012 3:24 pm
I'm using Debian Squeeze, and followed the instructions:

Code: Select all
sudo modprobe snd_bcm2835


Code: Select all
sudo aoss fceu romname.rom


When I try the second command I get the error shown above. :ugeek:
User avatar
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 11:30 am
by abishur » Fri Jun 15, 2012 4:32 pm
BakaOsaka wrote:I'm using Debian Squeeze, and followed the instructions:

Code: Select all
sudo modprobe snd_bcm2835


Code: Select all
sudo aoss fceu romname.rom


When I try the second command I get the error shown above. :ugeek:


Odd, sudo should be able to initialize SDL... it shouldn't really matter but what's the date of the Debian squeeze image you're using? Also have you updated your firmware?
Dear forum: Play nice ;-)
User avatar
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4221
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 4:10 am
Location: USA
by abishur » Fri Jun 15, 2012 4:34 pm
Also, try elevating the entire session to sudo privileges (sudo bash) and then running the command "aoss fceu romname.rom" it really shouldn't make a difference though
Dear forum: Play nice ;-)
User avatar
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4221
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 4:10 am
Location: USA