Access Raspberry pi via Hyperterminal


17 posts
by jameswifipi » Fri Jan 25, 2013 9:39 am
Hello,

It could be a great help if someone help with the procedure...
1. To access my Raspberry Pi (Debian 6) in my laptop via HyperTerminal serial connection or Putty (windows 8) using Ethernet cable??

When I tried with HyperTerminal it ask for the host (raspberry) address. Which I don’t know.

Initially SSH is not enable in Debian 6, when I Google I found out there is Occidentalis v0.2 for raspberry pi which come with ssh enable using this can I access my raspberry pi??

NOTE:
I am trying to know what are the other ways to access my Raspberry Pi in my laptop without installing VNC, because in order to install VNC server in raspberry Pi I have to access it first, to do that I have to connect it to TV display and USB mouse & keyboard to configure it. Which I don’t have for that I am looking for any other alternate method.

Thanks in advance.
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 4:25 am
by jamesh » Fri Jan 25, 2013 9:50 am
Putty is your best bet - I use it fine on Win7.

You need to know the IP address of the Raspi, and SSH needs to be enabled - that can be done from raspi-config. Use the command 'ifconfig' on the Raspi to find it's IP address.

Then in Putty create a new session, using the IP address, set it to SSH and try it. You shoudl be to a log in prompt on the Raspi.

James
Soon to be unemployed software engineer currently specialising in camera drivers and frameworks, but can put mind to most embedded tasks. Got a job in N.Cambridge or surroundings? I'm interested!
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 11651
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 7:41 pm
by Jim JKla » Fri Jan 25, 2013 10:11 am
Noob guide here if you need it http://elinux.org/RPi_A_Method_for_ssh_blind_login

just ignore it if your happy with what James gave you ;)
Noob is not derogatory the noob is just the lower end of the noob--geek spectrum being a noob is just your first step towards being an uber-geek ;)

If you find a solution please post it in the wiki the forum dies too quick
User avatar
Posts: 2184
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 11:15 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne UK
by jameswifipi » Fri Jan 25, 2013 10:36 am
Hi,

Thanks for your reply

To know is IP address i should access rapberry pi in my laptop .. my doubt is how to access it ?
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 4:25 am
by mad-hatter » Fri Jan 25, 2013 10:56 am
Hello,

In PuTTY try IP address 192.168.2.3 - port 22 and select SSH as connection type.
These should be the defaults.

Regards
Posts: 303
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2012 2:58 pm
by jameswifipi » Fri Jan 25, 2013 11:02 am
Hi,

it shows connection timed out.
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 4:25 am
by Jim JKla » Fri Jan 25, 2013 11:12 am
If you are connected through a Router and DHCP is active the IP address is set by the Router.

If you can get your RPi connected via HDMI then once you have run through RASPI-CONFI and before you run startx one of the last lines on the screen should show your IP address (note this is using the Wheezy Image.

This is covered in the blind login link I gave earlier. ;) Note there's a PM as well ;)
Noob is not derogatory the noob is just the lower end of the noob--geek spectrum being a noob is just your first step towards being an uber-geek ;)

If you find a solution please post it in the wiki the forum dies too quick
User avatar
Posts: 2184
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 11:15 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne UK
by mad-hatter » Fri Jan 25, 2013 11:28 am
Hello,

I'm using win 7, my previous post just worked.
I'm using a router between widows and the Pi.
If your using a cable to connect:-
In PuTTY try IP address 127.0.0.1 - port 22 and select SSH as connection type.
That's the extent of my knowledge on this subject.

Regards
Posts: 303
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2012 2:58 pm
by jamesh » Fri Jan 25, 2013 11:28 am
mad-hatter wrote:Hello,

In PuTTY try IP address 192.168.2.3 - port 22 and select SSH as connection type.
These should be the defaults.

Regards


The default will be whatever the DCHP enabled router assigns to the Raspi on boot - not necessarily 192.168.2.3. For example, my router at home uses 192.168.1.x and my Raspi is 192.168.1.6 (sometimes). If you use static IP that a different kettle of fish.
Soon to be unemployed software engineer currently specialising in camera drivers and frameworks, but can put mind to most embedded tasks. Got a job in N.Cambridge or surroundings? I'm interested!
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 11651
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 7:41 pm
by Jim JKla » Fri Jan 25, 2013 11:40 am
Yes but if you are not using a router what is the default?

I am researching this with a fresh image ;)
Noob is not derogatory the noob is just the lower end of the noob--geek spectrum being a noob is just your first step towards being an uber-geek ;)

If you find a solution please post it in the wiki the forum dies too quick
User avatar
Posts: 2184
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 11:15 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne UK
by rurwin » Fri Jan 25, 2013 11:59 am
mad-hatter wrote:In PuTTY try IP address 127.0.0.1 - port 22 and select SSH as connection type.


Definitely incorrect. 127.0.0.1 is the local machine, in this case the Windows PC.

Routers allocate addresses sequentially, generally. Find the address of your laptop with "ipconfig", and then vary the last number in each direction to find the Pi.

For example if your laptop has IP address 192.168.0.4, then you could try the following commands:
Code: Select all
ping 192.168.0.3
ping 192.168.0.5
ping 192.168.0.2
ping 192.168.0.6

The router itself generally has the address xx.xx.xx.1 or xx.xx.xx.254. That will be in ipconfig under "Default Gateway".
You may find the printer, your wife's laptop, the cat, the XBOX, the Sky box, whatever is on your network. They'll all respond to ping. They wont all accept an ssh connection, and only the Pi will accept the username and password. It's a process of elimination to find the right address.

Edit: I am fairly sure that if there is no router -- nothing on the network is a DHCP server -- then the RaspPi's ethernet interface is down. There is no default address like there is in Windows. The best way to fix that would probably be to install a DHCP server on the laptop. Another way would be to use a Live Linux CD to read and alter the root partition on the SD card to give the RaspPi a static address.
User avatar
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2903
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 3:16 pm
by Jim JKla » Fri Jan 25, 2013 12:07 pm
Yes I just checked if there's no router in the mix it assigns the loopbak checking an open source DHCP from Source Forge I will re post when I have some results. ;)
Noob is not derogatory the noob is just the lower end of the noob--geek spectrum being a noob is just your first step towards being an uber-geek ;)

If you find a solution please post it in the wiki the forum dies too quick
User avatar
Posts: 2184
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 11:15 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne UK
by jameswifipi » Fri Jan 25, 2013 12:21 pm
how to assign a static IP to the raspberry pi ?
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 4:25 am
by Jim JKla » Fri Jan 25, 2013 1:28 pm
I am working on a way to do this where your only equipment is a laptop with putty loaded, a RPI, an ethernet cable and power supply for your RPi .

If you have a TV with a composite or HDMI and a keyboard and mouse then there is no problem

I will do the slightly jargonised come link version and do a Noob version as soon as I can.

Assumption here is your using the Wheezy Image.

Boot your RPi

exit raspi-config without changes

Then follow the instructions here http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=27&t=29474&p=259832&hilit=fixed+ip+address#p259832 get back if you are still stuck. ;)

sorry about the rush I'll be back later. ;)
Noob is not derogatory the noob is just the lower end of the noob--geek spectrum being a noob is just your first step towards being an uber-geek ;)

If you find a solution please post it in the wiki the forum dies too quick
User avatar
Posts: 2184
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 11:15 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne UK
by Jim JKla » Fri Jan 25, 2013 3:02 pm
I have started a discussion in a new thread to see if we can find an elegant solution to this Static IP issue. ;)
Noob is not derogatory the noob is just the lower end of the noob--geek spectrum being a noob is just your first step towards being an uber-geek ;)

If you find a solution please post it in the wiki the forum dies too quick
User avatar
Posts: 2184
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 11:15 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne UK
by asandford » Fri Jan 25, 2013 5:55 pm
If you make this script run at boot time, it will email you the ip address (tho' you need a gmail account)

Code: Select all
#!/usr/bin/env python
import smtplib, string, subprocess

# Googlemail login details
username = 'XXXXXXXXX@gmail.com'
password = 'YYYYYYYY'

# Settings
fromaddr = username
toaddr = username

# get ifconfig
output_if = subprocess.Popen(['ifconfig'], stdout=subprocess.PIPE).communicate()[0]

# make the email parms
BODY = string.join((
"From: %s" % fromaddr,
"To: %s" % toaddr,
"Subject: Your RasPi IPs",
"",
output_if,
), "\r\n")

# send the email
server = smtplib.SMTP('smtp.gmail.com:587')
server.starttls()
server.login(username,password)
server.sendmail(fromaddr, toaddr, BODY)
server.quit()



You will get an email like this:

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr b8:27:AA:BB:CC:DD
inet addr:192.168.0.115 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:65 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:222 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:7514 (7.3 KiB) TX bytes:34695 (33.8 KiB)

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:12:AA:BB:CC:DD
inet addr:192.168.0.117 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:220 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:35 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:23279 (22.7 KiB) TX bytes:6667 (6.5 KiB)
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2012 12:54 pm
by jameswifipi » Fri Jan 25, 2013 6:26 pm
To set a static IP i found the below given link is useful and its working ..

http://www.raspberrypi-tutorials.co.uk/ ... p-address/
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 4:25 am