Project: RPi + RC Car

14 posts
by cupcake » Sat Jan 21, 2012 10:03 pm
My proposed project for a Rasperry Pi is to connect it to a (normally) RC-controlled car. This is definitely not a very original idea but I'd like to post my thoughts here for comments, tips, and warnings for potential obstacles.

I am a software engineer and think I could handle most software-related issues on my own. However my experience with low-level hardware is near zero - and is an area where I will rely heavily on online resources and trial and error.

My current plan is made up by the following gradual phases:

Phase 1: Purchase Raspberry Pi + Gertboard + RC car

Strictly speaking I don't think I absolutely need a Gertboard, but it seems to make sense for an experimental work in progress. I imagine that a relatively cheap off-road RC car will do. It should be able to get around well and carry the extra weight. Any objections here in terms of what I should look out for in an RC car? Perhaps there are some things I can look out for that will make the servo connection easier?

Phase 2: Assemble Gertboard

As far as I understand, the Gertboard will require some work to be assembled and functional. How difficult would this be for someone who's pretty much a complete newbie when it comes to low-level hardware and circuit boards? I have done soldering before but would have to acquire a soldering iron.This step will likely require quite a bit of time for me.

Completion: An assembled and functional Gertboard.

Phase 3: Connect Gertboard to servos on RC car

Not sure how difficult this will be given that I've never done it before. My plan is to simply connect Gertboard GPIOs to the car's servos to enable me to take control of forward/backward as well as right/left. My guess here is that I will have to utilize capacitors to handle PWM? Or does that only apply if connected directly to RPi? Will different voltages between Gertboard GPIOs and servos be an issue?