RasPi as a camcorder

14 posts
by macarelo » Sun Oct 30, 2011 3:30 am
Hello everyone!
I'm new here, I'm not really a programmer or anything like it, I'm more like an enthusiastic nerd. And a director of photography (guy in charge of camera and lighting in a motion picture).

I read about the Raspberry Pi and was wondering, how much benefit can someone take out of the CSI2 interface? Just as a science project, and just to see how far technology has come in the last decade, I want to try to build a camcorder with a cellphone camera (a rather good one), but I don't want to use high compression rates, I actually want to try to capture RAW 10-bit or 8-bit RGB data as some high end (USD 100.000) digital film cameras can. Of course I don't mean to compare such footage with real movie making cameras, I just want to try to make the most out of the footage, and then compare it to cameras from 5 or 10 years ago (like DVCAM cams).
Its funny to think a 100 dollar camera today can have better or same quality than a 8000 dollar camera from 2002.

So, just as the Raspberry Pi is intended, I am now interested in programming. But, as a former Windows nerd, and an actual Mac nerd, I really don't know where or how to start. How do you program a camera? how does the interface behave? is it the same for all cameras that use a CSI2 connector?
Where can I start to learn these things?

Any help would be appreciated!

PS: Sorry about my rough english, I'm from Argentina.
by Nexy » Tue Nov 01, 2011 11:14 am
@macarelo: Unfortunately I probably know less about cameras than you do, but I did find these so I may as well link them here in case you or others hadn't seen them (and if they're even relevant.)

MIPI Alliance Standard for Camera Serial Interface CSI-2 overview

The OMAP3 Camera-ISP driver page on OMAPpedia - While I appreciate we're not using an OMAP chip it may give some assistance.