PSone LCD Screen Project


11 posts
by stevepdp » Wed Jun 13, 2012 10:21 am
Image

I've been seeking a low-cost portable screen for use with the Raspberry Pi so that I can show it off and demo projects at the various pub-based tech meetings I attend.

The official PSone display apparently accepts AV input and is usually priced between £40-£70 at sites like eBay depending on the condition.

By using a 4-pole 3.5mm jack AV lead, an RCA adapter and an RCA lead to the Pi, I *should* be able to get a picture from the Pi on it.

This thread discusses powering the screen and Pi from a single power source. I might consider that in the future but for now I would like to keep things safe and simple. We're used to using four-ways in the pubs for laptops and such anyway ;-)

If it all works well then I may consider mounting the Pi and the guts of the display on an acrylic sheet.

Thoughts?
I'm not a part of the Raspberry Pi Foundation, I'm just a very enthusiastic fan.
Web developer, hobbyist game developer and co-organiser of several things.
User avatar
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 284
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 7:41 am
Location: Norfolk, UK
by robotfunk » Wed Jun 13, 2012 10:38 am
Yes it works, that's the screen that's currently attached to my Pi. Rather uncomfortable to read the terminal though, I'm doing most of the work through SSH.
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 7:28 pm
by ceteras » Tue Jun 19, 2012 8:27 am
I have two of those, and I can't get a stable image on neither.
It's stable on horizontal but runs out of sync on vertical dimension.
I use the PS1 AV cable, connected to the back of the screen, and I power the screen with 7.5V.
If I connect the screen to a PSone, it works so it's not faulty.

Have you had to modify anything to the screens to get them working?
Posts: 183
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 1:42 pm
Location: Romania
by robotfunk » Tue Jun 19, 2012 9:43 am
That is because the Pi is set to NTSC by default. To set it to PAL, make or edit a config.txt file in the boot partition (the one you can read on your PC or Mac) and add the line

sdtv_mode=2
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 7:28 pm
by coliscip » Fri Jun 22, 2012 9:04 am
I have the same problem with video out on raspberry pi and adding that code line did't solve myp problem.
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 10:14 am
by ceteras » Mon Jun 25, 2012 1:24 pm
For me it worked, thank you robotfunk.
Posts: 183
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 1:42 pm
Location: Romania
by ghfame » Tue Jul 24, 2012 6:04 am
It worked for me too :) BUT... I cant seem to get any sound out of it.
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2012 9:57 pm
by timothy3592 » Tue Jul 24, 2012 8:11 am
I've been looking everywhere for a little screen, anybody know whats the resolution on that LCD? I grabbed its manual from us.playstation.com and it was about as helpful as the average manual for game console accessories (well ya'know, its 5" on the diagonal...). I'm hoping for VGA but not too much I know the composites not for high res.
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2012 6:06 am
by ghfame » Tue Jul 24, 2012 6:48 pm
Raspberry Pi indicates it is something like 656 by 416 (if I read the PSOne right that is LOL)
Does anyone else have any problems with Sound? I am using the Stereo cable that I bought with the Pi and it does an excellent job. I have the stereo plug plugged into the PSOne and the Red jack into the Pi's yellow connecter. The Black connector is connected to an adapter so it can plug into the stereo jack on the Pi BUT I may need a different adapter.
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2012 9:57 pm
by Gwyn400 » Tue Jul 24, 2012 9:37 pm
For anyone interested with a PS2 slim you can use the Joytech 8" PS2 screen and one of these
http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B000 ... DN41XU9AY4
And plug the Pi straight into the back of it, plus it seems like you can power the Pi from the PS2 Slims USB ports so that means screen, PS2 and Pi can all be powered from one plug :D
Theres a few of the screens on eBay for around £40 and it's worth looking round some shops, I found a slim PS2+screen for £30 in cash converters
Complete noob
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 1:49 pm
by JPDefault » Tue Jul 31, 2012 10:03 am
Hi all.

Out of curiosity, has anybody tried to connect a PSOne screen using VGA instead of RCA?
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 8:12 am
Location: Wiltshire