Raspberri Pi with laptop

10 posts
by raspfly » Wed Jun 27, 2012 8:03 am
I think most of you will consider this as a weird question but still i wish to know if it is in any way possible to use a laptop's screen as Raspberry's Screen. I mean i use my laptop as long as i wish to but when i wish to work with Raspberry can i use that laptop's display as raspberry's screen ? I just wish to save table space. I am interested in trying out several things on Raspberry but would like to avoid placing / buying another monitor / tv just to experiment.
by SN » Wed Jun 27, 2012 8:05 am
if you only need the console on the pi (i.e. no graphics) then just get hold of a copy of putty and from your laptop ssh into the pi - X windows access is also possible
Steve N – binatone mk4->intellivision->zx81->spectrum->cbm64->cpc6128->520stfm->pc->raspi ?
by raspfly » Wed Jun 27, 2012 9:46 am
Wellllll ! i am not too good with all that so did not understand :)
by ghans » Wed Jun 27, 2012 9:52 am
Just google VNC and ad-hoc network.
You'll perhaps need a crossover cable- if your laptop doesn't support Auto-MDIX.

ghans
• Don't like the board ? Missing features ? Change to the prosilver theme ! You can find it in your settings.
• Don't like to search the forum BEFORE posting 'cos it's useless ? Try googling : yoursearchtermshere site:raspberrypi.org
by Gummy » Wed Jun 27, 2012 10:34 am
how would I achieve the task of ssh to raspbmc to add in some plugins?

A link to a video tutorial would be helpful?
by ghans » Thu Jun 28, 2012 8:28 am
Can you start your Pi and connect to the internet ?
If you succeed , drop to the commandline and enter
Code: Select all
  ifconfig

And note down you IP address (4 numbers seperated by dots , should begin with 192 or 10 )

Install the "PuTTY" terminal program on your other PC/Laptop (which should be connected to the same network).
If you don't want to install it , it can be found at PortableApps.com.