Siri: Open my garage door..


218 posts   Page 3 of 9   1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 9
by joefly » Sun Dec 16, 2012 5:42 pm
ok Guys, I was getting all excited as I finally got it to work, however, when I rebooted, I could not figure out how to get the server up and running and I even repeated all the steps from 1....I am sure it was not necessary but I got errors along the way, so now doing a repeat from fresh. What are the steps to perform a restart of siriproxy from boot?

Thanks
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu May 31, 2012 4:10 pm
by DarkTherapy » Sun Dec 16, 2012 5:52 pm
Just go back into the SiriProxy folder and run "siriproxy server" making sure you are logged in as root of course.
Posts: 69
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 8:14 am
by davef21370 » Sun Dec 16, 2012 6:04 pm
DarkTherapy, cheers, flicked through the forum too quick, will try to install tomorrow and post back :)
Please feel free to tap into my abundant lack of knowledge.
User avatar
Posts: 491
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 4:13 pm
Location: Up North
by joefly » Mon Dec 17, 2012 4:21 am
Hi DarkTherapy, Appreciate your patience.

I got it finally, for me on reboot, I could not get siriproxy without $source /etc/profile.d/rvm.sh is there are reason for this?

Also, I know you are running this on iPhone4S, I assumed that it works also for iPad3. Is this a correct assumption? Does it need to jailbroken? I am ios6.0 on the iPad3.

the reason I ask is that ask soon as I hit siri on my ipad3, it crashes my siri server.and in the error message it references "iphone" so wondering if this is only valid on iphone 4S, does it work on iphone5?

Also, since this is the second full attempt, I had a ca.pem from the 1st attempt installed on my ipad3, so there is now 2 ca.pem installed. Does it cause problems and how do I remove them if does cause problems.

Sorry for all this challenges to the group.

OH, I think the problem with other installs is because I was on BerryBoot install of wheezy which may have caused some of the problems.
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu May 31, 2012 4:10 pm
by joefly » Mon Dec 17, 2012 4:58 am
I did a little research and it does not require jailbreak. And should work on Iphone 5. I just tried it on my friends iphone 5 and still the same crash upon opening up siri on iphone. here is the error
root@raspberrypi:/home/pi/SiriProxy# siriproxy server
Starting SiriProxy on port 443..
SiriProxy up and running.
Create server for iPhone connection
start conn #<SiriProxy::Connection::Iphone:0x1e67710 @signature=3, @processed_headers=false, @output_buffer="", @input_buffer="", @unzipped_input="", @unzipped_output="", @unzip_stream=#<Zlib::Inflate:0x1e67638>, @zip_stream=#<Zlib::Deflate:0x1e67620>, @consumed_ace=false, @name="iPhone", @ssled=false>
[Info - Plugin Manager] Plugins laoded: [#<SiriProxy::Plugin::Example:0x16dd1f8 @manager=#<SiriProxy::PluginManager:0x1e671b8 @plugins=[...]>>]
[Info - iPhone] Received Object: LoadAssistant
/usr/local/rvm/gems/ruby-1.9.3-p327@SiriProxy/gems/CFPropertyList-2.2.0/lib/rbBinaryCFPropertyList.rb:217:in `encode': "\x8B" on UTF-8 (Encoding::InvalidByteSequenceError)
from /usr/local/rvm/gems/ruby-1.9.3-p327@SiriProxy/gems/CFPropertyList-2.2.0/lib/rbBinaryCFPropertyList.rb:217:in `charset_convert'
from /usr/local/rvm/gems/ruby-1.9.3-p327@SiriProxy/gems/CFPropertyList-2.2.0/lib/rbBinaryCFPropertyList.rb:442:in `string_to_binary'
from /usr/local/rvm/gems/ruby-1.9.3-p327@SiriProxy/gems/CFPropertyList-2.2.0/lib/rbCFTypes.rb:48:in `to_binary'
from /usr/local/rvm/gems/ruby-1.9.3-p327@SiriProxy/gems/CFPropertyList-2.2.0/lib/rbBinaryCFPropertyList.rb:550:in `block in dict_to_binary'
from /usr/local/rvm/gems/ruby-1.9.3-p327@SiriProxy/gems/CFPropertyList-2.2.0/lib/rbBinaryCFPropertyList.rb:550:in `map'
from /usr/local/rvm/gems/ruby-1.9.3-p327@SiriProxy/gems/CFPropertyList-2
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu May 31, 2012 4:10 pm
by DarkTherapy » Mon Dec 17, 2012 5:20 am
You'll notice in my video I'm using an iPhone 5, I also use my wife's iPhone 5 and my iPad 3 with no issues. You can remove the certificate you installed in the phones settings. Try generating new certs and use them. I don't know ruby well enough to work out why yours crashes.
Posts: 69
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 8:14 am
by joefly » Mon Dec 17, 2012 5:47 am
hi, found potentially my issue on github

https://github.com/jimmykane/The-Three- ... issues/389

For now, this should be in siriproxy.gemspec:

s.add_runtime_dependency('CFPropertyList', '2.1.2')

I cannot submit code so cannot change it.


but when I go and edit siriproxy.gemspec to the above and I rerun server, I notice in the error, the reference to CFPropertyList-2.2.0 no matter what the edit. So it leads me to think that the siriproxy.gemspec edit is not getting to the server. Does the siriproxy.gemspec need to be compiled?? I tried siriproxy bundle after editing gemspec and prior to running server, but CFPropertylist -2.2.0

how do i make sure the revised gemspec is incorporated?
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu May 31, 2012 4:10 pm
by DarkTherapy » Mon Dec 17, 2012 5:57 am
You could try a "siriproxy update"
Posts: 69
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 8:14 am
by joefly » Mon Dec 17, 2012 6:34 am
OK Guys, Got it!!

The issue was that maybe I am running the latest siriproxy which has an error as stated in my previous post. I was able to edit the file and correct the error, and afterwards I was able to do "rake install" to get the changes incorporated.!! but I repeated steps 12, 13 before rake install and 14 and on after step 11.

Well, thanks guys, hope this run around will help others in avoiding it. Thanks again to Dark Therapy for your patience and responses.

Goodnight. Earned after a rough weekend with this. Need it to tackle using it to use it to control my home automation!! Thanks guys
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu May 31, 2012 4:10 pm
by mokinys » Mon Dec 17, 2012 10:03 am
@joefly: Can you please provide the exact steps to undertake in order to get the siriproxy to run? I'm having the same problem as you had with 2.2.0 [in `encode': "\xEF" followed by "B" on UTF-8 (Encoding::InvalidByteSequenceError)]
Thank you.
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 9:58 am
by joefly » Mon Dec 17, 2012 4:10 pm
Basically

Nano into siriproxy.gemspec edit the line with CFPaneList to

s.add_runtime_dependency('CFPropertyList', '2.1.2')

Save and exit.

Now I repeated all the commands in the instruction starting with first removing the ~/.siriproxy with $ rm -rf /.siriproxy

Then steps 12,13,11 ..etc

Hope this helps
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu May 31, 2012 4:10 pm
by DarkTherapy » Tue Dec 18, 2012 8:30 am
Does anyone know what protocols the "Sky+" app uses to talk to a Sky+ HD box connected to my router? It would be awesome to have Siri control my Sky+ box.
Posts: 69
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 8:14 am
by jarrah31 » Tue Dec 18, 2012 10:25 am
Hi All,

I've had some difficulty setting this up from a fresh Wheezy build despite following the steps exactly (it couldn't find config.yml when installing and running the siriproxy server as user Pi), so thought I'd summarise the extra steps taken that are a combination of Joefly and DarkTherapy's posts in an easy to follow process so that others don't have the same problems.

- I created a fresh image from the latest 2012-12-16-wheezy-raspbian
- To enable root I typed "sudo passwd root", entered a new pass, and tested by typing su -
- I logged out and connected back in to ssh as root
- I followed these steps as shown in the link http://www.idownloadblog.com/2011/12/09 ... ial-video/
1, 2, 3, 4
- The output of step 4 asks you to add a user to rvm in groups and run a command, so I did the following
- edited /etc/group
- Added root to the end of the rvm line as follows
rvm:x:1001:root
- Ran the command "source /etc/profile.d/rvm.sh"
- I didn't bother with steps 5 and 6 because /root (which is $HOME) had no .rvm folder.
- I then followed these steps
7, 8, 9, 10, 12, 13
- I edited "/root/SiriProxy/siriproxy.gemspec" and changed the line with CFPaneList to (as per Joefly's post - running siriproxy update didn't work for me)
s.add_runtime_dependency('CFPropertyList', '2.1.2')
- Followed steps
11, 14, 15
- For step 16 I just ran "siriproxy server" and all now worked.

Hope this helps others!
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2012 10:16 am
by texy » Tue Dec 18, 2012 10:49 am
DarkTherapy wrote:Does anyone know what protocols the "Sky+" app uses to talk to a Sky+ HD box connected to my router? It would be awesome to have Siri control my Sky+ box.



...but doesn't Sky broadcast the control signals over the satellite 'airwaves' to control recordings, etc? My sky+ box isn't connected to any network yet, I am able to set recordings.
Texy
"2.8inch TFT LCD + Touch screen" add-on boards for sale here :
http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=93&t=65566
50p goes to the Foundation ;-)
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2337
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2012 10:59 am
Location: Berkshire, England
by DarkTherapy » Tue Dec 18, 2012 11:00 am
texy wrote:
DarkTherapy wrote:Does anyone know what protocols the "Sky+" app uses to talk to a Sky+ HD box connected to my router? It would be awesome to have Siri control my Sky+ box.



...but doesn't Sky broadcast the control signals over the satellite 'airwaves' to control recordings, etc? My sky+ box isn't connected to any network yet, I am able to set recordings.
Texy


My sky box is connected to my router and I can use the sky+ app on my iPhone to change channels or fast forward/rewind, access my planner etc these are protocols over my network surely. I may fire up wireshark later and see if I can work it out.
Posts: 69
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 8:14 am
by texy » Tue Dec 18, 2012 11:04 am
Ah OK. Mine sky+ is old SD box. I can set recordings when I am out of the house, but I can't use my iphone as a remote control.
Cheers,
Texy
"2.8inch TFT LCD + Touch screen" add-on boards for sale here :
http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=93&t=65566
50p goes to the Foundation ;-)
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2337
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2012 10:59 am
Location: Berkshire, England
by jamesh » Tue Dec 18, 2012 11:28 am
Soon to be unemployed software engineer currently specialising in camera drivers and frameworks, but can put mind to most embedded tasks. Got a job in N.Cambridge or surroundings? I'm interested!
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 11623
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 7:41 pm
by DarkTherapy » Tue Dec 18, 2012 11:34 am
Yeah I noticed, can't believe it lol
Posts: 69
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 8:14 am
by muhackl » Tue Dec 18, 2012 5:18 pm
Where can I find the circuit layout for the relais?
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 7:11 am
by DarkTherapy » Tue Dec 18, 2012 5:24 pm
Any basic transistor - diode - relay circuit will do, like this for example: http://i.stack.imgur.com/Oarz3.gif
Posts: 69
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 8:14 am
by mikeybot » Wed Dec 19, 2012 5:00 am
I installed SiriProxy right after pptpd (on a clean install of Wheezy). I got the VPN working (traceroute confirms this). However when I try rvmsudo siriproxy server I get this error. I try running it as root, and it says that rvmsudo is not found. I'm not familiar with Ruby at all, so I apologize if this is a simple fix.

Code: Select all
pi@raspberrypi ~/SiriProxy $ rvmsudo siriproxy server
Warning: can not check `/etc/sudoers` for `secure_path`, falling back to call vi
a `/usr/bin/env`, this breaks rules from `/etc/sudoers`. export rvmsudo_secure_p
ath=1 to avoid the warning./usr/bin/env: siriproxy: No such file or directory


Thanks for your help.
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 1:52 pm
by DarkTherapy » Wed Dec 19, 2012 5:04 am
Go back through these posts and you'll notice that I've mentioned that you don't need to use "rvmsudo" to start the server if you are root, just "siriproxy server" inside the SiriProxy folder.
Posts: 69
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 8:14 am
by wranglerdriver » Wed Dec 19, 2012 2:47 pm
DarkTherapy wrote:Image

This is basically all the circuit is, replace the word arduino with raspberry pi lol


It appears that this link no longer works, do you have another link?

Thanks,
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2012 1:31 pm
by DarkTherapy » Wed Dec 19, 2012 4:10 pm
wranglerdriver wrote:
DarkTherapy wrote:Image

This is basically all the circuit is, replace the word arduino with raspberry pi lol


It appears that this link no longer works, do you have another link?

Thanks,

http://i.stack.imgur.com/Oarz3.gif
Posts: 69
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 8:14 am
by yanniks » Wed Dec 19, 2012 7:11 pm
Hi,
I really like your work!
So you just use a Raspberry PI and a relay? We have an older DORMA Tormatic System, is it possible to set that up? Which relay is requied?

Thanks,
Yannik
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2012 7:04 pm