Getting Quake 3 running? Any guidance yet..?


7 posts
by TopherBrink » Fri Apr 27, 2012 11:17 am
I know that Liam has done it, but is there any guidance on how to get Quake 3 compiled and running yet? Do we work from Arch ioquake or the RPi github version, etc? Projects like this really help with incentive to learn how to do things... but some kind of start point is useful to go from. Might even be fun to get a few RPi deathmatches going and the likes.

(I have compiled OpenELEC for the RPi over on Ubuntu 10.04 which worked out fine using their tutorial. Don't know if that's of use as a build environment.)
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2012 10:21 am
by Davespice » Sun Apr 29, 2012 12:18 pm
FYI

http://www.raspberrypi.org/archives/1139

Although have not had sound working yet.
User avatar
Raspberry Pi Foundation Employee & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Foundation Employee & Forum Moderator
Posts: 1438
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 8:06 pm
Location: London, United Kingdom
by Tass » Sun Apr 29, 2012 10:34 pm
Try this out - it was fairly straight-forward in the end, although as Davespice mentioned there's no sound yet

http://myraspberrypiexperience.....ake-3.html
User avatar
Posts: 535
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2012 11:15 am
by abishur » Mon Apr 30, 2012 1:37 am
Tass said:


Try this out - it was fairly straight-forward in the end, although as Davespice mentioned there's no sound yet

http://myraspberrypiexperience.....ake-3.html



No sound?  I wonder if that's true even with the

sudo modprobe snd-bcm2835

command...
Dear forum: Play nice ;-)
User avatar
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 4259
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 4:10 am
Location: USA
by Tass » Mon Apr 30, 2012 8:52 am
Abishur said:

No sound?  I wonder if that's true even with the

sudo modprobe snd-bcm2835

command...


No luck I'm afraid, although I'm not 100% sure what I'm doing here, so might be missing something.  Do I simply need to type that in as is before launching?  I have and it appeared to run successfully, although there was no indication of it doing anything.  What do you mean by command...?

I've tested for sound using both HDMI & the audio jack.
User avatar
Posts: 535
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2012 11:15 am
by Davespice » Mon Apr 30, 2012 9:56 am
Abishur said:


Tass said:


Try this out - it was fairly straight-forward in the end, although as Davespice mentioned there's no sound yet

http://myraspberrypiexperience.....ake-3.html


No sound?  I wonder if that's true even with the

sudo modprobe snd-bcm2835

command...



I can confirm that we get no sound despite the modprobe command.  I can go into ldxe and hear audio via the start/Sound & Video/Music Player - but running Quake 3 immediately after you still get no sound
User avatar
Raspberry Pi Foundation Employee & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Foundation Employee & Forum Moderator
Posts: 1438
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 8:06 pm
Location: London, United Kingdom
by Tass » Tue May 01, 2012 9:16 am
Abishur said:

No sound?  I wonder if that's true even with the

sudo modprobe snd-bcm2835

command...



Abishur - what distro are you running?
User avatar
Posts: 535
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2012 11:15 am