Raspbmc Wireless Networking?


14 posts
by wifiuk » Thu May 31, 2012 6:39 pm
Has anyone managed to get wifi working on raspbmc?
Free photoshop Tutorials - www.howtophotoshop.co.uk
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2012 9:50 pm
by wifiuk » Tue Jun 05, 2012 7:49 pm
230 views and no one got any ideas?
Free photoshop Tutorials - www.howtophotoshop.co.uk
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2012 9:50 pm
by syntax_erorr » Wed Jun 06, 2012 1:01 am
hah
I read that post wrong. No I haven't tried.
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu May 31, 2012 5:27 pm
by jmprnbr1 » Sat Jun 16, 2012 12:40 am
Has anyone had trouble with the longin? I tried the default pi raspberry but no go? Any help would be great. tried is a million time and no luck. Thanks
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 12:38 am
by chrishill88 » Thu Jun 21, 2012 9:34 pm
Hi jmprnbr1,
I had issues finding the login, Username and password both turned out to be "root" on the image I used, then get stuck at the command line. can't get the GUI to load, don't know the command to do it.

jmprnbr1 wrote:Has anyone had trouble with the longin? I tried the default pi raspberry but no go? Any help would be great. tried is a million time and no luck. Thanks
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2012 9:32 pm
Location: England
by Gio » Fri Jun 29, 2012 10:43 am
chrishill88 wrote:Hi jmprnbr1,
I had issues finding the login, Username and password both turned out to be "root" on the image I used, then get stuck at the command line. can't get the GUI to load, don't know the command to do it.

jmprnbr1 wrote:Has anyone had trouble with the longin? I tried the default pi raspberry but no go? Any help would be great. tried is a million time and no luck. Thanks


With RC3 should go straight into XMBC without a login.
If ssh then user is "pi" and password is "raspberry"
User avatar
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 2:28 pm
by af1 » Sun Jul 15, 2012 10:17 am
Yeah, ive been trying to get wifi working for a while, then I could truly use it as a media centre..

Shame im not much of a programmer so don't know much about linux :/
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2012 10:08 am
by MattPoat » Sat Jul 21, 2012 8:19 pm
I am successfully using Raspbmc on a wireless network. Have you got your wireless dongle working or is that what you are having trouble with?

Matthew
"I'm selling these fine leather jackets"
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 9:25 pm
Location: Towcester, Northants
by nigelp » Tue Jul 31, 2012 3:45 pm
I have the same newbie problem getting wifi working.

I have raspbmc up and running all right with a wired connection, but now I want to switch to my Edimax wifi dongle. I know the dongle works fine on another SD card, but I installed that using the script and instructions from MrEngman (viewtopic.php?f=26&t=6256).

Now I'm stuck. :)
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2012 3:34 pm
by MattPoat » Wed Aug 01, 2012 10:29 am
What version of 8192cu.ko are you usin (i.e. where did you download it from?)

Matthew
"I'm selling these fine leather jackets"
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 9:25 pm
Location: Towcester, Northants
by nigelp » Wed Aug 01, 2012 2:09 pm
MattPoat wrote:What version of 8192cu.ko are you usin (i.e. where did you download it from?)

Matthew


I got it from here - http://dl.dropbox.com/u/80256631/8192cu-latest.tar.gz

I think it's dated 19.07.12

Am I supposed to repeat MrEngman's instructions and copy all the files/script/driver to the raspbmc SD Card as I did before, and then run the script, then plug in the wifi dongle?

Sorry for asking basic questions.

Thanks.
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2012 3:34 pm
by MattPoat » Wed Aug 01, 2012 5:59 pm
This was the version I used and got working

Sudo wget http://db.tt/i10Dt561

I listed my instructions on how I got the Edimax dongle working on RaspBMC in the Raspbian forum. PM me if you want any additional help.

Matthew
"I'm selling these fine leather jackets"
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 9:25 pm
Location: Towcester, Northants
by MattPoat » Wed Aug 01, 2012 6:03 pm
Just checked and the kernel you are using doesn't work with RaspBMC, only Raspbian. Use the one I linked to above and you should be up and running.

Matthew
"I'm selling these fine leather jackets"
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 9:25 pm
Location: Towcester, Northants
by wifiuk » Sun Aug 05, 2012 9:52 pm
i have got a powered hub from ebay and then i can run a

Code: Select all
pi@raspbmc:/lib$ sudo lsusb
Bus 001 Device 004: ID 0bda:8172 Realtek Semiconductor Corp. RTL8191SU 802.11n WLAN Adapter
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 0424:ec00 Standard Microsystems Corp.
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 0424:9512 Standard Microsystems Corp.
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub


but cant get it to do anything else
Free photoshop Tutorials - www.howtophotoshop.co.uk
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2012 9:50 pm