Is there a chance to run Fedora Image in VM?


6 posts
by MHI » Tue Jun 12, 2012 6:57 am
The subject tells, what I want to do. Until my RasPi delivers I want to configure the Fedora and make it ready for use, if I get the great piece of Hardware.

Is there any chance to run the image in a VM? If yes, is there a manual how to do this?


Cheers, MHI
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 6:54 am
by itimpi » Tue Jun 12, 2012 9:20 am
No - you can only run in a VM items that are for an x86 type processor. The Pi uses an ARM processor.

The closest you will get is to run something like Qemu (which emulates an ARM processor). That does not require the use of a VM (unless you consider a Qemu a VM system of its own). If you serch the forum you will find lots of threads discussing using Qemu.

It shoudl be possible to run the Fedoar distribution under Qemu although most of the topics I have seen on this have been using the Debian distribution.
Posts: 1027
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 11:44 am
Location: Potters Bar, United Kingdom
by MHI » Tue Jun 12, 2012 9:37 am
Hi!

thanks for this answer! I've heard about qemu and i will try to run it in a vm to run fedora then! ;)
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 6:54 am
by MHI » Thu Jun 14, 2012 7:34 am
So, I've downloaded the qemu for windows, the Kernel and started the fedora-remix image by typing "qemu-system-arm -m 256 -hda raspberrypi-fedora-remix-14-r1.img -localtime -M versatilepb -kernel zImage -cpu arm1176 -append "root=/dev/sda" -serial stdio"
But the boot stucks at mounting root. It terminates with the following error: "No filesystem could mount root, tried: ext2 ext3 ext4 cramfs minix romfs
Kernel panix - not syncing: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknown-blocks(8,0)"

Is there any solution for this Problem? What do I do wrong?


Cheers, MHI
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 6:54 am
by MHI » Thu Jun 14, 2012 8:34 am
I've had to boot at /dev/sda2 so it works but i got an error while initializing network adapter.
Error: "Assertion failed: (ip_addr & htonl(~(0xf << 28))) != 0, file slirp\arp_table.c, line 41"

any suggestions?
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 6:54 am
by MHI » Thu Jun 14, 2012 9:03 am
Sorry for flaming the Thread! :)
But it runs now with additionally parameters "-net user -net nic,model=ne2k_pci"

Thanks and cheers, MHI
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 6:54 am