Fedora 14 Remix - GUI for Python, Perl, Ruby and Bash

8 posts
by jfeeney » Tue Mar 13, 2012 12:15 am
I have a Raspberry PI on order. While I am waiting on it to arrive I have been learning Linux. I am brand new to Linux. I have setup Fedora 16 on an older PC.

I see from the Fedora 14 Remix announcement that the operating system will come with Python, Perl, Ruby and Bash. However, there was no mention of a GUI or front-end for these programming languages. For instances when I installed Fedora 16 on my PC I ended up with Geany as a programming GUI or IDE (not sure the correct term) pre-installed under the programming section.

So I have two questions:

1) Does any know if a GUI will come pre-installed that will be the editor for Python, Perl, Ruby and Bash...or will there be 4 GUI's one for each program... or none? (If something is going to be pre-installed then I would try and load it on my PC machine and start my learning process).

2) Reading through some other forum posts, I was under the impression that QT4 or QTCreator was going to be popular. If this assumption is correct why was it not part of the pre-installed programs?

Thanks, John
by JeremyF » Tue Mar 13, 2012 12:37 am
I don't think any of them will have GUIs for editing... I assume it will be expected that people edit in pico, or vim, or emacs.
{sig} Setup: Original version Raspberry Pi (B, rev1, 256MB), Dell 2001FP monitor (1600x1200), 8GB Class 4 SD Card with Raspbian and XBMC, DD-WRT wireless bridge
by SN » Tue Mar 13, 2012 12:53 am
not seen anything so far in qemu

open terminal and enter "vi helloworld.py" ;-)
Steve N – binatone mk4->intellivision->zx81->spectrum->cbm64->cpc6128->520stfm->pc->raspi ?
by Jim Manley » Tue Mar 13, 2012 1:22 am