Enable ethernet?


9 posts
by JollyRoger » Tue Jun 26, 2012 3:59 pm
I understand from other posts that ethernet may not be enabled by default on the Pi. Can anyone tell me how to enable it in Debian Squeeze?
Posts: 154
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 9:48 am
by grumpyoldgit » Tue Jun 26, 2012 4:00 pm
You have been incorrectly advised. What post are you reading?
User avatar
Posts: 1454
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 12:20 pm
by JollyRoger » Tue Jun 26, 2012 4:24 pm
Posts: 154
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 9:48 am
by itimpi » Tue Jun 26, 2012 4:31 pm
That post is specific to the Fedora Distribution which is currently deprecated.

On all other distributions Ethernet is definitely working out-of-the-box.
Posts: 1035
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 11:44 am
Location: Potters Bar, United Kingdom
by JollyRoger » Tue Jun 26, 2012 4:56 pm
Many thanks for your advice. The reason for my query is that I have been unable to connect to my Pi using a direct connection (network port to network port) from an ancient laptop running Fedora 14 (I've tried both Putty on the laptop and a vnc client). I think the problem lies with my ancient laptop, though it could well be my own ignorance, as I've never done anything like this before.
Posts: 154
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 9:48 am
by jbeale » Tue Jun 26, 2012 5:01 pm
On older hardware you may need something called a "crossover cable", although on newer hardware the ethernet port automatically switches to avoid needing that cable. Not sure if the R-Pi has that function, and an old laptop may not either. Can you connect using a hub?
User avatar
Posts: 2076
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 11:51 pm
by plugwash » Tue Jun 26, 2012 6:20 pm
jbeale wrote:On older hardware you may need something called a "crossover cable"

In my experiance "older" in this context translates to prety much any network adaptor (switches got the auto-MDIX feature much earlier than network adaptors did) that isn't gigabiit.
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2322
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 11:45 pm
by JollyRoger » Tue Jun 26, 2012 6:20 pm
Thanks for the hint. I'll try to get hold of such a cable.
Posts: 154
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 9:48 am
by itimpi » Tue Jun 26, 2012 6:29 pm
You should not need such a cable as the Pi has such a facility built in.

I would expect that the problem is probably that the two ends are not getting compatible IP addresses. When using a direct cable there is no DHCP server, so you may need to assign at least one of them an IP address manually to ensure they finish on the same subnet.
Posts: 1035
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 11:44 am
Location: Potters Bar, United Kingdom