No Signal


30 posts   Page 1 of 2   1, 2
by lobster » Sat Apr 14, 2012 2:21 pm
Raspberry Pi arrived.

Problem 1 - there are two sorts of micro SD and I had the fatter one - wrong

Problem sorted (friend came with 5v 1A supply) and slim micro USB

Problem 2 - No signal on TV

Tried two different HDMI cables, checked they were 1.3 and above, they were

Tried two different SD cards (one with Debian and one with Fedora) still 'no signal' message on TV. Tried RCA cable - no signal.

What to try next?
User avatar
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 6:57 pm
by grumpyoldgit » Sat Apr 14, 2012 2:25 pm
Are any of the lights on the board showing?
User avatar
Posts: 1454
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 12:20 pm
by abishur » Sat Apr 14, 2012 2:42 pm
+1 to the light question, my initial thought is that the PSU isn't working

Side note: On problem 1 you say micro SD, did you mean micro USB?  The fatter one is actually *mini* usb, not *micro* usb

Also is the PSU your friend brought over designed for Apple by any chance? (Idle curiosity) Is there another device that you can plug into the PSU he brought over to see if it's working?
Dear forum: Play nice ;-)
User avatar
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 4298
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 4:10 am
Location: USA
by Chromatix » Sat Apr 14, 2012 4:04 pm
Indeed there should be at least one LED alight on the board if it has power.  That is the first thing to check for.
The key to knowledge is not to rely on people to teach you it.
User avatar
Posts: 430
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 7:00 pm
Location: Helsinki
by toxibunny » Sat Apr 14, 2012 4:44 pm
Put SD card in PC, edit "config.txt" for TV resolution..?
note: I may or may not know what I'm talking about...
Posts: 1142
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 9:21 pm
by lobster » Sat Apr 14, 2012 5:01 pm
red power LED = on

Yes sorry I mean I needed the micro USB

The power supply he brought was from his daughter and was a Blackberry

5v 1A rating -

I was using an Apple USB keyboard but switched to another

. . . all the fruits

Team Puppy are suggesting a change of resolution by editing config.sys too . . .

Team Puppy suggestions

Family may be watching 'the Voice' on BBC and hi jacking the TV (how inconsiderate . . .)
User avatar
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 6:57 pm
by abishur » Sat Apr 14, 2012 5:13 pm
Let us know how the config edit works.

Two more questions:

1) Which distro are you using?

2) Did you DD the .img file over or did you just copy/past the .img onto the SD card?
Dear forum: Play nice ;-)
User avatar
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 4298
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 4:10 am
Location: USA
by liz » Sat Apr 14, 2012 5:16 pm
What exact card model are you using? (Class, size and brand, please - class 4 from a named brand is most reliable.)

If you don't plug it into a TV, insert the card and turn it on, what happens to the LEDs?
--
Head of Comms, Raspberry Pi Foundation
User avatar
Raspberry Pi Foundation Employee & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Foundation Employee & Forum Moderator
Posts: 4110
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 7:22 pm
by abishur » Sat Apr 14, 2012 5:25 pm
Also it was just mentioned on another thread (and I had forgotten about this) but make sure if you're trying to use it with the RCA (composite) video, that the HDMI cable is unplugged.  If the HDMI cable is plugged in, it will not output anything to the RCA port ;-)
Dear forum: Play nice ;-)
User avatar
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 4298
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 4:10 am
Location: USA
by Joe Schmoe » Sat Apr 14, 2012 5:25 pm
Out of curiosity, what is the defined result if you apply power to the RPi board with no SD card in the slot?  I'm assuming (perhaps incorrectly) that you would see something on the screen - some kind of error msg.

So, questions about the SD card, the Linux distro chosen, etc, would seem to be premature.
Never answer the question you are asked. Rather, answer the question you wish you had been asked.

- Robert S. McNamara - quoted in "Fog of War" -
Posts: 2779
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 1:11 pm
by dom » Sat Apr 14, 2012 5:30 pm
No - nothing of the screen without an sdcard.

The bootrom is only a few Kbytes, and it just reads from the sdcard and launches the next stage.
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 4042
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 7:41 pm
Location: Cambridge
by lobster » Sat Apr 14, 2012 5:34 pm
1) Which distro are you using?

I tried Debian and Fedora

2) Did you DD the .img file over or did you just copy/past the .img onto the SD card?

From what I remember I followed the procedure carefully and used DD

Brands - the Debian is unbranded and says class 1
the Fedora is unbranded and has no class (so to speak)



If you don't plug it into a TV, insert the card and turn it on, what happens to the LEDs?

Red power LED goes on

It's me ain't it - I am too stupid to own a Raspberry (the shame of it)

User avatar
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 6:57 pm
by dom » Sat Apr 14, 2012 5:40 pm
With no sdcard, I'd expect just the power led to come on and stay on.

With the sdcard, I'd expect the power led to come on and then the OK led will flicker on and off for tens of seconds. I think it ends up dimly lit. OK is the sdcard activity led.

With the sdcard and network connected, I'd expect the power led to come on and then the OK led will flicker on and off for tens of seconds. The 10M will come on solidly, and the FDX and LNK will be on dimly (flickering with network activity).

This is all without a display attached.

Do you get that behaviour?
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 4042
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 7:41 pm
Location: Cambridge
by Joe Schmoe » Sat Apr 14, 2012 5:43 pm
dom said:  



No – nothing on the screen without an sdcard.

The bootrom is only a few Kbytes, and it just reads from the sdcard and launches the next stage.



Thanks, dom.  That is useful information.
Never answer the question you are asked. Rather, answer the question you wish you had been asked.

- Robert S. McNamara - quoted in "Fog of War" -
Posts: 2779
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 1:11 pm
by liz » Sat Apr 14, 2012 5:51 pm
Lobster said:



Brands - the Debian is unbranded and says class 1
the Fedora is unbranded and has no class (so to speak)


That's almost certainly the problem. There's a list of tested good cards at http://elinux.org/RPi_Verified.....eripherals - I've been using a Sandisk Ultra2 class 4 2GB card.



If you don't plug it into a TV, insert the card and turn it on, what happens to the LEDs?

Red power LED goes on



Yeah - totally sounds like a borked SD card. Try it with a different one and let us know what happens!
--
Head of Comms, Raspberry Pi Foundation
User avatar
Raspberry Pi Foundation Employee & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Foundation Employee & Forum Moderator
Posts: 4110
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 7:22 pm
by lobster » Sat Apr 14, 2012 5:53 pm
size of cards are 4GB for Debian

and 2GB for Fedora
User avatar
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 6:57 pm
by mahjongg » Sun Apr 15, 2012 1:48 am
In all probability (if the OK LED doesn't start to flicker) there probably isn't a valid copy of the distro on the card. Make sure you follow the instructions on how to put the image onto the card using the "DD" utility. Simply copying the image file to the SD-card, or even the unpacked files from the image to the card won't work. Maybe you can get somebody to mail you a know good card.

Also make sure your power supply is good, if you can, measure if (during use) the 5V is between 4.75 and 5.25Volt. (I do not know where you can measure on the board, but perhaps you can measure between the two outer pins of one of the two USB (output) connectors on the board.
User avatar
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 5693
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2012 12:19 am
by lobster » Sun Apr 15, 2012 6:00 am
It doesn't start to flicker guys. I am confident that I followed the installation procedure correctly.

. . . but I will do it again . . . most likely the cards are too low quality for the job.

From what remember I obtained the card from a computer fair or in this case unfair.

Would this SD card from Argos be more suitable

As George Orwell said in 'Animal Farm':

'All memory cards are equal but some are more equal than others '
User avatar
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 6:57 pm
by asb » Sun Apr 15, 2012 7:36 am
Lobster, this is much better (and provided it's the card pictured, we've run shedloads of them on the Pi with no problems). Kingston tend to have *very* low performance for workloads you get with a Linux filesystem (many random writes). You can get SD cards much cheaper online of course.
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 799
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2011 7:16 pm
by lobster » Sun Apr 15, 2012 8:31 am
thanks asb

It is half the price at Amazon
Argos open at 11AM

May have to pay the higher price, just to be a Raspberrian.

The system calls to SD will not be so much of an issue with Puppy Linux as it resides and runs from memory - not from SD or other media. For now need to get Debian running.

Appreciate everyones help.

Pi hungry?

Check this recipe
User avatar
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 6:57 pm
by lobster » Sun Apr 15, 2012 3:41 pm
Success!

Some interesting lessons.
We used a class 4 Verbatim 4Gig SD card from a local games shop and a USB charger from 'Wilkinson'.

We wrote the image using Puppy Linux and failed to boot.

It is possible the SD card needs formatting before writing and this was not in the instructions?

Then we tried writing the image from Windows 7 (an ancient legacy Operating system) but it worked! It worked after we had formatted the SD card from our earlier attempt.

The red LED flicker was faint but there. Plugging the Ethernet cable and we had lights of every colour - it was Christmas all over again . . .

The Squeeze we ran seemed OK but now the job of getting Puppy on it begins - first I need to ensure our Puppy team (basically me and any stray sardines I can interest) will have an easier time of hardware starting.

Raspberry is sweet. Raspberry works.

Signal now on!
User avatar
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 6:57 pm
by mahjongg » Sun Apr 15, 2012 3:47 pm
congratulations!

P.D. Had some raspberry PI ice-cream yesterday in Amsterdam. Very nice, but be aware that it may contain "pips" that are very hard and can stick between your teeth. :-)
User avatar
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 5693
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2012 12:19 am
by rmwebs » Mon Apr 16, 2012 11:09 am
I've just received mine and am having problems.

I've got a recommended 1a USB power supply, and 3 different SD cards.

All had debian written to them on a Mac using the command 'dd bs=1m if=debian6-13-04-2012.img of=/dev/disk6s1' as recommended (/dev/dks6s1 was the partition).

All I get is the red power light, no signal on the screen at all. Tried with the following (branded) SD cards:

- PNY 4GB Class 4

- Lexar 8GB Class 8

- Sandisk 8GB Class 4 (MicroSD w/adaptor)

Not looking good :(
Posts: 197
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 11:30 pm
by rmwebs » Mon Apr 16, 2012 11:12 am
Just had a thought. I was doing the dd to /dev/disk6s1 (as that was the disk that was showing up in df -h for the SD card.

I'll try doing it to /dev/disk6 as surely that will be the 'root' of the SD card instead of its partition.
Posts: 197
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 11:30 pm
by Joe Schmoe » Mon Apr 16, 2012 11:29 am
Correct.  It has to be /dev/disk6 - as that represents the "raw" disk, not a partition on that disk.

Also, make sure it is unmounted - I used: hdiutil unmount /dev/disk6
Never answer the question you are asked. Rather, answer the question you wish you had been asked.

- Robert S. McNamara - quoted in "Fog of War" -
Posts: 2779
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 1:11 pm