ARM Assembly / Operating System

Drop in for a chat and a cup of tea

49 posts   Page 1 of 2   1, 2
by goakley » Mon Mar 05, 2012 6:40 pm
I was thinking of developing an operating system from scratch for the Raspberry Pi for educational purposes.  However, I have never worked with the ARM architecture before.  Can anyone point me to some development tools to help me get started?  Google is being unhelpful to me.
by johnbeetem » Mon Mar 05, 2012 8:00 pm
There's a good introduction to ARM at Wikipedia.

For official ARM documentation: http://infocenter.arm.com/help/index.jsp

At some point you'll want to get the ARM Architectural Reference Manual (the "ARM ARM").  You need to register as a customer to download it.  You'll want the ARMv7-AR version, which covers RasPi's ARMv6.

For compiling, you'll probably want GCC: http://www.gnu.org/software/gcc/

This page includes links to documentation.

If you want to cross-compile for ARM using a PC, this page (mostly for the BeagleBoard) is useful: http://www.elinux.org/ARMCompilers
by David_H » Fri Mar 09, 2012 11:10 am
goakley said:

I was thinking of developing an operating system from scratch for the Raspberry Pi for educational purposes.  However, I have never worked with the ARM architecture before.  Can anyone point me to some development tools to help me get started?  Google is being unhelpful to me.

That is a very good way to learn… May I respectfully suggest you consider learning Forth as a means to achieving knowledge of OS's "from scratch"….

We are talking about "Bare Metal" programming here and it's the best way to learn…

I am looking at developing a Forth for the ARM with a view to implementing "Smart Objects"…. See http://www.smartobjects.co.uk/  The RPI seems to be an ideal platform for this (along with others). I have already written a Forth Object Request Broker for my MSc dissertation…
by winwaed » Fri Mar 09, 2012 4:03 pm