Time Lapse - open ended

7 posts
by Brew » Tue Aug 06, 2013 7:24 am
Hi there, I have a project I'd like to do where I take time lapse for a period of time then switch to video then back to time lapse.

There are a fair few tutorials on scripting for X time take Y pictures.
Here's a great example from Andrew Mulholland https://github.com/gbaman/RaspberryPi-Camera/blob/master/Timelapse/Timelapse.py
However I'd like to try and create a python scrip that once initiated it would take keep taking pictures until stopped, I can then initiate the video then revert to running the still images.

I would also like to have the pictures named "images DDMMYY TIME.jpg" Can anyone give me any pointers on how to achieve this?
Cheers
Brew
by kaos » Tue Aug 06, 2013 9:25 pm
I've just been doing something similar as a part of my project. I'm a Python noob myself, so you may know all about the following already, but in case it's of use:

To execute raspistill and raspivid (and indeed pretty much any linux command) you can use the subprocess.call command. You will have to start with
Code: Select all
import subprocess
to have access to it. Here is a sample raspivid command from my script:
subprocess.call(["raspivid","-t",str(vidtime*1000),"-b",str(vidrate*1000000)]+vidparams+["-o","temp.h264"])
Note how the elements of the command are defined as individual strings, which are enclosed is square brackets to form a python list. Also note how the vidparams variable is inserted into the list. This is because vidparams is itself a list which I can use to insert additional parameters for raspivid. There is another way of using subprocess.call, where the whole command, including parameters, is defined as a single string, but that is, I understand, deprecated.
To get the current date and time for filename purposes, you can use the time.time() function, and datetime.datetime.fromtimestamp().strftime() function to convert it to a standard text representation. You will have to
import time