OBD-II STN1110

32 posts   Page 1 of 2   1, 2
by oxo » Wed Jun 20, 2012 8:51 am
Hej
http://www.obdsol.com/stn1110 is an IC that can interface to an OBD-II connector in yr car and also to a raspberry pi

I received 2 dip's from obdsol.
If someone in EU can show progress in using them, I can send one.

My own site for my project is http://owen.brotherwood.biz/bilberry-rasp

The STN1110 will be build as a daughterboard on the pi...
by oxo » Tue Jul 03, 2012 5:06 pm
The spare STN1100 has found a productive new owner in the north east of england
- on it's way from denmark soon
by TonyD » Wed Jul 04, 2012 12:37 pm
Thanks oxo.

I'm looking forward to building a OBD interface for the RPi. :-)
Tony
by Wolfram23 » Fri Jul 20, 2012 7:03 pm
Hi, newbie here. What is the point of this/these chips? Why not interface with the standard OBDII output? Would you not simply require a software that can read the data? I've seen many adapters (even DIY instructions) on making the ECU/OBDII plug to a USB.

I tried some googling but nothing was really explaining what the benefit of the STN1110 is.
by jan77 » Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:39 pm
Hmm. That's right, what do you think is the benefit of OBD? I mean, on board diagnosis is only possible if line 15 (key) is switched *off*. At 15=on you'll only receive some useless "standard" information.
The only interestening point would be to build a diagnosis interface, but such are cheap to get, so why do you want to build smth. like that?

You cannot get *any* CAN message via OBD, and even if you connect a CAN gateway or use similar interfaces, you can't decode these messages without a DBC for this specific car/platform (can data bases) which are the holy secret of every automotive company ;)

However, i'm interested in your project - so what do you wanna build?
by Wolfram23 » Fri Jul 20, 2012 10:40 pm
I'm imagining having pretty much all the readings availalbe, like Air-fuel ratio, MAP, temps, pressures, whatever. Something like this, I guess: