Vehicle OBD-II interface (NOT CAN BUS)

9 posts
by monkey_beast » Fri Apr 20, 2012 4:07 pm
Hi guys,

I've been mulling over using the Pi as a data logging solution for recording OBD-II data and GPS data to overlay on Video information. I have a track car, and have been looking at Data Logging units and the prices are astronomical.

The car is relativly old, so it does not have CAN BUS for its ECU, but instead uses the older OBD-II standard. I'm trying to figure out whether using the GPIO on the Pi will be better/easier than using the standard USB type connections. I know there is software out there for Linux that will allow me to log the data, so using that sort of thing, allong with some nice Push-button tactile switched, coupled with a couple of LEDs would allow me to have a light-weight, stand-alone system, which I can leave in the car at all times, and just whip out the SD card with my data on for analysis.

I'm new to this whole thing, so any advice is greatly appreciated.

Ads
by southpaw » Fri Apr 20, 2012 5:52 pm
not pi related but a small cheap bluetooth obd2 connector

http://www.dealextreme.com/p/o.....825?item=8 works superbly with an android phone running the torque app

sure the obd can speak to the pi with a simple bluetooth usb dongle , whether the android app torque can be used on the pi is another question, or maybe some other software can be utilised for pi
by ferik » Sat Jun 23, 2012 5:46 pm
I have a similar Bluetooth OBD-II module. I wonder what I'd need to do to make it work with the RPI. It's annoying to prototype with the car nearby running but I'll try it out.
by zardoz99 » Sat Jun 23, 2012 9:13 pm
Why don't you contact the author of Torque and ask for his input?
From what I understand, he is approachable...

Z.
by l3ndx » Fri Jun 29, 2012 5:46 pm
R-pi would be a great carputer with:
- OBDII system
- GPS module
- Dash and rear camera with cycle recording
by ferik » Fri Jun 29, 2012 10:50 pm
Isn't this where an Arduino would be better?