Irrigation Controller

16 posts
by Gru » Tue Jun 26, 2012 1:58 pm
I just got my first Raspberry Pi yesterday, and am eager to start learning with it. I have been using both Debian and Ubuntu Linux for about 10 years already, but am by no means a power-user of Linux. I can get a system up and running, and do some basic things, but I have a lot of room to grow.

One project I have in mind that I really want to learn how to do is put together a controller for my home sprinkler system. The off-the-shelf controller I have is very basic. It will let me set up three programs to run my nine zones, and has a rain sensor that will stop the system from running if it has rained recently.

So far the ideas I have for my system include:
*Unlimited programs. I need one basic program to run the sprinklers every even-numbered day of the month from June to early October. However, I'd like the ability to easily add programs that can either be finite or indefinite. For example, if I put down seed or sod in one zone to repair a patch of dead grass, I'd like to set up a program to water that zone two or three times per day for a few weeks and then stop.
* Web control On my programming education to-do list is to learn to make Android - and then iOS - apps. Apps aren't necessarily a must for this project, but it would be nice to at least be able to create a mobile-ready web page to control my system. I'd like to be able to walk around the yard with my phone and turn zones on and off manually. This is especially useful in the spring when starting up the system (to check for broken sprinkler heads) and in the fall when blowing the system out for winter. It might also be nice to run it remotely too. I'm not sure why I'd want to start my system up from three states away, but if I come up with a good reason when I'm there, it would be nice to be able to.