Where to start

6 posts
by Miksture » Tue Jun 26, 2012 6:13 am
Hi,

I have been a software developer for many years, even some of them working in unix and xenix (old). One thing I have done only a little on is low-level programming for devices. I did some work talking to serial cash registers using a possum board in the 1980's and some using rs-232 to talk to light switching and solenoid devices around the same time. Now that my son and I have a raspi we are wanting to try a few things out.

• What advice do you have for someone new to using a computer to control devices?
  • How hard is it to operate low current relay styled switches for example to operate a solenoid?
  • I realise that raspi sends digital signals out of the GPIO pins but is that enough to trigger something like this? Eg hold a relay open for 0.1-0.5 seconds?
  • Also, how do boards like the MaKey MaKey work as a way to sense events for a raspi? I believe the MaKey MaKey converts a contact to a key stroke. It can apparently act to operate motors etc. Exttract from their site http://www.makeymakey.com/:

You could say this board is 2 in 1. MaKey MaKey runs on top of Arduino. You can start using your MaKey MaKey board in "Arduino mode" at any time. This would allow you to spin motors, turn on LEDs, or anything else that an Arduino can do. If you want to learn to use Arduino or other electronics, but want to start without any programming or breadboarding, MaKey MaKey is a good starting point. There's no need to understand Arduino in order to use MaKey MaKey.
  • Is Arduino something that is commonly used? Can raspi use it?

Any pointers are appreciated.
by Ravenous » Tue Jun 26, 2012 8:56 am
Have a look at the glockenspiel-thing on the News page at the moment - that has some interfacing details for his buffer board.