Mail Server - Citadel

20 posts
by ghostfacesuk » Sat Jul 28, 2012 3:09 pm
Hello all,

This is my first post here! :D

So I bought myself a RPi just to play around with. Then after a few days of mucking around in Debian I decided to jump into the deep end...

So I read guide for setting up a mail server...
http://ducky-pond.com/posts/9/

And decided to give it a go, the guide is very clear which was great for me so I am still a novice and was able to install and run Citadel (access Citadels webpage over network).

Then I read this guide to get the spam filter running...
http://postfixmail.com/blog/index.php/easy-mail-groupware-with-citadel/

Again pretty straight forward, however I had to use Vi to mod some stuff which wasn't so too bad.

Now this is where I hit a wall. After looking at all the options I didnt realise how much I had to consider when it come to setting up a mail server.

The plan
I wanted to setup mu RPi at home running 24/7 as a mail server. I know I do not have a static IP address so I was going to use something like DynDNS. Then I was going to purchase a domain name just for an email account and have it pointing to the DynDNS address.

The Problem
I don't fully understand what is required to get my server configured correctly (domain names, MX records, whats services to use, how to set it up).

So I would like to know if anyone has done something similar as I don't want to pay for a DynDNS service and pay for a domain name and not be able to use it as I intended.

Maybe you know a better way for me to do this? Also if anyone has used Citadel I would welcome some pointers when it comes to configuring the system.

Any feedback and information is always welcome. Thank you for your time and I look forward to your replies!
by benthepoet » Sat Jul 28, 2012 8:38 pm