OpenELEC Testbuilds


766 posts   Page 12 of 31   1 ... 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 ... 31
by DavePS » Tue Jun 19, 2012 8:09 am
On build 11329 using default Confluence lite skin, viewing videos in FanArt view. Having issue with the infopanel not appearing, it has previously when I had XBMC scrape movie info, however I have now moved to having the fanart, poster and nfo held with the movie in its own directory on the NAS drive shared over samba.

Fanart & posters appear just fine, if I press i for info, all the info is showing in the information window, but in a previous build as you select each movie on the carousel view, a little info panel appeared over the top of the carousel giving the info on the film.

Is it because I am now using nfo files rather than having XBMC itself scrape the data i'm having this issue? Anything I can do to get it working again?

I have tried checking and unchecking the show movie info in the left hand side options screen.
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 8:01 am
by dom » Tue Jun 19, 2012 11:00 am
mactalla wrote:Is there any way to force this?

I have HDMI connected to the TV and then toslink from TV to speakers. The speakers are capable of AC3 and DTS and the TV offers digital passthrough. On earlier builds I could get an AC3 signal and a DTS signal directly to the speakers (different streams, obviously). But now DTS is not sent and according to tvservice -a DTS is not listed. So now I understand why it's downmixing, but I also know that it's possible for my setup and I don't want it to be so 'smart' since my speakers have no way to communicate back to the TV/raspi that it is able to handle it.

Try this:
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/3669512/temp/start.elf

with "hdmi_force_edid_audio=1" in config.txt and let me know if that works.
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 4036
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 7:41 pm
Location: Cambridge
by Nodge » Tue Jun 19, 2012 12:02 pm
gimli wrote:
Nodge wrote:I still have problems with artwork for TV Series. I tried r11320 yesterday and it is still there. Basically, straight after setting the content and scraping the TV Database everything looks ok when you first go to TV Series on the main menu. But then if you go through the various view options (List, Thumbnails, Wide Icons etc) then things get corrupted. I've attached some screenshots to show what happens. Sorry about the poor quality pics but hopefully you can see what is happening. In Pic 4 & 5 you can see that the orientation of some of the banners has rotated through 90 degrees and they have got corrupted.


xbmc log with debug turned on please.


Trying to find the xbmc log but being a complete noob not sure how. I've downloaded Putty and got into the pi but not sure where xbmc.log is located. This is my session so far after logging in as root ..

root ~ # ls
lost+found music pictures screenshots tvshows videos
root ~ # cd /
root / # ls
bin etc lib opt run sd sys usr
dev flash media proc sbin storage tmp var
root / #

Where do I go from here?
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 10:18 am
by marb » Tue Jun 19, 2012 12:39 pm
After initial struggles with different distros, sdcards and wifi setup I settled down with OpenELEC. Essential stuff works (playing videos over smb, menu speed are almost ok, wifi works), but I have several minor issues.

1. Some thumbnails, posters and fanart images are scrambled (known issue)

2. With sound over hdmi, when I end playing any video, there is short looped sound coming from the speakers (tut tut tut tut tut tut tut... and so on).

3. I wanted to change aspect ratio on my older 4:3 videos (zoom or stretch), but it doesn't work. When I changed pixel aspect ratio manually in custom preset xbmc just displayed black bars over the video without changing it's actual aspect ratio. The black bars are also covering subtitles and osd.

4. Youtube addon doesn't work for me. RPi just hangs when addon initialize streaming. Vimeo or other addons are streaming fine.
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 11:33 am
by milhouse » Tue Jun 19, 2012 12:52 pm
Nodge wrote:Where do I go from here?


It's in the folder /storage/.xbmc/temp (relative to your home folder, /storage), and is called xbmc.log.

What you should do is run "paste /storage/.xbmc/temp/xbmc.log" at the command line, which will send the content of the log file to the pastebin web service. In return you'll get a short URL which you should paste into this thread so that sraue can view your entire log.
Posts: 555
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 12:59 pm
by phew » Tue Jun 19, 2012 1:53 pm
dom wrote:
mactalla wrote:Is there any way to force this?

I have HDMI connected to the TV and then toslink from TV to speakers. The speakers are capable of AC3 and DTS and the TV offers digital passthrough. On earlier builds I could get an AC3 signal and a DTS signal directly to the speakers (different streams, obviously). But now DTS is not sent and according to tvservice -a DTS is not listed. So now I understand why it's downmixing, but I also know that it's possible for my setup and I don't want it to be so 'smart' since my speakers have no way to communicate back to the TV/raspi that it is able to handle it.

Try this:
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/3669512/temp/start.elf

with "hdmi_force_edid_audio=1" in config.txt and let me know if that works.


@DOM
I have the same setup.

I have tried this file and added the setting in config.txt (created with windows a config.txt and placed it in the root). My receiver does recognize the DTS stream now, that's great! However, I don't hear any sound. Without the config file my receiver/ tv/ rpi still converts it at as a PCM stream.

Halfway there ;-)
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2012 8:42 pm
by Nodge » Tue Jun 19, 2012 3:47 pm
milhouse wrote:
Nodge wrote:Where do I go from here?


It's in the folder /storage/.xbmc/temp (relative to your home folder, /storage), and is called xbmc.log.

What you should do is run "paste /storage/.xbmc/temp/xbmc.log" at the command line, which will send the content of the log file to the pastebin web service. In return you'll get a short URL which you should paste into this thread so that sraue can view your entire log.


Thanks milhouse. I tried that but got an error. Don't know if it's me or a problem with the server somewhere. I managed to change directories and I can see the log file but I don't know how to view it or to move it somewhere that I have access to in Windows. Is there like a print to screen command that will list the file so I can copy and paste it?

Here's a copy of my putty session ...


root ~ # paste /storage/.xbmc/temp/xbmc.log
Unable to read or parse the result page, it could be a server timeout or a change server side, try with another pastebin.
root ~ # cd /
root / # paste /storage/.xbmc/temp/xbmc.log
Unable to read or parse the result page, it could be a server timeout or a change server side, try with another pastebin.
root / #
root / # cd storage/.xbmc/temp
root ~/.xbmc/temp # ls
scrapers temp vdb-1520df90.fi xbmc.log
root ~/.xbmc/temp # cd //
root / # paste /storage/.xbmc/temp/xbmc.log
Unable to read or parse the result page, it could be a server timeout or a change server side, try with another pastebin.
root / #
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 10:18 am
by dom » Tue Jun 19, 2012 3:50 pm
@phew
has audio passthough ever worked on Pi?
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 4036
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 7:41 pm
Location: Cambridge
by milhouse » Tue Jun 19, 2012 4:03 pm
Nodge wrote:Here's a copy of my putty session ...


Looks like your Raspberry Pi can't connect to the internet, which is strange as you say you're scraping media (unless you're scraping from local sources only?)

Can you try "ping 8.8.8.8" and paste the results? This should confirm you have internet connectivity or not (8.8.8.8 is a Google server - hit ctrl-c to stop it after a few responses have appeared, if they appear...)

Without internet connectivity, the only other option will be to copy the xbmc.log file manually to pastebin.com (or attach here, if it's not too big). One way to get easy access to the log file would be to do this:

Code: Select all
cp /storage/.xbmc/temp/xbmc.log /storage/logfiles


then you can access the xbmc.log file via the "Logfiles" Samba share on your Windows PC.
Posts: 555
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 12:59 pm
by mactalla » Tue Jun 19, 2012 5:33 pm
dom wrote:
mactalla wrote:Is there any way to force this?

I have HDMI connected to the TV and then toslink from TV to speakers. The speakers are capable of AC3 and DTS and the TV offers digital passthrough. On earlier builds I could get an AC3 signal and a DTS signal directly to the speakers (different streams, obviously). But now DTS is not sent and according to tvservice -a DTS is not listed. So now I understand why it's downmixing, but I also know that it's possible for my setup and I don't want it to be so 'smart' since my speakers have no way to communicate back to the TV/raspi that it is able to handle it.

Try this:
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/3669512/temp/start.elf

with "hdmi_force_edid_audio=1" in config.txt and let me know if that works.


Works great for my setup, thanks!

I'll close the bug on github.
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 6:25 pm
by Nodge » Tue Jun 19, 2012 5:59 pm
milhouse wrote:Can you try "ping 8.8.8.8" and paste the results? This should confirm you have internet connectivity or not (8.8.8.8 is a Google server - hit ctrl-c to stop it after a few responses have appeared, if they appear...)


Still no joy I'm afraid ...


root ~ # ping 8.8.8.8
PING 8.8.8.8 (8.8.8.8): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: seq=0 ttl=53 time=44.112 ms
64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: seq=1 ttl=53 time=48.152 ms
64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: seq=2 ttl=52 time=60.726 ms
64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: seq=3 ttl=53 time=59.657 ms
64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: seq=4 ttl=53 time=73.698 ms
^C
--- 8.8.8.8 ping statistics ---
5 packets transmitted, 5 packets received, 0% packet loss
round-trip min/avg/max = 44.112/57.269/73.698 ms
root ~ # paste /storage/.xbmc/temp/xbmc.log
Unable to read or parse the result page, it could be a server timeout or a change server side, try with another pastebin.
root ~ # cd /
root / # paste /storage/.xbmc/temp/xbmc.log
Unable to read or parse the result page, it could be a server timeout or a change server side, try with another pastebin.
root / #

Think I'll have to leave it to someone who knows what they're doing.

All thumbnails etc were obtained online from the TV Database.
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 10:18 am
by marb » Tue Jun 19, 2012 6:12 pm
@Nodge

You can always read file with cat and then copy/paste displayed text from putty.

Code: Select all
cat /storage/.xbmc/temp/xbmc.log
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 11:33 am
by phew » Tue Jun 19, 2012 6:22 pm
dom wrote:@phew
has audio passthough ever worked on Pi?


Hi Dom,

For me? Yes! Dolby Digital works perfect.

I haven't tried an older build below 11 series. So DTS did'nt work for me yet.

However, i do have an old popcorn hour which connects on the same way. DTS works perfectly there.
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2012 8:42 pm
by Nodge » Tue Jun 19, 2012 6:25 pm
Further to my last post, I found a little prog called WinSCP which is a bit more my thing. Got me access to the log file anyway. It's too big to post here but I've placed it here if it helps ...

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/2903701/logfiles

Just to re-state, the logfile relates to the corruption of banners and other art for TV Series.
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 10:18 am
by DavePS » Tue Jun 19, 2012 6:31 pm
OK I got it working by picking 'Stack' from the miscellaneous options. Anyone know why this controls the info pane as well?

DavePS wrote:On build 11329 using default Confluence lite skin, viewing videos in FanArt view. Having issue with the infopanel not appearing, it has previously when I had XBMC scrape movie info, however I have now moved to having the fanart, poster and nfo held with the movie in its own directory on the NAS drive shared over samba.

Fanart & posters appear just fine, if I press i for info, all the info is showing in the information window, but in a previous build as you select each movie on the carousel view, a little info panel appeared over the top of the carousel giving the info on the film.

Is it because I am now using nfo files rather than having XBMC itself scrape the data i'm having this issue? Anything I can do to get it working again?

I have tried checking and unchecking the show movie info in the left hand side options screen.
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 8:01 am
by sparky0815 » Thu Jun 21, 2012 6:17 am
r11371 images ready to download (2GB / 4GB / FAT-Files)

http://sparky0815.de

:geek:
Twitter: @Sparky0815
Facebook Gruppe (RaspberryPi - Deutschland): http://on.fb.me/PnYE99
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
User avatar
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 64
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 4:52 pm
Location: Germany
by gimli » Thu Jun 21, 2012 10:40 am
Nodge wrote:Further to my last post, I found a little prog called WinSCP which is a bit more my thing. Got me access to the log file anyway. It's too big to post here but I've placed it here if it helps ...

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/2903701/logfiles

Just to re-state, the logfile relates to the corruption of banners and other art for TV Series.


Thx
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2012 6:29 am
by dom » Thu Jun 21, 2012 1:19 pm
Nodge wrote:Further to my last post, I found a little prog called WinSCP which is a bit more my thing. Got me access to the log file anyway. It's too big to post here but I've placed it here if it helps ...

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/2903701/logfiles

Just to re-state, the logfile relates to the corruption of banners and other art for TV Series.


Does the corruption correspond to the rotates images ? (i.e. the images with "orientation 1")

Code: Select all
17:16:22 T:1187914848   DEBUG: Caching image 'http://mirrors.xbmc.org/addons/eden/metadata.themoviedb.org/icon.png' at 910x512 with orientation 0 as 'a/a36a1197.jpg'
17:17:39 T:1187914848   DEBUG: Caching image 'http://thetvdb.com/banners/fanart/original/82283-8.jpg' at 910x512 with orientation 0 as '4/4d32b262.jpg'
17:18:17 T:1187914848   DEBUG: Caching image 'http://thetvdb.com/banners/graphical/82283-g2.jpg' at 910x512 with orientation 0 as '8/8c3c64c7.jpg'
17:18:29 T:1223697504   DEBUG: Caching image 'http://thetvdb.com/banners/actors/77312.jpg' at 910x512 with orientation 0 as '2/25790af8.jpg'
17:18:41 T:1187914848   DEBUG: Caching image 'http://thetvdb.com/banners/actors/77305.jpg' at 910x512 with orientation 0 as 'c/c5b22c94.jpg'
17:19:05 T:1223697504   DEBUG: Caching image 'http://thetvdb.com/banners/actors/81490.jpg' at 910x512 with orientation 1 as '0/02801380.jpg'
17:19:16 T:1187914848   DEBUG: Caching image 'http://thetvdb.com/banners/actors/78615.jpg' at 910x512 with orientation 0 as 'f/fa7922f1.jpg'
17:19:28 T:1223697504   DEBUG: Caching image 'http://thetvdb.com/banners/actors/77307.jpg' at 910x512 with orientation 0 as '5/57a8e38e.jpg'
17:19:40 T:1187914848   DEBUG: Caching image 'http://thetvdb.com/banners/actors/77306.jpg' at 910x512 with orientation 1 as '1/1ea58403.jpg'
17:19:41 T:1223697504   DEBUG: Caching image 'http://thetvdb.com/banners/actors/218841.jpg' at 910x512 with orientation 0 as '1/17710550.jpg'
17:19:44 T:1187914848   DEBUG: Caching image 'http://thetvdb.com/banners/actors/102471.jpg' at 910x512 with orientation 1 as '6/6413e71f.jpg'
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 4036
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 7:41 pm
Location: Cambridge
by milhouse » Thu Jun 21, 2012 2:17 pm
dom wrote:
Nodge wrote:Does the corruption correspond to the rotates images ? (i.e. the images with "orientation 1")


dom, you might be on to something - for instance, as the movie set collection thumb for Harry Potter I had been using the second poster (see here - at the time it was the best available) with dimensions 1535x2175 and this is cached with orientation 1 and almost always ends up scrambled. I've recently gone through my entire library and diligently found thumbnails with 1000x1500 dimensions and this has almost eliminated scrambling (though I do get a lot of blank thumbnails when first caching images, but I think that's another error).
Posts: 555
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 12:59 pm
by milhouse » Thu Jun 21, 2012 4:10 pm
Yes, it's definitely these "orientation 1" images that are being scrambled - they are displayed correctly the first time (on first display upon conversion), but obviously what is being written to the SD card is scrambled and when it's read back (upon second viewing) it then appears as a scrambled image.

It's not obvious why it thinks some images are "orientation 1" while others are "orientation 0" - I've had it determine that perfectly normal 1000 wide by 1500 high images should be converted with orientation 1, and these images are then stored in scrambled form. All of my other 1000x1500 images are converted with orientation 0 and not scrambled.
Posts: 555
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 12:59 pm
by gimli » Thu Jun 21, 2012 6:24 pm
milhouse wrote:Yes, it's definitely these "orientation 1" images that are being scrambled - they are displayed correctly the first time (on first display upon conversion), but obviously what is being written to the SD card is scrambled and when it's read back (upon second viewing) it then appears as a scrambled image.

It's not obvious why it thinks some images are "orientation 1" while others are "orientation 0" - I've had it determine that perfectly normal 1000 wide by 1500 high images should be converted with orientation 1, and these images are then stored in scrambled form. All of my other 1000x1500 images are converted with orientation 0 and not scrambled.


Fixed and pushed. Bad thing, you must recreate your Thubmnails.
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2012 6:29 am
by solardust » Thu Jun 21, 2012 6:51 pm
What is current status of wifi support, specifically for RTL8188CUS? There's already https://github.com/OpenELEC/OpenELEC.tv/issues/793 open but hasn't been updated recently.
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2012 6:25 pm
by milhouse » Thu Jun 21, 2012 11:54 pm
gimli wrote:Fixed and pushed.


Thanks gimli & dom!

gimli wrote:Bad thing, you must recreate your Thubmnails.


No big deal, I'm used to that by now! :)

Looking forward to when your fix lands in OpenELEC! :)
Posts: 555
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 12:59 pm
by mactalla » Fri Jun 22, 2012 12:29 am
milhouse wrote:
gimli wrote:Fixed and pushed.

Thanks gimli & dom!

Agreed! Wonderful news!

milhouse wrote:
gimli wrote:Bad thing, you must recreate your Thubmnails.

No big deal, I'm used to that by now! :)


What's the proper way of doing that? Just delete the directory?

@milhouse: I didn't even realize you put links in your msg until I saw it in the reply.
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 6:25 pm
by milhouse » Fri Jun 22, 2012 12:33 am
mactalla wrote:What's the proper way of doing that? Just delete the directory?


This is what I do (ssh as root):

Code: Select all
cd .xbmc/userdata
rm -fr Database/Textures13.db Thumbnails
sync
reboot


Unfortunately there's only two ways to repopulate thumbnails:

1) browse laboriously through your already scanned video media and wait for the Pi to re-cache the cover and fan art, or
2) delete the video database (in addition to the files/folders above) and then update your media library (so that it re-scrapes everything)*

It would be nice if there was a simple method to re-cache images without having to re-scrape the entire library - maybe this will come with future video/database enhancements.

*If you're using MySQL, one method without losing your entire library is to add a <name> tag to advancedsettings.xml, rescrape your library (so that it re-caches all images and writes the new metadata to the <name>'d database) then remove the <name> tag and revert back to your original database/library but retain the now cached images.

mactalla wrote:@milhouse: I didn't even realize you put links in your msg until I saw it in the reply.


Switch to the prosilver style in User Control Panel -> Board Preferences - unfortunately the default style obscures links (amongst other things).
Posts: 555
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 12:59 pm