SqueezePlug Version 5 ready for download


488 posts   Page 7 of 20   1 ... 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 ... 20
by cubii » Mon Nov 05, 2012 8:05 pm
hi truehl,
Thanks for excellent work!
Crashplan now works, but it seems the autostart of the crasplan service is not working, but i will test this further.

Also LSm shows me everytime the login screen but has my music indexed and can be controlled through android apps...

I am also writing a small howto for squeezeplug on the raspi, perhaps you can include it into your wiki? Just give me your email (or give me an account of your wiki) and i send it to you and you can use it /change it like you want, perhaps it saves you some time...
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 6:54 pm
by m4rky » Tue Nov 06, 2012 4:04 pm
Hi,
has anyone tried SqueezePlug with LMS running on a VortexBox?

I am interested in getting SqueezePlug working on r-pi but I have all my CDs ripped to FLAC on a VortexBox. VortexBox 2.1 uses Logitech Media Server 7.7.2. Will this work?

Thanks
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 8:57 pm
by cubii » Tue Nov 06, 2012 4:13 pm
If you want to use squeezeplayer or squeezelight this should work without problems (raspi as a logitech squeezebox)
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 6:54 pm
by m4rky » Tue Nov 06, 2012 4:39 pm
Thanks for the reply.

So was Squeezeplug designed to be a Logitech media server rather than a player?

I also want to be able to control my SqueezePlug r-pi device with an iPhone/iPad app is this possible?
Also are there any recommended USB WiFi adapters and USB-DACS?

The intention is to create a high quality audio device like a SONOS or SqueezeBox but for much less.
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 8:57 pm
by cubii » Tue Nov 06, 2012 8:49 pm
squeezeplug can be both, player and server even at the same time...
Usb-dac and wifi adapters are mentioned in this thread, just read some pages befor. I us network cable and hdmi output.
Controll is easy with iphone / android etc...
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 6:54 pm
by truehl » Wed Nov 07, 2012 7:17 am
m4rky wrote:Also are there any recommended USB WiFi adapters

My recommended sticks are:
- Netgear TL-WN321G
- EDIMAX EW-7811UN Wireless USB Adapter, 150 Mbit/s, IEEE802.11b/g/n
- BIGtec 150Mbit nano USB WLAN Stick Adapter

They all work with the newest patch 5.03 out of the boxing without external power from a hub. I have 4 more working sticks, but they need additional power!
truehl
http://www.squeezeplug.de
User avatar
Posts: 619
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2012 6:47 pm
by mikebainbridge » Wed Nov 07, 2012 9:57 am
Just confirming that Triode's Spotify plugin does NOT work in 5.03 - Squeezelite works fine after a manual startup in /usr/bin through HDMI using the default output

Code: Select all
/usr/bin/squeezelite -o systemdefault:CARD=ALSA [<your LMS's IP address>]
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 5:20 pm
by m4rky » Wed Nov 07, 2012 1:38 pm
truehl wrote:My recommended sticks are:
- Netgear TL-WN321G
- EDIMAX EW-7811UN Wireless USB Adapter, 150 Mbit/s, IEEE802.11b/g/n
- BIGtec 150Mbit nano USB WLAN Stick Adapter

They all work with the newest patch 5.03 out of the boxing without external power from a hub. I have 4 more working sticks, but they need additional power!


Thanks, I think I will get one of those EDIMAX ones as they are really small.

I have now installed Squeezeplug and it went very well. Great installation.
I have also installed SqueezeLite and pointed it to the IP address of my Vortexbox/LMS server.

Finally I have put MPoD on my iPhone. MPoD automatically found my VortexBox but not R-Pi/SqueezeLite.

Now I have the following questions:
Do I need to set anything on the SqueezePlug/SqueezeLite to enable me to control it from my iPhone/MPoD??
How do I set the sound output to the 3.5mm Audio Jack on the R-Pi?
How do I set the sound output to use a USB DAC?
How do I setup Spotify? Is this a plugin for LMS or SqueezeLite or the SqueezePlug?

Thanks
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 8:57 pm
by mikebainbridge » Wed Nov 07, 2012 11:43 pm
Hi M4rky

I'll pick off the Spotify question at the end. Depending upon your hardware you will need to use the Official LMS spotify plugin or Triode's one which is in the recommended plugins category. The official one only works with Logitech recent hardware (Touch and Radio I think). If you have anything else or are using one of the software players or something like ipeng with the in app player purchase you will need Triode's (completely fabulous) plugin... There is a big current BUT. It doesn't currently work on V5 Squeezeplug. This is because the ARM libraries for Spotify don't support the hard float in Raspian. There are a lot of us asking both Spotify (fix the library) and Thomas (V5 but with soft float) for a solution. At the moment the only option would be to ask for an old 4.08 version of Squeezeplug. I'm just using the iphone/ipad Spotify app with the phone plugged into my amp which is less than ideal ! Investigating airplay as a stop gap...
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 5:20 pm
by coswald » Thu Nov 08, 2012 12:05 am
Thomas
I don't know if you can help me. Sorry - I am new to Linux!
Brand new Raspberry Pi (new model) with tonight's download of SqueezePlug sp_rpi_500.img on an 8GB SD card and a USB hard drive attached with the music.
I can use PuTTY onto it and configure it wihtout problems, but nothing shows in the browser <ip address>:9000 - just a timeout.
Also, I get this error:
>>
root@squeezeplug:~# squeezeboxserver
The following CPAN modules were found but cannot work with Logitech Media Server:
Image::Scale:
Can't load '/usr/share/squeezeboxserver/CPAN/arch/5.14/arm-linux-gnueabihf-thread-multi-64int/auto/Image/Scale/Scale.so' for module Image::Scale: libjpeg.so.8: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory at /usr/lib/perl/5.14/DynaLoader.pm line 184.
at (eval 102) line 2
Compilation failed in require at (eval 102) line 2.
BEGIN failed--compilation aborted at (eval 102) line 2.


To fix this problem you have several options:
1. Install the latest version of the module(s) using CPAN: sudo cpan Some::Module
2. Update the module's package using apt-get, yum, etc.
3. Run the .tar.gz version of Logitech Media Server which includes all required CPAN modules.
<<

top shows it running as user squeezeb.
Any ideas?
Thanks
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2012 11:49 pm
by truehl » Thu Nov 08, 2012 6:02 am
mikebainbridge wrote:Hi M4rky

I'll pick off the Spotify question at the end. Depending upon your hardware you will need to use the Official LMS spotify plugin or Triode's one which is in the recommended plugins category. The official one only works with Logitech recent hardware (Touch and Radio I think). If you have anything else or are using one of the software players or something like ipeng with the in app player purchase you will need Triode's (completely fabulous) plugin... There is a big current BUT. It doesn't currently work on V5 Squeezeplug. This is because the ARM libraries for Spotify don't support the hard float in Raspian. There are a lot of us asking both Spotify (fix the library) and Thomas (V5 but with soft float) for a solution. At the moment the only option would be to ask for an old 4.08 version of Squeezeplug. I'm just using the iphone/ipad Spotify app with the phone plugged into my amp which is less than ideal ! Investigating airplay as a stop gap...


If someone needs the 4.08 Softfloat version, tell me, I'll give you a download link. The plan with Spotify in future is like this: Squeezelite can play Spotify. Squeezelite is made by the same developer as the Spotify plugin, it's Triode. So we hope Triode will change his plugin to support Raspbian HardFloat.
truehl
http://www.squeezeplug.de
User avatar
Posts: 619
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2012 6:47 pm
by truehl » Thu Nov 08, 2012 6:06 am
coswald wrote:Thomas
I don't know if you can help me. Sorry - I am new to Linux!
Brand new Raspberry Pi (new model) with tonight's download of SqueezePlug sp_rpi_500.img on an 8GB SD card and a USB hard drive attached with the music.
I can use PuTTY onto it and configure it wihtout problems, but nothing shows in the browser <ip address>:9000 - just a timeout.
Also, I get this error:
>>
root@squeezeplug:~# squeezeboxserver
The following CPAN modules were found but cannot work with Logitech Media Server:
Image::Scale:
Can't load '/usr/share/squeezeboxserver/CPAN/arch/5.14/arm-linux-gnueabihf-thread-multi-64int/auto/Image/Scale/Scale.so' for module Image::Scale: libjpeg.so.8: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory at /usr/lib/perl/5.14/DynaLoader.pm line 184.
at (eval 102) line 2
Compilation failed in require at (eval 102) line 2.
BEGIN failed--compilation aborted at (eval 102) line 2.


To fix this problem you have several options:
1. Install the latest version of the module(s) using CPAN: sudo cpan Some::Module
2. Update the module's package using apt-get, yum, etc.
3. Run the .tar.gz version of Logitech Media Server which includes all required CPAN modules.
<<

top shows it running as user squeezeb.
Any ideas?
Thanks

Which version of LMS did you install? If you install the actual standard version of LMS (press enter if asked for the version) LMS should run fine!
truehl
http://www.squeezeplug.de
User avatar
Posts: 619
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2012 6:47 pm
by bobbydriver » Thu Nov 08, 2012 9:12 am
Did the upgrade last night and half way through it spat out an error

Get:4 http://mirrordirector.raspbian.org wheezy/contrib Sources [52.6 kB]
Get:5 http://mirrordirector.raspbian.org wheezy/non-free Sources [96.8 kB]
Get:6 http://mirrordirector.raspbian.org wheezy/main armhf Packages [7,378 kB]
Get:7 http://mirrordirector.raspbian.org wheezy/contrib armhf Packages [23.3 kB]
Get:8 http://mirrordirector.raspbian.org wheezy/non-free armhf Packages [47.3 kB]
Ign http://mirrordirector.raspbian.org wheezy/contrib Translation-en_US
Ign http://mirrordirector.raspbian.org wheezy/contrib Translation-en
Ign http://mirrordirector.raspbian.org wheezy/main Translation-en_US
Ign http://mirrordirector.raspbian.org wheezy/main Translation-en
Ign http://mirrordirector.raspbian.org wheezy/non-free Translation-en_US
Ign http://mirrordirector.raspbian.org wheezy/non-free Translation-en
Fetched 13.9 MB in 1min 42s (134 kB/s)
W: Failed to fetch http://archive.raspberrypi.org/debian/d ... /InRelease Unable to find expected entry 'contrib/binary-armhf/Packages' in Release fil (Wrong sources.list entry or malformed file)

E: Some index files failed to download. They have been ignored, or old ones used instead.


It carried on and finished the install OK. Let me set the memory split etc, but I wanted to check that the above error isn't anything too important?
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 9:06 am
by coswald » Thu Nov 08, 2012 9:55 am
>>Which version of LMS did you install? If you install the actual standard version of LMS (press enter if asked for the version) LMS should run fine!

I used the default one. The first time I installed I set a fixed IP address, expanded the SD image, added a cache file, etc. As I couldn't get the browser access to LMS to work, I started again from scratch and kept everything to the defaults, following your video (though I think the music library in it is in a different place) - but it's the same issue: no access to the LMS web UI. I don't think it's a firewall on the PC side, as I have tried two different PCs and both can access the web UIs to other devices on the LAN such as the router and a printer. Is there a firewall on the Pi I need to open up?

BTW, I really like what you have done in packaging it all up for people from a PC rather than Linux background: thank you!
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2012 11:49 pm
by castalla » Thu Nov 08, 2012 10:24 am
What browser? Try a different one.

I find Opera sometimes won't display the gui.
Posts: 526
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 3:46 pm
by m4rky » Thu Nov 08, 2012 10:25 am
truehl wrote:
mikebainbridge wrote:Hi M4rky

I'll pick off the Spotify question at the end. Depending upon your hardware you will need to use the Official LMS spotify plugin or Triode's one which is in the recommended plugins category. The official one only works with Logitech recent hardware (Touch and Radio I think). If you have anything else or are using one of the software players or something like ipeng with the in app player purchase you will need Triode's (completely fabulous) plugin... There is a big current BUT. It doesn't currently work on V5 Squeezeplug. This is because the ARM libraries for Spotify don't support the hard float in Raspian. There are a lot of us asking both Spotify (fix the library) and Thomas (V5 but with soft float) for a solution. At the moment the only option would be to ask for an old 4.08 version of Squeezeplug. I'm just using the iphone/ipad Spotify app with the phone plugged into my amp which is less than ideal ! Investigating airplay as a stop gap...


If someone needs the 4.08 Softfloat version, tell me, I'll give you a download link. The plan with Spotify in future is like this: Squeezelite can play Spotify. Squeezelite is made by the same developer as the Spotify plugin, it's Triode. So we hope Triode will change his plugin to support Raspbian HardFloat.


Thankys guys for the response.

The FLAC playback is most important to me so I can wait until Spotify is properly implemented.
But if you are planning to use SqueezeLite then that is a dissapointment for me as it doesn't have MPD support for iPhone/iPad control using MPoD.

Unless MPD has to be installed separately?

The idea is that I will package the R-Pi with a USB Dac in a little box and use it headless connected to my Hi-Fi. The only control I will have is with the iPhone/iPad.
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 8:57 pm
by woi_doi » Thu Nov 08, 2012 12:15 pm
bobbydriver wrote:Oct 25 18:40:27 squeezePI kernel: [ 7.115772] usb 1-1.2: ath9k_htc: Firmware - htc_9271.fw not found


Sorry for delay in replying, you may have sorted this out already.

Your Pi is telling you that the firmware is not there. You may have downloaded the wrong version maybe, there was an old layout and a new layout apparently. I think the one below is the one you need.
http://linuxwireless.org/download/htc_fw/1.3/htc_9271.fw

If that was the one you downloaded maybe you loaded it in the wrong place?

Other than that ......
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 4:35 pm
by coswald » Thu Nov 08, 2012 12:21 pm
>>What browser? Try a different one

Tried Chrome and IE 9 on PC, native Android browser and Chrome on Android. No connection on port 9000 rather than rendering problems. I can ping the Pi and use PuTTY onto it.

I'm not sure what to type in Linux to ask the LMS about how it is running. As you see from my previous posting, it seems a little unhappy - despite the default installation from scratch.
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2012 11:49 pm
by castalla » Thu Nov 08, 2012 12:34 pm
When you do the LMS install, do you get a confirmation message that it has been successfully installed?
Posts: 526
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 3:46 pm
by coswald » Thu Nov 08, 2012 12:46 pm
castalla wrote:When you do the LMS install, do you get a confirmation message that it has been successfully installed?


Yes, and it says that it should be accessible from a browser (it matches the video)...but it's not, even after a wait.
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2012 11:49 pm
by castalla » Thu Nov 08, 2012 12:53 pm
Have you tried SQUEEZEPLUG:9000 ???
Posts: 526
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 3:46 pm
by bobbydriver » Thu Nov 08, 2012 1:29 pm
woi_doi wrote:
bobbydriver wrote:Oct 25 18:40:27 squeezePI kernel: [ 7.115772] usb 1-1.2: ath9k_htc: Firmware - htc_9271.fw not found


Sorry for delay in replying, you may have sorted this out already.

Your Pi is telling you that the firmware is not there. You may have downloaded the wrong version maybe, there was an old layout and a new layout apparently. I think the one below is the one you need.
http://linuxwireless.org/download/htc_fw/1.3/htc_9271.fw

If that was the one you downloaded maybe you loaded it in the wrong place?

Other than that ......


Yes I sorted it - that was the correct firmware that I downloaded and placed it in the firmware directory, but it wasn't enough.

I was told to do apt-get install firmware-atheros but for some reason this didn't work either, telling me that the package didn't exist

In the end I downloaded the package directly from http://archive.raspbian.org/raspbian/po ... 36_all.deb
and installed it with a dpkg -i

At that point it worked perfectly from reboot - NetGear WNA1100 Wireless-N 150 Atheros AR9271 chipset - also I can confirm that it works [i]without[i] a powered USB hub
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 9:06 am
by coswald » Thu Nov 08, 2012 2:25 pm
castalla wrote:Have you tried SQUEEZEPLUG:9000 ???


I have tried that, both with squeezeplug and renaming it. Actually, I would be amazed if it resolved the name correctly but would not take the direct IP address! Definitely the right IP address, by the way, and the symptoms are the same whether I use DHCP or a fixed one.
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2012 11:49 pm
by bobbydriver » Thu Nov 08, 2012 3:09 pm
coswald wrote:
castalla wrote:Have you tried SQUEEZEPLUG:9000 ???


I have tried that, both with squeezeplug and renaming it. Actually, I would be amazed if it resolved the name correctly but would not take the direct IP address! Definitely the right IP address, by the way, and the symptoms are the same whether I use DHCP or a fixed one.


Is the Pi listening on port 9000? I'm not at home so I can't check the command, but you should be able to use netstat -lnptu or equivalent to list the services running on each port

If the pi shows LMS/squeeze on 9000, but your PC cann't connect then it must be something between blocking it (router?). If it doesn't show LMS running on 9000 then I'd say your installation failed
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 9:06 am
by coswald » Thu Nov 08, 2012 10:37 pm
bobbydriver wrote:
coswald wrote:
castalla wrote:Have you tried SQUEEZEPLUG:9000 ???


I have tried that, both with squeezeplug and renaming it. Actually, I would be amazed if it resolved the name correctly but would not take the direct IP address! Definitely the right IP address, by the way, and the symptoms are the same whether I use DHCP or a fixed one.


Is the Pi listening on port 9000? I'm not at home so I can't check the command, but you should be able to use netstat -lnptu or equivalent to list the services running on each port

If the pi shows LMS/squeeze on 9000, but your PC cann't connect then it must be something between blocking it (router?). If it doesn't show LMS running on 9000 then I'd say your installation failed


Thank you: it didn't show in the list, so I un-installed and re-installed LMS and copied the messages to the clipboard. They included:
>>
Err http://mirrordirector.raspbian.org/raspbian/ wheezy/main libgif4 armhf 4.1.6-9.1
404 Not Found
Failed to fetch http://mirrordirector.raspbian.org/rasp ... _armhf.deb 404 Not Found
<<

The implication is that it didn't manage to fetch all the files/packages. I ran apt-get update and then re-installed LMS, and all is now well. Thanks castalla, bobbydriver and Thomas for your help. For your reference, this was a brand new Raspberry Pi with fixing holes. Sorry if I missed any instruction to run that update before setup.
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2012 11:49 pm