XBian - Small, Fast, Lightweight XBMC solution


613 posts   Page 24 of 25   1 ... 21, 22, 23, 24, 25
by Dave_PL » Tue Sep 25, 2012 8:04 pm
Dweeber wrote:
Dave_PL wrote:I dont know what you are talking about. Ive configured Xbian today in about and hour. The only one problem Ive had was with my K400 keyboard. But now everything is ok.

You just need to run Programs->Xbian Settings and update to the newest version and this will install your wifi (MrEngman's script), update to 0.7v and also it can expand rootfs (which basically takes the most time).

1) Update to the newest version would normally mean it would need Network access? Without the WiFi working, there was no network access. There is no way to get an Ethernet cable to where it is located.


Maybe I wasnt so clear about updating to 0.7v.

All you need is to run Xbian Settings @ 0.6v. Script will just got WiFi working. After that run the script from xbian site (for update to 0.7v). When you have 0.7v run Xbian Settings one more time to get wifi working again and EXPAND your sd card. My16gb sd looks like this:

Code: Select all
Filesystem      Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
rootfs           15G  667M   13G   5% /
/dev/root        15G  667M   13G   5% /
tmpfs            13M  340K   12M   3% /run
tmpfs           5.0M     0  5.0M   0% /run/lock
tmpfs            25M     0   25M   0% /tmp
tmpfs            10M     0   10M   0% /dev
tmpfs            25M     0   25M   0% /run/shm
/dev/mmcblk0p1   75M   28M   48M  37% /boot
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 2:45 pm
Location: Cracow, PL
by Dweeber » Tue Sep 25, 2012 8:26 pm
So the question is... where are those steps documented?


BTW I have a fully up and running XBMC stand alone system on my Raspbian OS with all my development stuff on it. Took less than an hour from start to finish.

Ref: http://rpi.tnet.com/project/faqs/xmbcstandalone
Dweeber A.K.A. Kevin...
My RPI Info Pages including Current Setup - http://rpi.tnet.com
User avatar
Posts: 606
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 3:35 am
Location: Mesa, AZ
by eNORm » Thu Oct 04, 2012 5:16 pm
Just a heads up. 0.8 is out --> www.xbian.org
Expology.no
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 3:04 pm
Location: Norway, Oslo
by JRT » Thu Oct 04, 2012 8:54 pm
Does it still log on and run as root? That's the only thing that put me off, last time I tried this.
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 2:44 pm
by Koenkk » Sat Oct 06, 2012 1:31 pm
Posts: 148
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2012 10:22 pm
Location: Netherlands
by DraZtiK » Mon Oct 08, 2012 5:43 pm
Seems there's problems with this latest version. I can't connect to mysql server after editing my details in advancedsettings.xml. I see no logs of it trying to connect to mysql server in the logs etc on the pi on or my server...
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2012 1:09 pm
by lviggiani » Sat Oct 27, 2012 8:32 am
Hi,
I'm completely new to raspberry.
I'm wondering if XBian will be able to use external USB Speakers.
I'm currently using the default Debian image for raspberry and in alsamixer (pressing F6) the USB Speakers are detected (I still haven't found how to set as the default output, but this is another issue). So, basing on the fact that with Debian, alas recognize my USB speakers, can I assume that XBian will be able to use it? How tricky is to switch the output device within XBian? (sorry I'm not familiar with xbcm either).
Thanks!
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2012 8:28 pm
by 0_nvd_0 » Mon Oct 29, 2012 10:03 pm
Koenkk wrote:
gwombley wrote:Cant write the image to a 2gb SD card. says 'not enough space on disk: Size: 3970048 sectors Available: 3862528 sectors.

Can there be an image created which is slightly smaller please?



Anyone who knows how to shrink a .img file??


Just give the SD card a try. Probably, you will miss some sectors that are not needed.
However, if the OS or something else crashes, you need those sectors.
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2012 10:12 pm
by Koenkk » Mon Nov 05, 2012 2:58 pm
Posts: 148
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2012 10:22 pm
Location: Netherlands
by lviggiani » Mon Nov 05, 2012 3:29 pm
Koenkk wrote:XBian 1.0 Alpha 1 is out! :D http://xbian.org/2012/11/05/xbian-1-0-a ... esh-start/


Great!

Does Alpha 1 include support to AudioEngine and the possibility to use external USB speakers?
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2012 8:28 pm
by davros » Tue Nov 20, 2012 12:06 am
lol every link is dead
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 4:30 pm
by castalla » Tue Nov 20, 2012 12:12 am
What's so funny about that?

It will be back.
Posts: 476
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 3:46 pm
by ReTechNL » Tue Nov 20, 2012 6:43 pm
davros wrote:lol every link is dead

That is because someone is ddosing this site so they are moving it to a more capable location.
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 6:41 pm
by dikonist » Tue Nov 20, 2012 9:59 pm
XBian is simply the BEST

Good things only get better over time....

Be patiënt and enjoy XBian

The XBian devs will conquer the DDoS cybercriminals!
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 7:28 am
by north3221 » Wed Nov 21, 2012 12:51 pm
XBian is the best! Agreed..

I like that its Rabian based so can add a desktop and internet browsing

http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=23051
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 6:06 pm
by yagosan » Thu Dec 06, 2012 2:35 am
My First Bad Experience with XBian1.0Alpha3 on my recent arrived Rasp with 512mb. :evil:

Just downloaded latest image and boot it with my SD card fine, all XBMC menus quite quick and nice, then I donwloaded an addon web viewer and screen went black!!.

So after a while not respondid I turn it off and on, the xbian didn boot anymore, so I tried previous Raspbian XBMC and it was not able to full scale 1080!! I could only see 1/4th of the 1920x1080 screen having to decrease it to 1080x720 to be able to see full screen.

I thing Overclocking has damaged the raspberry PI video output somehow. Ill try to reimage my SD card again with a working previous xbmc with raspbian that was working and post experience.
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 2:23 am
by mkanon » Fri Dec 07, 2012 9:29 am
I have a 512mb Xbian 8.3 setup. With HDMI on a panasonic LCD Tv. I have the following issues / questions

1. Sometimes the audio doesn't work, i have to switch HDMI audio in het System menu to make it work again. (wrong cable?)

2. I have to boot up the PI while the TV is on the correct HDMI (2), if i switch from hdmi (1) tot (2) while already started up, there's (seems) no signal (wrong cable?)

3. When off (red light), my PI still powers the USB Harddisk (powered bij 220v) (can here it running), can i power down the usb when off?

4. Does Wakeup lan work? What's the best routine for power up and power down?
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 9:18 am
by p4trykx » Fri Dec 07, 2012 11:41 am
Ad1 and 2
Maybe it's related to some kind of HDMI autodetection. I also expierienced it but only with older verisions. You could try to force HDMI with audio in config.txt
http://elinux.org/RPiconfig
maybe try
Code: Select all
hdmi_force_hotplug=1
 hdmi_drive=2


ad 2
You could try hdparm -y or hdparm -S 1
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 2:55 pm
by alias_neo » Fri Dec 07, 2012 5:58 pm
I'm looking to replace my Raspbian + XBMC with A pre-built XBMC image, because I can't get the CPU idle to drop below 40% in XBMC, how does it run with this build?

This seems like the best option if it works cause I want a standard desktop but XBMC too.
http://2byt.es - Just my two bytes - RPi - Android - Arduino - Blog
Posts: 107
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2011 8:55 am
Location: Wilmslow, England
by p4trykx » Fri Dec 07, 2012 6:26 pm
it's the same in xbian and others but someone from the xbian team said that the cpu load shown in xbmc is little off. Try checking it with top when you are logged through ssh.

I think that a part of the cpu is busy rendering the meter and that's why it's ~80%. However I remember maybe incorrectly that older versions of xbmc showed lower values about 30%
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 2:55 pm
by alias_neo » Fri Dec 07, 2012 6:40 pm
p4trykx wrote:it's the same in xbian and others but someone from the xbian team said that the cpu load shown in xbmc is little off. Try checking it with top when you are logged through ssh.

I think that a part of the cpu is busy rendering the meter and that's why it's ~80%. However I remember maybe incorrectly that older versions of xbmc showed lower values about 30%


I use htop, over SSH, and it shows 40% on my latest build. I discounted the issues with dirty regions etc by switching the settings and seeing no difference at all (apart from corrupted screen). The issue clearly lies elsewhere.
http://2byt.es - Just my two bytes - RPi - Android - Arduino - Blog
Posts: 107
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2011 8:55 am
Location: Wilmslow, England
by Casty » Mon Dec 10, 2012 5:00 am
Has anyone here got xboxdrv working with a wireless Xbox 360 Controller on an Xbian install? I've spent over 6 hours googling and reading every thread known to man and I cannot for the life of me get it to work. I'm desperate here for any guidance.

Where I'm at:

With a start command for xboxdrv in my rc.local, the xboxdrv will freeze at "ctrl+c to quit" unless I put a "&" at the end of the .sh line. However, if I do that, xboxdrv tries to initialize twice, once when it should, then another time right before it kicks into XBMC, thus removing the initialization. If anyone wants more specifics I'll be glad to help...
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 3:40 am
by The_Reaper » Mon Dec 10, 2012 9:08 am
I installed xbian in a Raspberry Pi device and it works fine.
Is there instructions about how can I install refocus skin on Xbian?
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2012 8:05 am
by Draven68 » Mon Dec 10, 2012 10:26 am
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 4:08 am
by The_Reaper » Mon Dec 10, 2012 11:15 am
Thank you very much for the information!!
I've an USB HD with films, series etc.. and I want to show films and series front covers, plot etc..
I'm new with Xbian. How can I do it?
The information can be download to USB HD Drive/SD?
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2012 8:05 am