Scope for flash player or adobe air?

15 posts
by aidanmack » Thu Jun 14, 2012 11:06 am
Hi,

So this is a little bit of an issue for me and my rasberry pi...

None of the browsers for Debian “squeeze” support HTML5, and there is currently no Flash support, so unfortunately you cannot watch YouTube videos; we’re investigating HTML5 solutions.

All the languages I know are not supported. javascript, as3, lua, markups ect..

Lua would be nice? any ideas on that one?

Im a flash/air dev by trade. Can I not do anything like that on the pi yet?

... So I need to make a stab at something like python then?

Thanks
Aidan
by andyl » Thu Jun 14, 2012 12:15 pm
aidanmack wrote:Hi,

So this is a little bit of an issue for me and my rasberry pi...

None of the browsers for Debian “squeeze” support HTML5, and there is currently no Flash support, so unfortunately you cannot watch YouTube videos; we’re investigating HTML5 solutions.

All the languages I know are not supported. javascript, as3, lua, markups ect..

Lua would be nice? any ideas on that one?

Im a flash/air dev by trade. Can I not do anything like that on the pi yet?

... So I need to make a stab at something like python then?

Some things in the post above are incorrect.

Chromium supports html5. OK the version in squeeze isn't anywhere near the latest, but the one in wheezy is.

Linux has good support for lua and javascript.

Flash/Air isn't supported because Adobe isn't very good at supporting linux on x86 let alone strange architectures like arm.

If what you want to do is fancy web applications I would be looking at using html5/css/javascript with a decent framework on the front end. For the backend you can use javascript / nodejs (although nodejs isn't in the apt repository and would need to be built) or a python based backend.
by aidanmack » Thu Jun 14, 2012 1:21 pm
Thanks for the reply,
Linux has good support for java script? But in order to use java script I would need Chromium running in wheezy?