Idiot's guide to C++/SDL Setup

21 posts
by Generesque » Tue Aug 07, 2012 2:08 am
Hello all,

I just started playing around with the RPI, and one of the first things I wanted to do was get a C++/SDL setup going. I've got some old SDL projects lying around and I wanted to see how they'd compile and run. Sadly, I've not been working in a linux environment for some time, so I had to do some digging to remember the basic setup steps. In the hopes of saving other users some time, here is everything I had to do on a fresh Raspbian install to get C++ and SDL compiling and running:

Get rpi-update
Source: https://github.com/Hexxeh/rpi-update/
Code: Select all
sudo wget http://goo.gl/1BOfJ -O /usr/bin/rpi-update && chmod +x /usr/bin/rpi-update

Install Git (for rpi-update)
sudo apt-get install git-core

Update Everything
Source: http://www.raspbian.org/RaspbianQuake3
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
sudo rpi-update 192

You will need to reboot after this step.

Install relevant packages
sudo apt-get install gcc build-essential libsdl1.2-dev

Note that this step may not work if you haven't run the above upgrade steps. This tripped me up for a little while.

Add User to Video Group
sudo usermod -a -G video [your_username]

This step allows your user to run SDL programs from the console. You may need to log out and log back in after this step.

Create a Test Program
Source: http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=33&t=8454
Create a new .cpp file in a new directory. Edit the contents to look like this:

#include <stdio.h>
#include "SDL.h"

int main( int argc, char* args[] )
{
    SDL_Surface* screen = NULL;
    //Start SDL
    SDL_Init( SDL_INIT_VIDEO );

const SDL_VideoInfo* videoInfo = SDL_GetVideoInfo ();

int systemX = videoInfo->current_w ;
   int systemY = videoInfo->current_h ;
   Uint8 bpp = videoInfo->vfmt->BitsPerPixel ;

//Set up screen
    screen = SDL_SetVideoMode( systemX, systemY, bpp, SDL_SWSURFACE );
    if (!screen)
    {