Help with programming minecraft!

10 posts
by thejrcrafter » Mon Feb 11, 2013 9:32 pm
Could somebody please explain to me how to do these through an ssh tunnel (i am a complete python noob):

1. initialize the coding environment (what to import in the python console, how to connect to minecraft)
2. placing a block, placing larger figures like cubes
3. creating my own functions, like one to auto- create a cube of a specified size (do i need to make a separate script, or can i do it directly in the console?)
4. how to move the character
i think that's it. i really wish mojang would make a quick user's guide on how to do this.
thank you!
by radcom123 » Mon Feb 11, 2013 9:54 pm
1. You need to be running minecraft pi on the pi its self before you start plenty of info there.
2. now open a command prompt and cd into the api directory which should be something like "/home/pi/mcpi/api/python/mcpi"
2. At the command prompt type "python" some text is displayed and your prompt becomes >>>
3. Now type "import minecraft as minecraft" and press enter
4. type "mc = Minecraft.create()" press enter
5. now type "mc.postToChat("Hello, Minecraft!")"
6. to place a block type "mc.setBlock(0,5,0,46)" then press enter in this exampe a tnt block is placed at hight 5 above the spawn(0,0,0) the command works like this (x,y,z,blockid,[data])

hope this gets you started
Last edited by radcom123 on Mon Feb 11, 2013 10:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.
by thejrcrafter » Mon Feb 11, 2013 10:03 pm
after step 4, i get the error:

Code: Select all
Traceback (most recent call last):
      File "<stdin>", line 1, in <module>
NameError: name 'Minecraft' is not defined

i made sure that my case was all correct, i was in the correct directory, but for some reason it is not working. i have tried many times. please help!
i am usin python 2.7.3 rc2
by thejrcrafter » Mon Feb 11, 2013 10:12 pm