A bit of help for the Python beginner

9 posts
by AforAlex » Sat Oct 06, 2012 11:16 pm
Hi, I'm just starting out using Python and I have a few questions if you don't mind answering. If they have been answered else where then any pointer on where to look would be much appreciated.

I'm using the standard latest Debian image, and using the LXDE. I'm trying to get my head around and have a play with using Python with Pygame and also access the GPIO

First question is what is the difference between IDLE and IDLE 3 and which one am I best to use?

Second question is how do I run my Python programme as root. I've run a couple of example Python programmes that access the GPIOs, and they work ok from terminal when run using the SUDO command but when I run them from within IDLE I am getting permission denied messages.

Any help and advice would be very much appriciated
by AforAlex » Sat Oct 06, 2012 11:22 pm
Just to add, I am connecting to the RaspberryPi using TightVNC, I have tried running "sudo idle" and "sudo idle3" from a terminal window, but I get an error message saying "Client is not authorised to connect to ServerTraceback .........."
by billb » Sun Oct 07, 2012 12:25 am
AforAlex wrote:First question is what is the difference between IDLE and IDLE 3 and which one am I best to use?

IDLE is for python 2.x and IDLE 3 is for python 3.x. Depending on which tutorials / examples you're following, you may want to use python 2 or 3. Google "python 2 vs 3" and you'll find lots of information about the differences. If you're following a book that is based on python 2 you'd definitely want to use IDLE / python 2.

As I understand it, Python 2 is still the default for Debian / Raspbian wheezy. So when you install pygame (from a terminal: sudo apt-get install python-pygame) the version installed is for python 2.

If you want to use pygame with IDLE 3 / python 3, you'll need to install it manually as described here:

viewtopic.php?p=188760#p188760