WiringPython - WiringPi for Python

206 posts   Page 1 of 9   1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 9
by gadgetoid » Mon Jul 02, 2012 12:32 pm
First and foremost, a million and one thanks to Gordon for doing all the hard work and producing WiringPi in the first place. You can learn more about it here: https://projects.drogon.net/raspberry-pi/wiringpi/

Not knowing if anyone had done it before, I decided to wrap up WiringPi for Python. Unfortunately I'm not a Python programmer, and thus am not best positioned for actually testing the result.

More Python literate folks, however, are free to grab WiringPython from GitHub: https://github.com/Gadgetoid/WiringPython

And let me know if anything goes awry!

Currently, as per WiringPi itself, you will need to run your Python script as root and be sure to call wiringpi.wiringPiSetup() before attempting to use the other functions.
by texy » Mon Jul 02, 2012 8:10 pm
Hi
So this is an alternative for RPi.GPIO?
Any python examples?
Thanks
Texy
"2.8inch TFT LCD + Touch screen" add-on boards for sale here :
http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=93&t=65566
50p goes to the Foundation ;-)
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
by gadgetoid » Tue Jul 03, 2012 8:03 am
Wasn't aware of RPi.GPIO before. I don't know if it has shiftOut or serial functions? WiringPython does.

I'll endeavour to produce examples, but since I'm no Python developer they may not be particularly good.

Generally you would:

import wiringpi
wiringpi.wiringPiSetup

IO:
wiringpi.pinMode(1,1) // Set pin 1 to output
wiringpi.digitalWrite(1,1) // Write 1 HIGH to pin 1
wiringpi.digitalRead(1) // Read pin 1

Bit shifting:
wiringpi.shiftOut(1,2,0,123) // Shift out 123 to data pin 1, clock pin 2

Serial:
serial = wiringpi.serialOpen('/dev/ttyAMA0',9600)
wiringpi.serialClose(serial)
by texy » Tue Jul 03, 2012 8:32 am
Looks good - the bit shifting function would be especially useful. Does the driver access the GPIO via /sys/class/gpio/... files?
Please see this thread -