HDMI to VGA? Or RCA to VGA?

General programming chat and advice for beginners

18 posts
by purelife » Fri Aug 10, 2012 1:13 am
I, like most people, cannot afford a HDTV, I have an old VGA (15 pin monitor), is there any way I can use my Pi on this VGA flatscreen monitor without spending too much money? I bought a HDMI to VGA cable but it didn't work. Is it possible? Loads of people have VGA monitors surely, their not that old! And how would I connect it - through rca or hdmi? thanks.
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 7:11 pm
by redhawk » Fri Aug 10, 2012 7:52 am
You don't need a HDMI to VGA cable you need a HDMI to VGA converter like:
http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B007 ... ROKL5A1OLE (video only)
or
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/1080P-PC-HDMI ... 0929883993 (video and audio)

You may need to tweak config.txt to force the HDMI to work into certain video modes.

Richard S.
User avatar
Posts: 2939
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2012 2:13 pm
Location: ::1
by TideMan » Sat Aug 11, 2012 5:47 am
I understand your concerns, purelife.
I was where you are a few weeks ago when my RPi arrived.
How could I justify buying a new TV for several hundred $$$ just for a hobby?
Then I discovered the joys of running headless.
If you have another computer (Windows or Linux) and a home network, you can run RPi from that computer without ever needing to attach a screen to the RPi.
You just connect the RPi into the router with an Ethernet cable, and if you're on Windows use a program called puTTY or if you're on Linux use SSH to connect to the RPi over the network.
Once you're connected like this, you can configure a program called TightVNC which will give you an X-window to the RPi.

Let us know your circumstances and we'll walk you through it.
If you wish in this world to advance, your merits you're bound to enhance.
You must stir it and stump it and blow your own trumpet, or trust me you haven't a chance.
Ruddigore, G&S
User avatar
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 8:08 am
Location: ChCh, NZ
by koy » Sat Aug 11, 2012 6:54 pm
Hi TideMan,

I would like to connect in this way but unsure of how to go forward with this. Please could please help me with instructions or tutorial on this if you know of any.

Many thank for any help offered in advance.

Koy.
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 8:08 pm
by TideMan » Sat Aug 11, 2012 9:40 pm
Koy

1. Do you have a home network?
2. Do you have a Windows or a Linux machine?

The path forward depends on the answers to these questions.
If you wish in this world to advance, your merits you're bound to enhance.
You must stir it and stump it and blow your own trumpet, or trust me you haven't a chance.
Ruddigore, G&S
User avatar
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 8:08 am
Location: ChCh, NZ
by Mortimer » Sat Aug 11, 2012 9:54 pm
If you have an Apple Mac, you can use the Raspberry Pi remotely without downloading any extra software. Just use Terminal and X11.
If you have a Windows machine, I can recommend the free download of MobaXterm.
User avatar
Posts: 685
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 3:57 pm
by koy » Sun Aug 12, 2012 12:13 pm
Ok I found the answers to what I was looking for from,
http://elinux.org/RPi_A_Method_for_ssh_blind_login
and then
http://elinux.org/RPi_Wheezy_VNC
I setup the screen to suite mine with this here
http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=63&t=9118&p=128842
all setup and working perfectly.

Thanks for your replies.

Koy.
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 8:08 pm
by mahjongg » Sun Aug 12, 2012 12:24 pm
redhawk wrote:You don't need a HDMI to VGA cable you need a HDMI to VGA converter like:
http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B007 ... ROKL5A1OLE (video only)
or
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/1080P-PC-HDMI ... 0929883993 (video and audio)

You may need to tweak config.txt to force the HDMI to work into certain video modes.

Richard S.

Warning, the first one tries to draw up-to 500mA through your PI's HDMI port, which is designed for 50mA
Its likely you will damage your PI, (Diode D1 may burn out) and it could also blow the input fuse, and or overload your power supply.
See the wiki for details.
The second one is fine, it comes with its own supply.

Another solution is a second hand DVI-D monitor as these also work on the PI, also check your own "VGA" monitor, if its a flatscreen there is a chance it also has an DVI-D input connector.
User avatar
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4506
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2012 12:19 am
by sotris99 » Mon Sep 24, 2012 8:41 am
Ἓν οἶδα, ὅτι οὐδὲν οἶδα. (All I know is that I know nothing)
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2012 10:07 am
Location: Athens, Greece
by toxibunny » Mon Sep 24, 2012 9:39 am


You really should get one with it's own power supply for use with the Pi...
note: I may or may not know what I'm talking about...
Posts: 998
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 9:21 pm
by redhawk » Mon Sep 24, 2012 9:41 am
This adapter looks like the one I recommended to another user it will work but as mahjongg pointed out the current drain may eventually damage your PI.
It is recommened that you use a extenally powered HDMI to VGA converter they may cost a bit more than the cheaper alternatives but at least it's safer for your PI.

Richard S.
User avatar
Posts: 2939
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2012 2:13 pm
Location: ::1
by DickGanderton » Mon Sep 24, 2012 1:40 pm
I had the same problem as the only monitor I have with digital input is tied up on my Mac. I tried using the TV in the lounge, but could only get control of it when the Boss had retired to bed! Also, it was too far away from the router to connect via ethernet cable and I haven't managed to get WiFi to work on it yet.
I found a HDMI to VGA converter with its own PSU on eBay for 22.99 GBP post free and decided to try that. It works, so now I can use one of my spare VGA only LCD monitors with the RasPi.

Item Number: 320929883993 1080P PC HDMI to VGA + 3.5mm Audio HD Video Converter HDTV SKY DVD PS3 Apple TV
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/320929883993? ... 1439.l2649
Dick Ganderton
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2012 8:48 pm
by lein » Tue Sep 25, 2012 10:03 am
I got myself a HDMI-VGA cable http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/280928847211 and set up /boot/config.txt with

Code: Select all
hdmi_group=2
hdmi_mode=35

as outlined in the wiki http://elinux.org/RPi_config.txt for my monitor of 1280x1024 @ 60Hz.

Working great, I was a little worried that the screen blanking out was a power issue of the cable (not getting enough from the HDMI port), but it was because the monitor wasn't auto detecting correctly due to the cable. Manually configured the monitor and I am very happy for the AUD$18 investment.

This might not work for everyone but I decided that I could afford to waste a few dollars if it meant I could recycle and get a second life from my old monitor
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 5:08 am
Location: Australia
by lein » Tue Sep 25, 2012 10:39 am
I may have spoken too soon under high loads I am having screen blanking. I am going to try
Code: Select all
config_hdmi_boost=4
maybe higher if the problem persists.
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 5:08 am
Location: Australia
by lein » Wed Sep 26, 2012 1:15 am
lein wrote:I may have spoken too soon under high loads I am having screen blanking. I am going to try
Code: Select all
config_hdmi_boost=4
maybe higher if the problem persists.

The higher the HDMI boost the more frequent the screen blanking. I know this is a hardware fault of my own creation, but I am willing to live with this problem until I set the RPi up headless, upgrade to a HDMI screen (or downgrade to an old television).
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 5:08 am
Location: Australia
by toxibunny » Wed Sep 26, 2012 4:52 am
If you look on the wiki, there's mention of someone Modding that type of converter to inject external power. It might be worth a try...

Edit: here's the forum link URL telling all about it. It's the reason why I haven't used the cheap unpowered converter with the Pi (even though it works nicely with PS3) - viewtopic.php?f=28&t=9819 :)
note: I may or may not know what I'm talking about...
Posts: 998
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 9:21 pm
by budgieboy » Wed Sep 26, 2012 4:30 pm
redhawk wrote:You don't need a HDMI to VGA cable you need a HDMI to VGA converter like:
http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B007 ... ROKL5A1OLE (video only)
or
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/1080P-PC-HDMI ... 0929883993 (video and audio)

You may need to tweak config.txt to force the HDMI to work into certain video modes.

Richard S.


I agree regarding the first. The second is fine but is available through Amazon for 19.99. Free p&p for prime customers.
http://www.amazon.co.uk/HDMI-Audio-Vide ... 920&sr=1-4
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2012 12:11 am
by gilbert » Thu Dec 06, 2012 3:44 pm
koy wrote:Ok I found the answers to what I was looking for from,
http://elinux.org/RPi_A_Method_for_ssh_blind_login
and then
http://elinux.org/RPi_Wheezy_VNC
I setup the screen to suite mine with this here
http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=63&t=9118&p=128842
all setup and working perfectly.

Thanks for your replies.

Koy.


Why we need to use java version instead of Windows version VNC viewer?
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 3:41 pm