How to backup operating system?

17 posts
by JerryRice » Tue Jun 19, 2012 3:52 pm
Hello, I am new to Raspberry PI and Linux. Recently I purchased an SD Card with Debian already installed for Rasberry PI. Before I use it I was hoping to back it up just in case I mess something up on it when I do use it.

Does anyone know if it's possible to back this SD card with windows xp pc?
Jerry Rice - alias

Eben has BALLS-OF-STEEL!
by empire » Tue Jun 19, 2012 8:22 pm
I seem to recall that you can do this with Win32DiskImager
http://rpi-blog.com - Raspberry Pi guides, tips, tricks, and resources :-)
by Buxton » Tue Jun 19, 2012 9:23 pm
If you do manage to mess things up, you can download a new image-file of the operating system and use Win32DiskImager to put that image on to the card. As empire mentions, you can also back the card up (copy the card to an image).

Link to download that tool and instructions on how to use it are on http://elinux.org/RPi_Easy_SD_Card_Setu ... on_Windows

You can also download images of other operating system configurations (the "normal" one is Debian, there's a new beta version of the Debian system with some fixes now available), write them to your card and try them out. You might want to find some spare SD cards or buy a couple more, if you want to try a new OS distrubution without erasing your old one.
by JerryRice » Sat Jun 23, 2012 1:00 am
Thanks so much. I am going to get this done tonight. Sounds like no problem :)
Jerry Rice - alias

Eben has BALLS-OF-STEEL!
by rasbeer » Sat Jun 30, 2012 9:39 am
Is there a way of backing up an OS that only uses the RasPi?
by Joe Schmoe » Sat Jun 30, 2012 10:46 am
rasbeer wrote:Is there a way of backing up an OS that only uses the RasPi?

Plug in a USB card reader/writer, put a blank card into the external reader, then do:

dd bs=1M if=/dev/mmcblkWhatever of=/dev/sdWhatever
Never answer the question you are asked. Rather, answer the question you wish you had been asked.