Chat client for skype?

5 posts
by snoken » Thu Nov 29, 2012 2:44 pm
Hi, I'm new to the Raspberry Pi and pretty new to linux in whole.

I'm wondering if there's a client or a solution to make Skype work? I don't need the voice or video chat. I just want to be able to text chat with my contacts on Skype.

If there's a solution that can tie in multiple chats together like say Trillian can for windows I'd love to hear about as I'm looking for a solution to MSN as well. Are there any plugins for this to Irssi?

Sorry if these are totally newb questions, and thanks in advance.

-snoken
by Cloudcentric » Thu Nov 29, 2012 3:30 pm
snoken wrote:Hi, I'm new to the Raspberry Pi and pretty new to linux in whole.

I'm wondering if there's a client or a solution to make Skype work? I don't need the voice or video chat. I just want to be able to text chat with my contacts on Skype.

If there's a solution that can tie in multiple chats together like say Trillian can for windows I'd love to hear about as I'm looking for a solution to MSN as well. Are there any plugins for this to Irssi?

Sorry if these are totally newb questions, and thanks in advance.

-snoken

Also best to check previous postings: viewtopic.php?f=62&t=5672
I know everything about nothing"
by bgirardot » Thu Nov 29, 2012 9:46 pm
I have not tried it so I do not know how well it run using midori on the RPi, but

https://imo.im/

Is a web based multi IM client so it runs via a web brower.

Worth a shot I guess as I do not know of another multi protocol IM client that supports skype in a way that works on the RPi (for example Pidgin requires skype to run in the background)

Do let us know how it works out if you give it a try.
by gregor3000 » Fri Nov 30, 2012 11:06 am
snoken wrote:I'm wondering if there's a client or a solution to make Skype work? I don't need the voice or video chat. I just want to be able to text chat with my contacts on Skype.