Can Raspberry Pi Run VMWare WorkStation .. Or VMWare Player


17 posts
by Lan.Hekary » Mon May 28, 2012 7:26 pm
Hello

Please .. if you have A Raspberry Pi .. and you are intersted ...

Install VMWare Player 3.1 or VMWare workstation 6.5 >>> max 7 ...

Please Try Before posting the Result ...

and if you need any help i will help ...

thanks ...
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 7:17 pm
by Spider.007 » Mon May 28, 2012 7:30 pm
You seriously want to run VMware on a RPI with a 700MHz processor and 256 MiB shared with the GPU?
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat May 19, 2012 11:24 am
by nick.mccloud » Mon May 28, 2012 8:01 pm
Rather irrelevant - VMWare is for x86 only and the Pi is ARM only - nothing in VMWare can run on the Pi.
User avatar
Posts: 795
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 4:18 pm
by Lan.Hekary » Mon May 28, 2012 8:24 pm
at First

I manged to run VMware on XP with 700MHz and 128 Ram ... not 256 ...

and I want to run anther linux systems on raspberry Pi ...

and I want someone to try to install it ...
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 7:17 pm
by JeremyF » Mon May 28, 2012 8:41 pm
Lan.Hekary wrote:at First

I manged to run VMware on XP with 700MHz and 128 Ram ... not 256 ...

and I want to run anther linux systems on raspberry Pi ...

and I want someone to try to install it ...

It's not possible. It requires an x86 processor. The Raspberry Pi is an ARM device, completely different architecture entirely.
{sig} Setup: Original version Raspberry Pi (B, rev1, 256MB), Dell 2001FP monitor (1600x1200), 8GB Class 4 SD Card with Raspbian and XBMC, DD-WRT wireless bridge
Posts: 516
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 9:06 pm
by AndrewS » Tue May 29, 2012 10:34 am
Lan.Hekary wrote:and I want to run anther linux systems on raspberry Pi ...

Best way of doing that is by simply swapping SD-cards :D
User avatar
Posts: 3626
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 4:50 pm
Location: Cambridge, UK
by Lan.Hekary » Tue May 29, 2012 8:09 pm
I want to run 2 Linux Distributions at the Same time .. i can't do that with swapping SD cards ..
Plus I don't want to have many SD Cards for each OS ...
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 7:17 pm
by JeremyF » Tue May 29, 2012 9:26 pm
Lan.Hekary wrote:I want to run 2 Linux Distributions at the Same time .. i can't do that with swapping SD cards ..
Plus I don't want to have many SD Cards for each OS ...


I'll repeat it again:

JeremyF wrote:
Lan.Hekary wrote:at First

I manged to run VMware on XP with 700MHz and 128 Ram ... not 256 ...

and I want to run anther linux systems on raspberry Pi ...

and I want someone to try to install it ...

It's not possible. It requires an x86 processor. The Raspberry Pi is an ARM device, completely different architecture entirely.
{sig} Setup: Original version Raspberry Pi (B, rev1, 256MB), Dell 2001FP monitor (1600x1200), 8GB Class 4 SD Card with Raspbian and XBMC, DD-WRT wireless bridge
Posts: 516
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 9:06 pm
by Peetz0r » Tue May 29, 2012 11:24 pm
Well, it coule be possible to emulate an arm device on a arm device using QEMU, but that would be very slow on high-end hardware. And much slower on a Raspberry Pi. You could try it, but it won't be usable at all.
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 7:20 pm
Location: Almere
by AndrewS » Wed May 30, 2012 11:22 am
I wonder if it'd be possible to get User-mode Linux running on the ARM? (although it's something I've not used myself, even on x86)

EDIT: http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/library/l-linuxvirt/ says that Linux-VServer runs on ARM... but given the limited RAM available on a single Raspi, it may just be easier to buy a second unit (when that becomes possible!)
User avatar
Posts: 3626
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 4:50 pm
Location: Cambridge, UK
by redhawk » Thu May 31, 2012 9:19 am
You could try DOSBox there is an ARM Linux port which should make running x86 programs possible although it will be slow due to emulating x86 instruction set with an ARMv6 processor.
DOSBox is capable of running Windows 3.1 and Windows 95 however just how well they perform under and ARM Linux environment remains to be seen.

Richard S.
User avatar
Posts: 3519
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2012 2:13 pm
Location: ::1
by AndrewS » Thu May 31, 2012 9:58 am
I believe Abishur has used DOSbox to run old PC games on his Raspi.
But the OP said he wants to run a second instance of Linux, which DOSbox won't be able to do ;)
User avatar
Posts: 3626
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 4:50 pm
Location: Cambridge, UK
by nick.mccloud » Thu May 31, 2012 10:34 am
Maybe we could try a compile of QEMU to see what happens - something for this evening ...
User avatar
Posts: 795
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 4:18 pm
by phrasz » Sun Jun 03, 2012 2:29 am
Pipe X applications over ssh to view on the RasPi?
LMGTFY
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 4:13 am
by Lorian » Sun Jun 03, 2012 7:33 am
There is an easy and cost effective solution to the OP's requirement. Buy Two Pi.
Posts: 112
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2012 10:09 am
by morey8 » Sun Jun 03, 2012 7:49 am
May I ask why you would want to run two distro's at the same time? Well...want or need? Because if you need to run two different Linux distributions everyone pretty much summed up the reasons why it would/wouldn't work. In theory it is possible but it would be the slowest thing ever and any processes you'd want to add thereafter would almost be pointless to try and run. My recommendation would be to buy another Pi (I know this option might not be what you were looking for) and hook the two up with a KVM switch. This way you've got one workstation using the same keyboard and mouse and whatever other input devices would switch over easily. Plus you get to keep all the power of each Pi without slowing it down.

However I don't think you mentioned what other Linux distro you'd be using. There's only a handful of distributions that work for the Pi right now and if you're looking to run something entirely different then I guess we've got a whole nother issue on our hands.
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2012 5:48 am
by iggykoopa » Sat Jun 16, 2012 1:46 pm
you could try using a chroot environment. I'm running the debian build and set it up to run fedora 17 chrooted like so:
Code: Select all
mkdir /fedora
cd /fedora
wget http://fedora.roving-it.com/rootfs-f17-sfp-alpha1.tar.bz2
tar xvjf rootfs-f17-sfp-alpha1.tar.bz2
mount -o bind /proc /fedora/proc
mount -o bind /dev /fedora/dev
mount -o bind /sys /fedora/sys
chroot /fedora

I'd recommend using screen with this. Also I have my root dir set up over nfs, you may run out of space on an sd card. It's running pretty well though.
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 12:20 pm