Power Supply / NIC


7 posts
by RaTTuS » Thu Jun 21, 2012 9:49 am
I'd like to put in one box the following :-
1 5port NIC switch [it's a braodcom chip ;-p] - takes 12V 1A as its input
1 powered USB HUB [I'm open to suggestions on this ATM]
1 2" usb drive - I've got a caddy that I can use the innards of that takes 12V 2A as its input
1x RPi takes 5V as input., [or maybe two if there is room]
now how to I power all this sensibly from one plug ?

also in regards to the NIC switch is it enough to solder a bunch of leads to the appropriate pins on the switch [I would use a blanking cover to stop that NIC being used externally]
http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html <- ask smart Questions
"That's not right, the badgers have moved the goalposts."
1QC43qbL5FySu2Pi51vGqKqxy3UiJgukSX - Prosliver FTW
User avatar
Posts: 5624
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 11:12 am
Location: North West UK
by AndrewS » Thu Jun 21, 2012 11:07 am
RaTTuS wrote:I'd like to put in one box the following :-
1 5port NIC switch [it's a braodcom chip ;-p] - takes 12V 1A as its input

I've got a 5-port switch that runs off a 5V supply: http://www.retractacable.com/product_in ... ucts_id=66
1 powered USB HUB [I'm open to suggestions on this ATM]

http://elinux.org/RPi_VerifiedPeriphera ... d_USB_Hubs ;) ;)
1 2" usb drive - I've got a caddy that I can use the innards of that takes 12V 2A as its input

I assume you mean 2.5" ? Most 2.5" USB caddies I've seen (I've got one labelled as "IcyBox") simply take a 5V supply (mine came with a USB-data lead and a USB power-only lead).

1x RPi takes 5V as input., [or maybe two if there is room]
now how to I power all this sensibly from one plug ?

...so if you're careful you can run the whole shooting match off a (suitably beefy) single 5V PSU :)

also in regards to the NIC switch is it enough to solder a bunch of leads to the appropriate pins on the switch [I would use a blanking cover to stop that NIC being used externally]

Nope, that's not how Ethernet works. See all the problems caused when they used the non-magnetic ethernet jacks on the Raspi...
It's not too hard to make up your own super-short ethernet cables though http://www.maplin.co.uk/rj45-and-rj11-c ... -set-99612
User avatar
Posts: 3626
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 4:50 pm
Location: Cambridge, UK
by RaTTuS » Thu Jun 21, 2012 12:56 pm
AndrewS wrote:Nope, that's not how Ethernet works. See all the problems caused when they used the non-magnetic ethernet jacks on the Raspi...
It's not too hard to make up your own super-short ethernet cables though http://www.maplin.co.uk/rj45-and-rj11-c ... -set-99612

Yeah I can make up ethernet cables - have all the stuff to hand
I'll have a re-think about it all ...
http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html <- ask smart Questions
"That's not right, the badgers have moved the goalposts."
1QC43qbL5FySu2Pi51vGqKqxy3UiJgukSX - Prosliver FTW
User avatar
Posts: 5624
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 11:12 am
Location: North West UK
by cheapskate » Wed Jun 27, 2012 1:53 pm
You need a 12V-5V converter, which lets you power the whole box from 12V
Like this one:
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/LM2596S-Low-Ripple-DC-DC-Adjustable-Step-down-Power-Supply-Module-/330650881112?pt=UK_BOI_Electrical_Components_Supplies_ET&hash=item4cfc540c58

Adjust the tweaker to give 5.1V, then put a blob of hot glue on it.

These are good for 2-3A (heatsink advisable at 3).

This seller:
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/LM2596-Series-DCDC-Step-Down-Converter-Adjustable-Power-Module-Supply-max-3A-/261052259497?pt=UK_BOI_Electrical_Components_Supplies_ET&var=&hash=item3cc7ed5ca9
will sell you the low-ripple variant with a heatsink already fitted.
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 11:18 am
by RaTTuS » Wed Jun 27, 2012 2:01 pm
the SATA adapter converts 12V input to 12V 5v and 3.3V all at the same time so I'm good to go ... \o/
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Serial_ATA
I have an extension sata power lead powering the NIC and HD fine,
now I've just got to get the RPi and usb in a position so I can test it all then I'll have a go at stuffing it all back together... ;-p
http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html <- ask smart Questions
"That's not right, the badgers have moved the goalposts."
1QC43qbL5FySu2Pi51vGqKqxy3UiJgukSX - Prosliver FTW
User avatar
Posts: 5624
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 11:12 am
Location: North West UK
by AndrewS » Thu Jun 28, 2012 1:27 am
...as long as your SATA adaptor can provide enough current on each of the power rails you're drawing from :)
User avatar
Posts: 3626
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 4:50 pm
Location: Cambridge, UK
by RaTTuS » Mon Jul 02, 2012 8:51 am
yes I'm hopeing that also ;-p it's rated as 2amp - but if push come to shove I'll get a bigger one ;-p
http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html <- ask smart Questions
"That's not right, the badgers have moved the goalposts."
1QC43qbL5FySu2Pi51vGqKqxy3UiJgukSX - Prosliver FTW
User avatar
Posts: 5624
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 11:12 am
Location: North West UK