fldigi working - HAM Radio

9 posts
by flask28 » Mon Oct 29, 2012 9:27 am
After a bunch of messing around I finally got the ham radio digital mode application fldigi working on my Pi. I'm running the rev b board and the latest greatest firmware/wheezy updates.

For a soundcard I used a USB Signalink I had sitting here. The nice part about a signalink is it handles PTT for me and presents as a usb soundcard to the Pi. But I'm sure you could use a cheap usb soundcard and a ptt-type cable (or vox even) to do the same thing and much of this should apply.

I've never played with linux sound before, so I apologize if I sound stupid. Don't need sound on servers! So this is my first time mucking about with ALSA.

When I plugged in the signalink I saw it was discovered and watched some drivers get loaded on the console. I was pretty excited about that right there.

The command "aplay -l" showed me:

Code: Select all
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: ALSA [bcm2835 ALSA], device 0: bcm2835 ALSA [bcm2835 ALSA]
Subdevices: 8/8
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
Subdevice #1: subdevice #1
Subdevice #2: subdevice #2
Subdevice #3: subdevice #3
Subdevice #4: subdevice #4
Subdevice #5: subdevice #5
Subdevice #6: subdevice #6
Subdevice #7: subdevice #7
card 1: CODEC [USB Audio CODEC], device 0: USB Audio [USB Audio]
Subdevices: 1/1

Card 0 is the internal soundcard, and Card 1 is my signalink. A good sign! This is telling me the signalink has registered with ALSA as an output device. Cool, let's check for an input device.

The output of 'arecord -l" showed:

**** List of CAPTURE Hardware Devices ****
card 1: CODEC [USB Audio CODEC], device 0: USB Audio [USB Audio]
Subdevices: 1/1

And "cat /proc/asound/cards" output:

0 [ALSA           ]: BRCM bcm2835 ALSbcm2835 ALSA - bcm2835 ALSA
                      bcm2835 ALSA
 1 [CODEC          ]: USB-Audio - USB Audio CODEC
                      Burr-Brown from TI USB Audio CODEC at usb-bcm2708_usb-1.3, full speed