Internet connection problem


15 posts
by mad-hatter » Thu Jun 28, 2012 11:43 am
Hello,

Pi 'B'
5V 1A power supply
Virgin cable via a modem
USB Keyboad
USB Mouse

I am having problems connecting to the internet.
I have tried two cables (ethernet), cables work between modem and my main computer.
All lights steady and bright on the Pi board.
Anything I ping in a terminal is unreachable.
Browser comes back with page unreachable.
Test voltage 4.9V with everything connected.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Regards
Posts: 303
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2012 2:58 pm
by Mortimer » Thu Jun 28, 2012 11:47 am
What does ifconfig tell you in a terminal?
User avatar
Posts: 710
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 3:57 pm
by RaTTuS » Thu Jun 28, 2012 11:48 am
on your RPI
dmesg
ifconfig
1QC43qbL5FySu2Pi51vGqKqxy3UiJgukSX - Prosliver FTW
"That's not right, the badgers have moved the goalposts."
User avatar
Posts: 4967
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 11:12 am
Location: North West UK
by Fumbles » Thu Jun 28, 2012 12:15 pm
We might be experiencing the same problem.

Have you tried unplugging either your mouse or keyboard before attempting to access a webpage?
Currently this is my only way of accessing the internet on my pi.

Also, on the initial startup terminal have you tried pinging a webpage?
I get a reply back on the initial startup terminal, but not a reply when I open a terminal after the startx command.
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 5:10 pm
by mad-hatter » Thu Jun 28, 2012 12:23 pm
Hi,

This is the output from ifconfig. Hope you can read it.

Regards

ifconfig.jpg
ifconfig
ifconfig.jpg (25.55 KiB) Viewed 586 times
Posts: 303
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2012 2:58 pm
by Mortimer » Thu Jun 28, 2012 12:27 pm
Looks like your ethernet interface is connected to something, but the lack of IP address being assigned to eth0 suggests a problem with DHCP.
User avatar
Posts: 710
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 3:57 pm
by grumpyoldgit » Thu Jun 28, 2012 12:41 pm
The OP has not mentioned the distro.
The ifconfig output is pretty standard. He would get that even if the nic was not attached at all.
Can you test pinging again before you load the gui, starting with your router?
User avatar
Posts: 1454
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 12:20 pm
by mad-hatter » Thu Jun 28, 2012 1:34 pm
Hello,

Distro - debian6-19-04-2012

I pinged 192.168.0.1 and 192.168.100.1 (should be my modem) before startx.
Ran each for a while, then ctrl+C.

--- 192.168.0.1 ping statistics
24 packets transmitted. 0 received

--- 192.168.100.1 ping statistics
30 packets transmitted. 30 packets received, 0% packet loss. time 29038ns

DHCP dosen't mean any thing to me. Googled and got some answers.
Don't see how it helps me.

Regards
Posts: 303
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2012 2:58 pm
by Mortimer » Thu Jun 28, 2012 4:27 pm
I am a recent joiner to all things Raspberry and this new fangled Debian thing. So I suspect the technical answers are going to come from Grumpy or Rattus.

The photo of your screen, shows that the ethernet interface has had some input and output, because TX Bytes and RX Bytes are not zero. I.e. The RPi has been talking to something. However, under the that says "eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr...." I would expect to see a line that says something like "inet addr:192.168.100.nn Bcast:192.168.100.254 Mask:255.255.255.0"

DHCP : Domain Host Configuration Protocol, is the process by which a computer joining a network, makes a request on the network for a network address to be given to it. This would normally be handled by your broadband router. This exchange, doesn't require an assigned IP address to work, and might explain the small amount of network traffic that has occurred. My supposition was that for some reason your RPi wasn't given an address, hence no address given in ifconfig, and the subsequent non functioning of the network connection.
User avatar
Posts: 710
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 3:57 pm
by grumpyoldgit » Thu Jun 28, 2012 4:34 pm
I am slightly confused that there are two adresses but by pinging 192.168.100.1 you are attached to something.

Can you ping 8.8.8.8 - These are the Google DNS servers
Can you ping www.google.com
User avatar
Posts: 1454
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 12:20 pm
by rpdom » Thu Jun 28, 2012 5:17 pm
grumpyoldgit wrote:I am slightly confused that there are two adresses but by pinging 192.168.100.1 you are attached to something.


192.168.100.1 is the address usually given to Virgin Media cable modems (at least that's what the ones I've had have always been set up as).

Unless the OP has the Pi plugged directly into the cable modem, they may need a router in between the two.
Posts: 3407
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 5:17 am
Location: Essex, UK
by mad-hatter » Thu Jun 28, 2012 5:46 pm
Hello,

Many thanks to all.

I borrowed a router,
placed it between PI and modem,
conected my main computer to the router.

Every thing works fine.

My Virgin modem is at least 10 years old, probably the problem.

Regards
Posts: 303
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2012 2:58 pm
by RaTTuS » Fri Jun 29, 2012 9:07 am
old virgin modem things where MAC address locked but as you'l got it working now +10
1QC43qbL5FySu2Pi51vGqKqxy3UiJgukSX - Prosliver FTW
"That's not right, the badgers have moved the goalposts."
User avatar
Posts: 4967
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 11:12 am
Location: North West UK
by Mortimer » Fri Jun 29, 2012 9:56 am
So my initial diagnosis was right, the DHCP requests were being ignore by the Virgin modem.

I have had experience with those modems. My sister had one, in fact most of her street had one, when I discovered that I was able to see multiple shared folders and printers. Some of the shared items names and details gave clues that they were in other houses along the street. Quite scary, I got her to have the thing changed very quickly!
User avatar
Posts: 710
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 3:57 pm
by jawmac » Wed Jul 11, 2012 5:37 pm
I could not get an Internet connection and tried everything suggested above and to cut a long story short, my BT Voyager 2001 was the problem. I installed an old Belkin I had on the shelf and it works perfectly.
Thanks for all the above advice.
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 5:29 pm