No network connection


38 posts   Page 1 of 2   1, 2
by samwilson001 » Wed Jun 27, 2012 9:48 am
Hi,

I have a raspberrypi but I am unable to get the network connection working at all, I have tried Debain squeeze and wheezy (beta). Ifconfig shows eth0 and it is configured to get an IP address from my dhcp server. I have tried several different routers and assigning it a static ip address but still no connection. The 10M light flashes and so does the link light, non of my routers acknowledge there is a device attached to the ethernet port.

I think I may have a dead pi.

Thanks in advance!!
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2011 6:21 pm
by RaTTuS » Wed Jun 27, 2012 9:57 am
on the RPi what does
ifconfig say
also what does
ping -c5 www.google.com say
1QC43qbL5FySu2Pi51vGqKqxy3UiJgukSX - Prosliver FTW
"That's not right, the badgers have moved the goalposts."
User avatar
Posts: 4162
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 11:12 am
Location: North West UK
by grumpyoldgit » Wed Jun 27, 2012 9:59 am
If the 10m and Link lights are on the Pi knows that it is connected to something. What is on the other end of the cable?
User avatar
Posts: 1458
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 12:20 pm
by samwilson001 » Wed Jun 27, 2012 10:13 am
Hi,

ifconfig identifies the loopback adaptor and eth0. Eth0 does not have an ip address, network address, broadcast address. As it has no network address it cant ping google nor can it ping my router.

I have tried several devices, I have two Dlink routers (with different firmware version) and a cheap Belkin router. It is strange that non of the device acknowledge the PI. Normally when I connect a device I get a link light on my router but not when I plug the pi in. I have also tried several network cables which I have tested on a different device and with a network cable tester.


Sam
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2011 6:21 pm
by grumpyoldgit » Wed Jun 27, 2012 10:23 am
If the hardware does not acknowledge that the Pi is there, the issue is rather fundamental. Odd then that the indicators on the Pi light up when the cable is connected.
One other possibility is lack of power. Can you connect up but without mouse or keyboard?
Also, what is the voltage between TP1 and TP2?
User avatar
Posts: 1458
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 12:20 pm
by samwilson001 » Wed Jun 27, 2012 10:29 am
Hi,

I am powering the device off a HTC adaptor which is rated at 5v 1A, which passes the requirement of the PI. I have previously tried it without a keyboard as this how I was intending on using it in the first place (as an ssh box).

I do not have a voltmeter at hand.

Sam
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2011 6:21 pm
by RaTTuS » Wed Jun 27, 2012 10:32 am
things to try
1) only plug in the NIC - no keyboard or mouse
2) try another NIC lead
3) does it boot?
4) boot it and
sudo tail -f /var/log/syslog&
then plug in the NIC
1QC43qbL5FySu2Pi51vGqKqxy3UiJgukSX - Prosliver FTW
"That's not right, the badgers have moved the goalposts."
User avatar
Posts: 4162
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 11:12 am
Location: North West UK
by halfabiscuit » Wed Jun 27, 2012 12:45 pm
I have a similar problem. I can boot my pi up, login OK and then ping something on the other end of a crossover cable but then after about 2 minutes the 10M LED goes out and the pi stops responding and I have to reboot. I have tried all sorts of different things - different SD card, different distros (arch and debian), with and without different keyboards/USB peripherals. It all points towards a PSU issue but I have tried a 700mA Blackberry charger and an "official" RS Components 1.2A PSU (though one thing about this is that it is a euro type plug so I have to use an adaptor to get it 3 pin - not sure if this is relevant).
I must admit I have not investigated it too much due to time constraints but if anyone can suggest anything I might be missing.
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2012 10:55 am
by scape » Wed Jun 27, 2012 2:38 pm
have you made any changes to interfaces file?
nano /etc/network/interfaces should appear as so:
# Used by ifup(8) and ifdown(8). See the interfaces(5) manpage or
# /usr/share/doc/ifupdown/examples for more information.

auto lo

iface lo inet loopback
iface eth0 inet dhcp


also consider trying: sudo ifup eth0 to get the adapter back up and hunting for dhcp.

before all of this, plug your laptop in to the ethernet cable and make sure it's ethernet adapter is getting a connection and IP.
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 12:09 pm
by samwilson001 » Wed Jun 27, 2012 5:35 pm
I have tried all the suggestions and I am still in the same situation.

I have also tried Arch linux and I get the same problem. The device boots fine but does not get an IP address. The behaviour of the lights relating to the network port is strange the 10M light flashes at a frequency of about 1Hz and the Link like flashes several times while the 10M light is on. My router still does not recognise that there is a device attached to the port.

Sam
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2011 6:21 pm
by scape » Wed Jun 27, 2012 11:10 pm
consider setting just the ip and netmask manually on both a laptop and the rpi, run the ethernet cable between them and see if you can ping it.

example: sudo ifconfig eth0 192.168.3.2 255.255.255.0
on your laptop/desktop set it to 192.168.3.3, subnet 255.255.255.0

i would not set a gateway or anything else for this test, oh and make sure this cable works by plugging the laptop in to a router and see if it lights up on both sides

the rpi guide only references this issue with lack of power supplied to the rpi
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 12:09 pm
by Chris Goodwin » Thu Jun 28, 2012 12:02 am
Have you tried another network cable?
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 6:08 pm
by samwilson001 » Thu Jun 28, 2012 7:40 am
I have tried numerous network cables.

I am not attempting to connect it directly to my laptop.
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2011 6:21 pm
by scape » Thu Jun 28, 2012 6:58 pm
out of curiosity, what did sudo ifup eth0 return?
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 12:09 pm
by samwilson001 » Thu Jun 28, 2012 8:49 pm
It shows the lo and eth0, lo is configured fine.

eth0 has not details filled in as you would expect for a device which can't contact a dhcp server.
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2011 6:21 pm
by grumpyoldgit » Thu Jun 28, 2012 9:02 pm
samwilson001 wrote:It shows the lo and eth0, lo is configured fine.

eth0 has not details filled in as you would expect for a device which can't contact a dhcp server.


Have you allocated any fixed addresses on your network?
If, say, you have a device with a fixed address of 192.168.1.10
but as far as DHCP is concerned that is the next free address, you will not get a connection.

Also, on my router I tried to give my Pi a fixed address using the mac address. The Pi did not like it at all and refused to connect.
This last issue seemed to revolve around the Pi giving out new mac addresses, which really confused the router.
User avatar
Posts: 1458
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 12:20 pm
by samwilson001 » Thu Jun 28, 2012 9:08 pm
Hi,


No I have no static IP on the network, I did attempt to give the Pi a static Ip but that didn't work.
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2011 6:21 pm
by scape » Thu Jun 28, 2012 11:18 pm
samwilson001 wrote:It shows the lo and eth0, lo is configured fine.

eth0 has not details filled in as you would expect for a device which can't contact a dhcp server.


not ifconfig but rather ifup, here's an example of what it should do:
pi@raspberrypi:~$ sudo ifup eth0
Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client 4.1.1-P1
Copyright 2004-2010 Internet Systems Consortium.
All rights reserved.
For info, please visit https://www.isc.org/software/dhcp/

Listening on LPF/eth0/mac
Sending on LPF/eth0/mac
Sending on Socket/fallback
DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 4
DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 7
DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 11
DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 14
DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 9
DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 15
DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 1
No DHCPOFFERS received.
No working leases in persistent database - sleeping.


if it's connected to the router it will boot up the nic if it's down and search for an ip. also, did you ever make changes to the interfaces file?
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 12:09 pm
by samwilson001 » Fri Jun 29, 2012 7:01 am
Hi,

That is what i get from ifup but the interval numbers differ.

yes I have altered the interfaces file to give the PI a static IP but I changed it back to picking up an address from DHCP.
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2011 6:21 pm
by ganders » Fri Jun 29, 2012 8:08 am
samwilson001 wrote:The behaviour of the lights relating to the network port is strange the 10M light flashes at a frequency of about 1Hz and the Link like flashes several times while the 10M light is on. My router still does not recognise that there is a device attached to the port.

That sounds like exactly what I've been seeing too; check in your /var/log/syslog and you'll probably see eth0 link up / eth0 link down messages every second.

I initially thought that I just had a slightly duff Pi from RS, but I've just had my Farnell one turn up and it's doing exactly the same thing.

I've tried multiple cables and power supplies - about the only common components are the router itself and the SD card. It doesn't seem likely that the Pi is incompatible with my router but I'll try swapping both of those too.

Sorry I don't have a solution to suggest, but I wanted to tell you you're not alone!
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2012 10:02 am
by scape » Fri Jun 29, 2012 9:37 am
and when ifup is running those intervals, does the router show that its port light for the pi is activated?
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 12:09 pm
by samwilson001 » Fri Jun 29, 2012 9:39 am
No.
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2011 6:21 pm
by ganders » Fri Jun 29, 2012 11:34 am
ganders wrote:
samwilson001 wrote:The behaviour of the lights relating to the network port is strange the 10M light flashes at a frequency of about 1Hz and the Link like flashes several times while the 10M light is on. My router still does not recognise that there is a device attached to the port.

That sounds like exactly what I've been seeing too; check in your /var/log/syslog and you'll probably see eth0 link up / eth0 link down messages every second.

I initially thought that I just had a slightly duff Pi from RS, but I've just had my Farnell one turn up and it's doing exactly the same thing.

I've tried multiple cables and power supplies - about the only common components are the router itself and the SD card. It doesn't seem likely that the Pi is incompatible with my router but I'll try swapping both of those too.

Ok, to follow up.

It turns out that my the Pi is imconpatible with my router. Plugging it into one of my other switches and it works absolutely perfectly, using the same power, network and everything.

For what it's worth, the offending router is an old Buffalo WBMR-G54. How the hell it's causing this problem when everything else I've ever plugged in has worked fine is beyond me, but (aside from a need to rearrange some network cables) at least I have a solution now.

I know you said you'd tried alternate routers, so I don't know how helpful this will be to you :cry:
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2012 10:02 am
by dms1978 » Fri Jul 06, 2012 6:28 pm
,same problem: leds flashing, no connection, router is not showing any sign of a connected device.

router is a d-link DSL-G624T
lead is ok (tested on other device)
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed May 23, 2012 9:01 am
by sub263 » Sun Jul 08, 2012 6:37 am
My network doesn't work what ever try. I am using a 5v 800ma and router is - dir 655
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2012 5:41 am