Internet?

13 posts
by Fumbles » Wed Jun 20, 2012 5:14 pm
Hello,

I keep getting a problem with the internet.

Unfortunately, I keep getting disconnected every time my mouse is plugged in! So far i've plugged in 3 mice and they have all lead to the internet disconnecting.

I have typed:

ping www.google.com
ctrl+c

at the start terminal which shows that I have a connection. After I type in startx, I lose my internet connection entirely.

I was wondering if there was a way around this.

Thankyou
by Chrisn » Wed Jun 20, 2012 7:41 pm
I have the similar problem, but I have noticed several articles aboul this viewtopic.php?f=28&t=6928&p=102488#p102488 is one of them and it suggests there is an issue with the USB drivers when you have a high speed and low speed device connected together, and if I read some of the posts correctly it infers the ethernet connector is attached like a USB device. But thats only my understanding, I am a newbie to Linux and I've only had my Pi for a few days and an struggling to do more that get it started.
by simonthepiman » Wed Jun 20, 2012 8:14 pm
Hi Guys

I have noticed that the usb ports dont work correctly if the power supply is poor, this may not be relevent but its possible that the additional usb device drains power, could try connecting the mouse via a powered usb hub just in case.
http://www.simonthepiman.com/raspberry_power.php :geek:
Simon

http://www.simonthepiman.com (Beginners guides)
by Fumbles » Tue Jun 26, 2012 11:47 am
I've bought a new power supply but it still hasn't solved the problem (the reason behind my absence).

I can now be sure that it isn't the power since I have the raspberry pi official power supply!

Since I want to plug my external hard drive into it at some point, i'll get the powered usb hub AND a new keyboard. My keyboard is one of those light-up ones and, even though i've turned the light off, it might have something to do with draining the power.