Using wpa_gui (Could not get status from wpa_supplicant)


34 posts   Page 1 of 2   1, 2
by Davespice » Fri Oct 12, 2012 4:31 pm
Hi folks;
I'm trying to help a young friend of mine who is attempting to setup his Wifi on his Pi.
He is using one of the Maplin kits that comes with a Wifi adapter and USB hub etc.

The SD card comes with the wpa_gui wifi config utility.
As per this one, but obviously under LXDE;
http://manual.aptosid.com/en/inet-wpagui-en.htm

Here is the problem, if anyone can point me in the right direction;

He does a scan, double clicks the network he wants to join, types in the PSK field and clicks add;

Status: Could not get status from wpa_supplicant
Last message: -signal 15 received

Any ideas? Does he have to be root to use wpa_gui? Or is it something else?
Thanks in advance, any help appreciated.
User avatar
Raspberry Pi Foundation Employee & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Foundation Employee & Forum Moderator
Posts: 1438
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 8:06 pm
Location: London, United Kingdom
by thogue » Fri Oct 12, 2012 4:47 pm
Wpa_supplicant isn't running or has crashed.

Check logs for errors and if there are none its probably not starting. check the config files related to networkinfg /etc/network/interfaces and /etc/path.to.wpa.supplicant.conf
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2012 2:16 am
by Davespice » Fri Oct 12, 2012 6:01 pm
Thanks for the reply, but this is not hugely helpful because the lad I'm trying to help won't know what to do with those log files.
The SD card image he's using is one supplied by Maplin, so I would imagine the setup is correct in terms of wpa.supplicant.conf.
The only thing I can think of is that you need to be root to modify the config files?
User avatar
Raspberry Pi Foundation Employee & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Foundation Employee & Forum Moderator
Posts: 1438
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 8:06 pm
Location: London, United Kingdom
by thogue » Fri Oct 12, 2012 7:51 pm
I suggest having your friend give you the config files and post them here.


I would imagine that wlan0 in interfaces / and a wpa_supplicant file did not come fully configured out of the box.

Maybe you should suggest WICD ?

Honestly, I am unsure if WPA_GUI should build out these configs or not. Cmd line junkie here.
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2012 2:16 am
by gfitzg » Wed Oct 17, 2012 5:26 pm
I had the same message using the Maplin's kit - but on first connection I accidently got the WiFi key/password wrong (unknowingly). After a quick Google I examined the /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf file and discovered the incorrect password embedded within the file.
sudo cat /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
I editied the file (from CLI) and rebooted (sudo shutdown -r now).
The WiFi adapter connected without error from wpa_gui after restart. There are probably several ways of fixing this but this is what worked for me.
HTH,
GFitzG.
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2012 5:16 pm
by Davespice » Tue Oct 23, 2012 11:17 am
Thanks gfitzg, I will also have a look at this.
User avatar
Raspberry Pi Foundation Employee & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Foundation Employee & Forum Moderator
Posts: 1438
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 8:06 pm
Location: London, United Kingdom
by richardkendell » Tue Jan 08, 2013 4:58 pm
I am very new to the Pi (opened the box this morning) so please bear with me.
On trying to connect to the internet via the Maplins dongle I get "could not get status from wpa supplicant".
I have read the above posts and looked at the wpa-supplicant .conf files . I assume what I have managed to input there (via the GUI interface) is wrong and needs editing, but I don't know how. I assume I get there via the command line but what do I need to input? When I get there do I just delete everything in the Network = {SSID etc....} entry and reboot?
Any help much appreciated.
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 4:30 pm
by paxerit » Fri Feb 01, 2013 3:55 pm
I had the same problem and in my case the solution was to move the wireless dongle from the USB hub to a USB port directly on the Pi. This caused the Pi to reboot and then it connected without a hitch.
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2013 3:50 pm
by richardkendell » Fri Feb 01, 2013 6:14 pm
Thanks. My Pi had to go back but I will try on my next one if I have a problem.

Richard
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 4:30 pm
by richardash1981 » Sat Feb 09, 2013 5:37 pm
For anyone else hunting a solution to this, a checklist of what was stopping me using a MicroNext MN-WD542T dongle based on the (old) popular ZD1211 chipset:
  • No firmware loaded. This isn't in the SD card image, so you somehow need to load the 'zd1211-firmware' package. Note that without the firmware you can see a 'wlan0' network device, it just won't work!
  • Make sure the following lines are in /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf for wpa_gui to work (the 'pi' user should already be a member of the netdev group)
    Code: Select all
    # needed for wpa_gui to work
    ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=netdev
    # needed to allow wpa_gui to alter the configuration
    update_config=1

I've just found that I need the
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2013 5:02 pm
by eried » Fri May 24, 2013 6:17 pm
richardash1981 wrote:For anyone else hunting a solution to this, a checklist of what was stopping me using a MicroNext MN-WD542T dongle based on the (old) popular ZD1211 chipset:
  • No firmware loaded. This isn't in the SD card image, so you somehow need to load the 'zd1211-firmware' package. Note that without the firmware you can see a 'wlan0' network device, it just won't work!
  • Make sure the following lines are in /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf for wpa_gui to work (the 'pi' user should already be a member of the netdev group)
    Code: Select all
    # needed for wpa_gui to work
    ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=netdev
    # needed to allow wpa_gui to alter the configuration
    update_config=1

I've just found that I need the


Thanks a lot! This fixed my Wifi (for some reason stopped working)
My website: www.ried.cl
User avatar
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2013 2:11 am
Location: Chile
by victagayun » Fri Jul 19, 2013 1:31 pm
eried wrote:
richardash1981 wrote:For anyone else hunting a solution to this, a checklist of what was stopping me using a MicroNext MN-WD542T dongle based on the (old) popular ZD1211 chipset:
  • No firmware loaded. This isn't in the SD card image, so you somehow need to load the 'zd1211-firmware' package. Note that without the firmware you can see a 'wlan0' network device, it just won't work!
  • Make sure the following lines are in /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf for wpa_gui to work (the 'pi' user should already be a member of the netdev group)
    Code: Select all
    # needed for wpa_gui to work
    ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=netdev
    # needed to allow wpa_gui to alter the configuration
    update_config=1

I've just found that I need the


Thanks a lot! This fixed my Wifi (for some reason stopped working)


eried you talk in riddles...
working or not?
Posts: 84
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 4:01 pm
by eried » Fri Jul 19, 2013 11:42 pm
Yup :lol:
My website: www.ried.cl
User avatar
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2013 2:11 am
Location: Chile
by fouraces » Mon Jan 06, 2014 4:03 pm
just to say some things endure over time:

the post of ( by gfitzg » Wed Oct 17, 2012 5:26 pm ) has saved another user!

I just got my maplin kit and after the first login it refused to restart the wifi. In my case the network was a combination of a wireless router and then a mac airport base station and series of airport extremes used to get better signal strength. This seems to look to the PI like a series of separate networks with the same name but different MAC IDs for each device. I too had mis-entered the network name and password during the first configuration attempt and in addition had had to re-select the network name from the scan list and re-enter the password multiple times. As a result the /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf file appeared to contain a series of 3 separate blocks of configuration information. At startup and when trying to configure the WiFi the wpa-gui routine seemed to try each of these several times and then reported the signal 15 code.
I edited the /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf file down to one block of code only and corrected the spelling and case of the network name and password and then rebooted. Seems to have fixed the problem.
Thanks to gfitzig.
PS - the forum also introduced me to the shutdown command and it's use as a 'restart' command " sudo shutdown -r now ". Good thing to know. I expect, as a matter of good practice, one should use this rather than simply pulling-the-plug although it does not suggest this anywhere that I have seen so far. It also seems that using the 'halt' form: " sudo shutdown -h now " is a much more civilised way to close down the machine as well.
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2014 2:44 pm
by hardwaredongle » Wed Jan 08, 2014 7:32 am
I was getting the same 2 errors. My problem was fixed when I found out i had been putting the wrong password for the line psk="*****" in the /etc/wpa.conf file.
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 7:27 am
by daddadhad » Mon Mar 03, 2014 2:53 pm
Um guys for some reason I dont have a /etc/wpa.conf file
11 years of age
built my own computer at age 10
problem solver since the day I was born
Code: Select all
NUKE IN 3 2 1 BOOOOOM!!!
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2013 10:23 pm
by MrEngman » Mon Mar 03, 2014 2:56 pm
daddadhad wrote:Um guys for some reason I dont have a /etc/wpa.conf file

The default for raspbian is /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
Simplicity is a prerequisite for reliability. Edsger W. Dijkstra
Posts: 1762
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 2:17 pm
Location: Southampton, UK
by daddadhad » Mon Mar 03, 2014 7:28 pm
Also no matter how hard I try I can't seem to make it stop thinking wlan0 is eth0
:x :(
11 years of age
built my own computer at age 10
problem solver since the day I was born
Code: Select all
NUKE IN 3 2 1 BOOOOOM!!!
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2013 10:23 pm
by daddadhad » Mon Mar 03, 2014 7:28 pm
daddadhad wrote:Also no matter how hard I try I can't seem to make it stop thinking wlan0 is eth0
:x :(

and it thinks the wlan0 encap is ethernet
11 years of age
built my own computer at age 10
problem solver since the day I was born
Code: Select all
NUKE IN 3 2 1 BOOOOOM!!!
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2013 10:23 pm
by daddadhad » Mon Mar 03, 2014 8:54 pm
WAIT! i have gotten it to scan but i am at a stand still because i don`t have a usb hub
11 years of age
built my own computer at age 10
problem solver since the day I was born
Code: Select all
NUKE IN 3 2 1 BOOOOOM!!!
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2013 10:23 pm
by Hibid » Thu May 15, 2014 7:43 am
Hello everyone I am new to pi and programming and I am trying to get internet using dongle, but when I go to the wifi config it shows no adapter and no network, it also says status: Could not get status from wpa_supplicant. I have tryed to go to /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf but it says permission denied.
Could someone please help
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu May 15, 2014 7:25 am
by DougieLawson » Thu May 15, 2014 9:14 am
Try activating the interface first.

sudo ifup wlan0
Hacker on ZX80 and Microtan65
Unemployed mainframe database specialist.
Linux hacker since 1995.
RPi owner since 2012.
Twitter: @DougieLawson

Gaffer tape is "The Force", it has a dark side and a light side and it holds the Universe together.
User avatar
Posts: 5382
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Basingstoke, UK
by Hibid » Thu May 15, 2014 1:23 pm
DougieLawson wrote:Try activating the interface first.

sudo ifup wlan0

Before I do what?
My major problem is that I am a total newbie which means all the guides are rubish to me they all expect you to know some stuff before hand, even the guides that say specially for beginners. At first I tried Ethernet cable to my laptop I had a problem looked it up and all the guide said was check the connection. I don't know what to look for so that does not help. Thanks for the reply :)
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu May 15, 2014 7:25 am
by MrEngman » Thu May 15, 2014 2:23 pm
Hibid wrote:Hello everyone I am new to pi and programming and I am trying to get internet using dongle, but when I go to the wifi config it shows no adapter and no network, it also says status: Could not get status from wpa_supplicant. I have tryed to go to /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf but it says permission denied.
Could someone please help

To be able to help it will be useful if you give details of your wifi dongle. Type command lsusb in a terminal window and this will give a list of usb devices which should include your wifi dongle. Then type command uname -a which will give us a clue as to which linux image you are using. This will help in determining what you need to do to get it working.

Copy the output from these two commands so we can see what we are dealing with.

FYI the file /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf is restricted to root user access. You need to add sudo to the beginning of the command you are using to access it. sudo will give you temporary root user rights. Rather like using administrator access on a windows machine.


MrEngman
Simplicity is a prerequisite for reliability. Edsger W. Dijkstra
Posts: 1762
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 2:17 pm
Location: Southampton, UK
by DougieLawson » Thu May 15, 2014 2:25 pm
Hibid wrote:
DougieLawson wrote:Try activating the interface first.

sudo ifup wlan0

Before I do what


Er, ... before you start wpa_gui.
Hacker on ZX80 and Microtan65
Unemployed mainframe database specialist.
Linux hacker since 1995.
RPi owner since 2012.
Twitter: @DougieLawson

Gaffer tape is "The Force", it has a dark side and a light side and it holds the Universe together.
User avatar
Posts: 5382
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Basingstoke, UK