Stuck In Sleep Mode


6 posts
by rrm74001 » Wed Sep 19, 2012 2:06 am
After about 10 minutes of inactivity, it appears that Rasbian goes into some kind of power save mode. However, moving the mouse of pressing keys on the keyboard does not bring the board alive again. I am able to SSH into it, so the system itself it alive.

Is there a way I can disable this power save feature? Or is there some command I can run from SSH to bring the display online again?
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2012 2:01 am
by joe2act » Wed Sep 19, 2012 3:35 am
rrm74001 wrote:After about 10 minutes of inactivity, it appears that Rasbian goes into some kind of power save mode. However, moving the mouse of pressing keys on the keyboard does not bring the board alive again. I am able to SSH into it, so the system itself it alive.

Is there a way I can disable this power save feature? Or is there some command I can run from SSH to bring the display online again?



Which linux OS version you are using ? I use 2012-08-16-Wheezy-Raspbian, and my RasPi never go to sleep mood.
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 4:21 am
by rrm74001 » Wed Sep 19, 2012 5:19 am
Same as you 2012-08-16-wheezy-raspbian.
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2012 2:01 am
by joe2act » Wed Sep 19, 2012 5:29 am
rrm74001 wrote:Same as you 2012-08-16-wheezy-raspbian.


My RasPi never sleep. I use SSH to connect RasPi.

Code: Select all
$ uptime
 13:22:09 up 10:05,  1 user,  load average: 0.03, 0.05, 0.11
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 4:21 am
by Dweeber » Wed Sep 19, 2012 5:39 am
Talking about two different things.

On the CONSOLE, there is a sleep mode for the screen to protect the HDMI device from burn. It is somewhere around 10 mins with no activity. The RPi is not really sleeping however, the display is off.

Pressing a key on a connected keyboard should wake up the screen. Sounds like you are having an issue with the HDMI....

If you can login remotely, try issuing an omxplayer command with a video and see if it wakes up.
Dweeber A.K.A. Kevin...
My RPI Info Pages including Current Setup - http://rpi.tnet.com
User avatar
Posts: 606
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 3:35 am
Location: Mesa, AZ
by rrm74001 » Thu Sep 20, 2012 3:56 am
Thanks Dweeber. I think I am having power problems actually. I think my keyboard sucks too much power. It will randomly does not accept keystrokes and sometimes repeats characters. I am using one of those old transparent Apple keyboards that came with old iMacs. Perhaps built in USB ports are causing it to suck too much power.

I will have to try it with another keyboard to see if it is able to turn the HDMI back on.

I am a fellow Arizonan by the way (Chandler)!
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2012 2:01 am