doesn't boot, green light flashes, intermittent video signal


13 posts
by kappaloot » Wed Aug 01, 2012 10:08 pm
hi there,
today i've received my raspberry, but i have some problems setting it up.
As psu i tried an usb plug i used to recharge my mp3 (5V 1A) and the one for a sony ericsson (5V 700mA).
I tried two SD: a kingston 4gb sdhc class4 and a SD for Eee PC (8gb class 8)
I plugged it via hdmi to my pc monitor.
I tried to use both Raspbian and RaspBMC.
Always the same problem: red light on pwr (doesn't flash) green light on OK with a particular pattern:short short long short short long, then pause and the monitor says "hdmi no signal" and it starts again. Every now and then i can see the rasp logo with some writings, but it doesn't last enought to make me understand what's written there. I had just the time to read "sd". The fact is that the kingston sd is shown as compatible with the raspberry in the wiki, and i followed all the instructions carefully.

I've also tried to connect it to my tv with the composite cable. But the result was the same, but instead of "hdmi" signal it showed rainbow colors. :?

any ideas?
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 9:52 pm
by Jim JKla » Wed Aug 01, 2012 10:11 pm
Try with a wheezy install you can allways wipe later.

Also look at the previous Beta version

and look for stuff on the config.txt

Make sure your HDMI is plugged in and live before youpower your RPi

And have a look in the wiki for noob stuff ;)
Noob is not derogatory the noob is just the lower end of the noob--geek spectrum being a noob is just your first step towards being an uber-geek ;)

If you find a solution please post it in the wiki the forum dies too quick
User avatar
Posts: 2107
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 11:15 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne UK
by Jim JKla » Wed Aug 01, 2012 10:14 pm
Keep Trying
Noob is not derogatory the noob is just the lower end of the noob--geek spectrum being a noob is just your first step towards being an uber-geek ;)

If you find a solution please post it in the wiki the forum dies too quick
User avatar
Posts: 2107
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 11:15 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne UK
by redhawk » Wed Aug 01, 2012 10:20 pm
If you have a voltmeter check the voltage between TP1 and TP2, what do you get??

Richard S.
User avatar
Posts: 3343
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2012 2:13 pm
Location: ::1
by kappaloot » Wed Aug 01, 2012 10:40 pm
Jim JKla wrote:Try with a wheezy install you can allways wipe later.

Also look at the previous Beta version

and look for stuff on the config.txt

Make sure your HDMI is plugged in and live before youpower your RPi

And have a look in the wiki for noob stuff ;)


I used the wheezy install, if it's the one on the download page ;)
I looked in the config file, i uncommented hdmi_safe=1, config_hdmi_boost=4 and hdmi_force_hotplug=1 but no results.
Now i'm trying to program the sd in ubuntu.


redhawk wrote: If you have a voltmeter check the voltage between TP1 and TP2, what do you get??


Yeah...tomorrow i'll get one of those toys
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 9:52 pm
by kappaloot » Wed Aug 01, 2012 11:10 pm
ok, i don't know f it's important, but i started the pi, same problem (even after i programmed the sd with ubuntu) i removed the sd and there was a beautiful rainbow. Still image. This brings me to think (as a noob) that it's just a sd problem. The problem now is what's the problem with the sd?
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 9:52 pm
by Jim JKla » Thu Aug 02, 2012 6:30 am
Thereare some brand issues but the list of those that work is huge of course theres allways the posibility that you have an aprooved one thats broken.
Noob is not derogatory the noob is just the lower end of the noob--geek spectrum being a noob is just your first step towards being an uber-geek ;)

If you find a solution please post it in the wiki the forum dies too quick
User avatar
Posts: 2107
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 11:15 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne UK
by kappaloot » Thu Aug 02, 2012 12:16 pm
Uhm i've another sd (btw it's a kingston 4GB microSD Class 4), i could try with that one, but also with an Adata sdhc 8gb class6 for eeepc i have the same problem.
Oh...and the psu i'm using is a Sony Ericsson 5V 0.7A Charger CST-80 that is in the list.

thank you for helping me :)
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 9:52 pm
by Jim JKla » Thu Aug 02, 2012 12:20 pm
All of my SD have been Sandisc everything from 2 to a micro32g all have worked.
Noob is not derogatory the noob is just the lower end of the noob--geek spectrum being a noob is just your first step towards being an uber-geek ;)

If you find a solution please post it in the wiki the forum dies too quick
User avatar
Posts: 2107
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 11:15 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne UK
by RaTTuS » Thu Aug 02, 2012 12:27 pm
1QC43qbL5FySu2Pi51vGqKqxy3UiJgukSX - Prosliver FTW
"That's not right, the badgers have moved the goalposts."
User avatar
Posts: 4760
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 11:12 am
Location: North West UK
by kappaloot » Thu Aug 02, 2012 1:17 pm
RaTTuS wrote:http://elinux.org/R-Pi_Troubleshooting#Coloured_splash_screen

yeah but that's not the problem. I got the coloured splash screen only after i unplugged the sd when the rasp was on. Which is something quite normal as i see.
Normally (with everything plugged except for the usb devices) i have that weird thing i described in my first post.
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 9:52 pm
by PaulCheffus » Thu Aug 02, 2012 3:25 pm
kappaloot wrote:
RaTTuS wrote:http://elinux.org/R-Pi_Troubleshooting#Coloured_splash_screen

yeah but that's not the problem. I got the coloured splash screen only after i unplugged the sd when the rasp was on. Which is something quite normal as i see.
Normally (with everything plugged except for the usb devices) i have that weird thing i described in my first post.


Hi

Try the bit above the comment about the splash screen in that link which reads

Green LED blinks in a specific pattern
With recent firmware, according to this forum post the green light will blink in a specific pattern to indicate some types of errors:

3 flashes: loader.bin not found
4 flashes: loader.bin not launched
5 flashes: start.elf not found
6 flashes: start.elf not launched


Cheers

Paul
Procrastination - The Thief of Time.
Posts: 372
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 2:51 pm
Location: Lincolnshire UK
by kappaloot » Fri Aug 03, 2012 9:03 am
ok, it looks like the problem was with the usb cable. It's strange, but now i-m typing from my raspberry.
So everything is fine, thank you guys for the help ;)
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 9:52 pm