Icons and Text are too Big


5 posts
by ebird97 » Wed Oct 31, 2012 3:39 am
Everything is very large, my screen is 20 inches and the letter "E" is the size of my thumbnail!
Also, when I try opening the Arduino IDE the top and bottom of the window are out of the screen so I can't resize it and use it normally.

I've tried modifying the config.txt file and this did not address the problems mentioned above. I forced the screen resolution to my real resolution and this didn't produce any differences.

Here's my config.txt file if it helps =>
Code: Select all
# uncomment if you get no picture on HDMI for a default "safe" mode
#hdmi_safe=1

# uncomment this if your display has a black border of unused pixels visible
# and your display can output without overscan
disable_overscan=1

# uncomment the following to adjust overscan. Use positive numbers if console
# goes off screen, and negative if there is too much border
#overscan_left=16
#overscan_right=16
#overscan_top=16
#overscan_bottom=16

# uncomment to force a console size. By default it will be display's size minus
# overscan.
framebuffer_width=640
framebuffer_height=480

# uncomment if hdmi display is not detected and composite is being output
#hdmi_force_hotplug=1

# uncomment to force a specific HDMI mode (this will force VGA)
hdmi_group=1
hdmi_mode=1

# uncomment to force a HDMI mode rather than DVI. This can make audio work in
# DMT (computer monitor) modes
#hdmi_drive=2
#uncomment to overclock the arm. 700 MHz is the default.
#arm_freq=800

# for more options see http://elinux.org/RPi_config.txt


Thank You I appreciate any help a ton!
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2012 3:20 am
by billb » Wed Oct 31, 2012 3:58 am
Are you connecting to the display using HDMI? You're telling it to use VGA (640x480) which is a low resolution.

You probably need to comment out these lines (add a # to the beginning of each line):

framebuffer_width=640
framebuffer_height=480

hdmi_group=1
hdmi_mode=1
User avatar
Posts: 175
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2012 10:27 pm
by ebird97 » Wed Oct 31, 2012 4:00 am
Yes, I'm using the HDMI port on my Raspberry pi but I'm using a HDMI to VGA converter because my display is a VGA display.
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2012 3:20 am
by billb » Wed Oct 31, 2012 4:12 am
Ah ... there's what is referred to as a VGA connector and there is what is referred to as VGA resolution, which is 640x480. However, just because you're using a VGA connection that doesn't necessarily mean you need to use VGA resolution. Unless your display really is limited to 640x480, which would be odd.

You mentioned you have a 20" screen, but I don't know if it's widescreen or 4:3. You probably want to use something like 1024x768 or 1280x1024 if it's 4:3 (non-widescreen).
User avatar
Posts: 175
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2012 10:27 pm
by ebird97 » Tue Nov 06, 2012 10:43 pm
Thank you so much! I finally got everything working.
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2012 3:20 am