Running basic executables?


8 posts
by DuckerDuck » Wed Jun 27, 2012 2:03 pm
Hi,
Today I got a RPi and wanted to try and run an gameboy emulator http://www.gcat.org.uk/emul/
After using the make command in the terminal, a wild excecutable appeared. Double clicking on it doesn't seem to work, when I go to properties, the "make file executable" checkmark is checked. Simple google searches didnt really help...
I also compiled a simple C++ app using geany, that executable also didn't start.
I'm running the Debian linux, on a 2GB sd card.
What am I missing?

Thanks,
DuckerDuck
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 1:56 pm
by andyl » Wed Jun 27, 2012 2:30 pm
Why did you try doubleclicking on it?

The web page you linked to states quite clearly how to run it.

Code: Select all
Put the game ROM file that you want to play in the same directory (e.g. tetris.gb)
Run the emulator (./gameboy tetris.gb). They won't work under X Windows yet


So you run it from a terminal. It also says it doesn't work under X Windows - which is the GUI.
Posts: 265
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2012 11:05 am
by Joe Schmoe » Wed Jun 27, 2012 2:45 pm
A lot of people can't imagine any other way to "run" something other than "double clicking" on it.

Myself, I can't imagine any other way to "run" something other than running it from the command line.

Two kinds of people in the world...
Like so much of Linux these days, the attempts to make it suitable for
dumb idiots are making it much harder for someone who wants to do
something the designers never anticipated.
Posts: 2928
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 1:11 pm
by jamesh » Wed Jun 27, 2012 2:59 pm
I must be both kinds then.....
Volunteer at the Raspberry Pi Foundation, helper at Picademy September, October, November 2014.
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 12348
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 7:41 pm
by DuckerDuck » Wed Jun 27, 2012 3:36 pm
sorry about that, obviously missed that one.
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 1:56 pm
by AndrewS » Thu Jun 28, 2012 1:17 am
jamesh wrote:I must be both kinds then.....

I'm sure we can make an exception for you JamesH :D
User avatar
Posts: 3626
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 4:50 pm
Location: Cambridge, UK
by andyl » Thu Jun 28, 2012 8:31 am
DuckerDuck wrote:sorry about that, obviously missed that one.


Generally it depends on where the output is going.

If your program uses stdout (and stderr) - for example the Hello World example - you can't just start them using the GUI - what is stdout in a GUI? You have to run a terminal then run the program from the prompt.

I would have thought that the emulator would be using some kind of graphics - so maybe it is writing directly to the framebuffer.
Posts: 265
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2012 11:05 am
by AndrewS » Thu Jun 28, 2012 10:07 am
Even for GUI programs, it's much easier (in the early stages of development) to just read a bunch of arguments from the command line, than it is to build a fully-fledged "options/settings" UI ;)
User avatar
Posts: 3626
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 4:50 pm
Location: Cambridge, UK