Trying to access RPi via putty on win7

9 posts
by jackdw » Mon Jun 25, 2012 11:33 pm
Saw on a thread that you can access the pi via SSH using a program called Putty. I've downloaded this from here:
http://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgta ... nload.html

From my router I can see what IP the pi is getting on bootup, but when I put that into putty and press open, after a couple of seconds I get a small window that says Network Error: Connection Refused.

The thread I read said that SSH was enabled by default and I should be able to login with pi and raspberry, but everything is not as it seems.

Please bear in mind, I am a complete beginner with linux so try to hold off on technical words and long abbreviations, thanks!

- Jack
by jackdw » Tue Jun 26, 2012 12:49 am
Seems it's only 'wheezy' debian that has SSH enabled by default, rather than the 'squeeze' debian I was running. Put the wheezy onto my SD card but the OK LED came on for about a second, flickered a few times and then did nothing. Didn't have it connected to a screen but I doubt anything would have come up.

Put the squeeze version back on it now and it's doing the same as before (thankfully I haven't killed my SD card).
Just have to wait for my less power hungry USB keyboard to arrive it seems.

- Jack
by JeremyF » Tue Jun 26, 2012 12:51 am
On the latest Squeeze build, SSH is not enabled by default. You must remain /boot/boot_enable_ssh.rc to /boot/boot.rc (These files will show as /boot/(file) on the RPi or in the FAT partition on a Windows box)
{sig} Setup: Original version Raspberry Pi (B, rev1, 256MB), Dell 2001FP monitor (1600x1200), 8GB Class 4 SD Card with Raspbian and XBMC, DD-WRT wireless bridge
by jackdw » Tue Jun 26, 2012 11:42 am
JeremyF wrote:On the latest Squeeze build, SSH is not enabled by default. You must remain /boot/boot_enable_ssh.rc to /boot/boot.rc (These files will show as /boot/(file) on the RPi or in the FAT partition on a Windows box)