Tenda WiFi Dongle - Trying to get Internet Access

14 posts
by Decani » Thu Jun 21, 2012 9:35 pm
I would appreciate some help with my Pi please. I am trying to connect a WiFi Dongle to the Pi, but so far I haven't had any success (I have looked at various posts on the forums hoping to find the right answer, but it's all been a bit trial and error). I am a Linux and Pi beginner and I am not sure what I need to do to get the dongle working. I am using a separate powered USB hub and the dongle lights up when plugged in, but there's no Internet connection on my Pi.

I am using Debian 2012-06-18-wheezy-beta as the operating system.

I bought the dongle from a website called modmypi, but there's only instructions and a driver for Windows. The following links displays all the specifications for the dongle (the make is Tenda):

https://www.modmypi.com/shop/raspberry- ... rk-adapter

I am not sure if I need to provide my IP address on here. I entered ifconfig in the terminal on Ubuntu (I am a new convert to Ubuntu) and this is what is displayed next to wlan0: 192.168.0.4

Any help would be really appreciated.

Thanks. :)
by bredman » Thu Jun 21, 2012 9:49 pm
You bought it from ModMyPi, I assume they can give you very specific instructions to set it up with a Raspberry Pi. Have you asked them?

If somebody is making a profit from the work of a charitable organisation and the voluntary community, it would be very bad form if they do not provide some sort of basic service to their customers.
by alexpja » Thu Jun 21, 2012 10:15 pm
It seems like it connects to the network, since there is an IP address. Can you do a ping for google.com or some other domain (raspberrypi.org? :) )?
by Decani » Fri Jun 22, 2012 12:43 pm
Sorry, I may have not made myself clear. I obtained the IP address using my main PC and a seperate dongle plugged in there (not the Tenda dongle).